//
you're reading...
Book Business

Book to Movies for 2012 and a few more new books to look out for in the new year

With the hustling and bustling of the city of London and busy weekdays, I missed out on a few catchy new titles  that are due to be published this year. They are:

I have added the new titles according to the month it is and will be published onto my previous blog post: Anticipated books in 2012

Besides other new book titles you can find in the article, The Guardian UK has came up with an annual calendar to the literary events of 2012. Here we find out about books that will be released as a movie this year and some of our usual Book prize events such as the Orange Prize (June) and Man Booker Prize (October)

February

Susan Hill’s supernatural thriller The Woman in Black, the stage version of which has been sending shivers down the spines of audiences since 1989, is now set to do the same for cinema-goers. Stars a grown-up Daniel Radcliffe. I’m not sure I’m into horror thriller, I have consciously stay away from reading Susan Hill’s books so far…

Release of the film version of Jonathan Safran Foer‘s novel Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, about a little boy grieving for his father who died in the 9/11 attacks. This is an interesting one that I hope to watch.

March

It’s also the UK release date of Declan Donnellan and Nick Ormerod’s film of Maupassant’s Bel Ami, with Uma Thurman, Christina Ricci and Robert Pattinson, a rare instance of a dreamboat being cast as a journalist). I love period film and I think with such exquisite casts, it is sure to be a winner.

November

Just over 50 years since it was first published, Jack Kerouac’s beat classic On the Road finally makes it to the big screen. The film will be directed by Walter Salles, with Francis Ford Coppola (who first bought the rights as far back as 1979) as executive producer. I’ll make sure I read the book this year!

December

Ang Lee’s film adaptation of Yann Martel’s Life of Pi, the story of a boy trapped on a boat with a tiger, will surely captivate audiences; the novel is the bestselling Booker-winner of all time.

The Great Gatsby gets the Baz Luhrmann treatment for the big screen, with Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan starring as Jay and Daisy. A timely new take on Fitzgerald’s depression-era classic.

I have watch Leonardo in Revolutionary Road movie last weekend and I like it. I am sure he will be amazing in Great Gatsby.

My review on The Great Gatsby

I have read both books and look forward to see how it would be adapted onto the big screens.

All in all and exciting year. Even if you were to do nothing but reading books and watching movies and keeping up with literary events, it is enough to keep you going for the year! :)

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

23 thoughts on “Book to Movies for 2012 and a few more new books to look out for in the new year

  1. I had no idea about On the Road! I don’t remember if I ever read it, but it is so much a part of the culture I feel like I did even if I didn’t! :–)

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | January 15, 2012, 3:49 am
  2. I liked ‘On the Road’, but I’m not sure I want to see the film… – then again, I never watch any films ;)

    Posted by Tony | January 15, 2012, 7:53 am
    • Tony,
      I’ll try to read it this year. Hate to hear about all these American classics titles again and again (Grape of Wrath, On the Road etc etc) and I haven’t read them. Too much hype on The Great Gatsby but as period film I’ll watch it anyway!

      Posted by JoV | January 15, 2012, 8:51 pm
  3. Wow Jo. I rarely find myself looking forward to movie releases, but I can’t miss On The Road, Extremely Close and Incredibly Loud as well as The Great Gatsby with BOTH Leonardo and Carey Mulligan ! Win :)

    Posted by Joanna | January 15, 2012, 1:02 pm
  4. there are some wonderful films due next year from some of my favourite books ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | January 15, 2012, 8:34 pm
  5. Great post, Jo! Really excited about Woman in Black (I nearly had a heart-attack when I saw the show :D). To me the Redford movie always be the one :)

    Posted by Bina | January 16, 2012, 10:16 pm
  6. Oooo more adaptations! As you might have noticed from my blog I loooove adaptations. I am looking forward to The Woman in Black and The Great Gatsby. I have heard rumours there will be a hollywood version of Great Expections starring Helena Bonham Carter as Miss Haversham coming out sometime this year as well :-D

    Posted by jessicabookworm | January 18, 2012, 6:06 pm
  7. I’m looking forward to the books as well. Seems to be an exciting year. Morrison and Mantel are favorite writers of mine.

    Posted by Kinna | January 19, 2012, 6:53 pm
  8. Reblogged this on writerjane1 and commented:
    I like this, theres lots to look forward to!

    Posted by writerjane1 | January 20, 2012, 5:50 pm
  9. The one that I wait the most is The Hobbit.I love that book and I bet the movie will be as great as lord of the rings

    Posted by Novroz | January 23, 2012, 3:05 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Great Gatsby | Around, Wondering - July 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

