//
you're reading...
Reflection

There’s no salmon fishing in Yemen

On the train this evening, this is what I read on the Evening Standard:

Thursday 3 May 2012: British holiday makers have been warned there is no salmon fishing in Yemen, after a surge in interest following the release o Ewan McGregor’s latest film.

The Yemen Tourism Promotion Board said it had been inundated with requests thanks to Salmon Fishing in The Yemen, in which McGregor’s character is asked by a Yemeni sheikh to introduce salmon so that he can fish for them.

However, not only is the fishing non-existent, but the Foreign and Commonwealth Office recently issued a red warning over Yemen, telling visitors to “avoid all travel to the whole country”.

But Benjamin Carey, Yemen tourism UK spokeman, said: “Salmon fishing isn’t actually that popular in Yemen, but there are excellent sea fishing opportunities.”

I read Salmon fishing in the Yemen in 2009. My opening sentence was:

Salmon need cool, well-oxygenated water. The temperature ideally should not exceed 18 degree Celsius. If it is too hot, the oxygen will leave the water and the fish will die. The best conditions are rivers fed by snow melt or springs.

I could tell that the book was a satire. Would these people actually believes there is salmon fishing in Yemen??!!! It’s a desert, a dry land. Are people so deluded to believe what they read in the books and watch in the movies are actually REAL?

It makes me shudder to think there are some of us who internalise everything we consume from the media. Are you one of them?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “There’s no salmon fishing in Yemen

  1. I think perhaps people like the idea of something that seems “not right” actually existing. Maybe. I still want to see the movie so I’ll add it to my Netflix account

    Posted by Helen Murdoch | May 3, 2012, 8:33 pm
  2. Oh, I booked a ticket already!

    I read the book (loved it) and hope to see the movie. I hope people will read more by Paul Torday – he’s got some great books.

    Posted by Leeswammes | May 3, 2012, 8:55 pm
    • Judith,
      LOL! :D Let me know how many salmons you manage to catch! He got some great books, I didn’t quite like “The Girl in the Landing” but this is definitely my favourite of his. :)

      Posted by JoV | May 3, 2012, 9:02 pm
  3. This is so funny! So many people just don’t get satire. I haven ‘t seen the film, but the Times review said that the film substitute’s saccharine for the book’s satire, so perhaps that’s why so many people didn’t geddit (being generous!).

    Posted by Maxine | May 4, 2012, 4:16 pm
    • Maxine,
      Ahh…that would make sense.. saccharine warms the heart and that is where viewers lost their common senses! lol Don’t worry about the word “substitute’s” at least it’s better than Dan Quayle trying to tell a poor student how to spell “potato”!!! :D

      Posted by JoV | May 5, 2012, 12:01 pm
  4. Sorry, substitutes not “substitute’s” – I hate erroneous apostrophes. (remember Dan Quayle’s potatoe’s?)

    Posted by Maxine | May 4, 2012, 4:17 pm
  5. If you can’t go salmon fishing in Yemen you could try sun tanning in Saskatchewan in January.

    Posted by Bill Selnes | May 5, 2012, 5:27 am
    • Bill,
      lol I wouldn’t know if you are telling me the truth or not ‘cos I haven’t been to Saskatchewan, perhaps trying sun bathing in England in January or even now will be more unlikely!

      Posted by JoV | May 5, 2012, 11:54 am
  6. Despite the improbability of it all, I’d still like to read it.

    Posted by Mystica | May 6, 2012, 7:49 am
    • Mystica,
      I think you should read the book. I think everyone should read the book, just don’t think that Salmon is actually jumping up the river of Yemen that’s all! :)

      Posted by JoV | May 6, 2012, 8:18 am
  7. I can’t believe people think there is salmon fishing in the Yemen! I guess it is those who haven’t read the book that are making these enquiries based on the title alone.

    Posted by farmlanebooks | May 6, 2012, 7:52 am
  8. Ha! It’s kind of scary to think how often this kind of thing happens, though.

    Posted by nymeth | May 7, 2012, 9:39 am
  9. I just find it weird that you’d bother to go to the lengths of making the enquiry when you hadn’t even read the book. Why would you base a holiday around a book you hadn’t read and didn’t even know you liked? A very strange and expensive way to look well-read?

    Posted by secondshelfdown | May 7, 2012, 10:53 am
    • Secondshelfdown,
      Thanks for dropping by. I don’t think many of them to make an inquiry has read the book. I suppose some people are naive to believe everything they saw on movie. :)

      Posted by JoV | May 7, 2012, 1:51 pm
  10. There is no hope is there? People just… yeah.

    Posted by amymckie | May 28, 2012, 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 256 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

