//
you're reading...
Reflection

Happy Summer!

It is scorching hot here in the South of UK and I am loving it. I could barely finish a book in a week and this is the longest reading slump I ever had.

I am not sure when I will get on track on my reading challenge now that my Goodreads stats have slipped… but then life is not all about stats and challenges is it? Sometimes we have to stop, smell the roses, watch young fluffy cygnets and Morris dancers doing their dance, and participate in the community day in the neighbourhood.

That’s what I did.

Summer is the time when three of my boys, including my ‘big’ boy, is celebrating their birthdays. It is also my wedding anniversary. The summer began with a slow start and by mid June, when I was at Reading Waterfest, I still had rain poured down on us while we were waiting for the balloon man to model the balloons.

JoV Summer 2013 (5) JoV Summer 2013 (3)

JoV Summer 2013 (6)

JoV Summer 2013 (4) JoV Summer 2013 JoV Summer 2013 (2)

But good news all round in the UK. Andy Murray won the Wimbledon last weekend and soon the Duchess of Cambridge is to give birth this weekend. Most importantly the weather is at 25 to 27C degree high.

Enjoy the summer you all. Tell me what you have been up to!

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

29 thoughts on “Happy Summer!

  1. Don’t worry about the books – just enjoy the sunshine! That’s what I’m doing anyway :-)

    Posted by farmlanebooks | July 10, 2013, 11:36 am
  2. My Goodread goals are about 10 books behind but I don’t care. I am reading Marisha Pessl’s Night Film and OMG, it is soooo good. It’s a chunkster and I am reading it in small bit just to savor every minute of it. It’s that good.

    What have I been doing? Not much. The oldest is too busy with school activities, yes even in the summer! So we have no vacation planned and he has to get his wisdom teeth out too which blows. I am just having a good time grilling and reading and maybe we’ll take a few short day trips. We’ll see.

    Happy Birthday to your boys!

    Posted by Ti | July 10, 2013, 1:39 pm
    • Ti,
      I feel better already. I am 2 books behind but what the heck! :) Well done for attacking a chunkster!

      I think it is good that your children has something to do in summer. Young, energetic, where are they going to release their pent-up energy if they are not involved in activities?!!

      Enjoy your summer and do let us know if you are going off in a short trip. I have Ibiza planned out end of August. :)

      Thanks so much for the birthday wish.

      Posted by JoV | July 10, 2013, 4:28 pm
  3. Our man lost at Wimbledon to him :( enjoy your summer, hope posting about good weather won’t change it into the rain and clouds :D

    Posted by myhongkonghusband | July 10, 2013, 2:36 pm
  4. I have been involved in quite a few community and school events recently, and I am so glad we’ve had the weather for them this year! Happy Birthdays to your boys :-)

    Posted by jessicabookworm | July 10, 2013, 3:48 pm
  5. Have a great sunmer and congrats on your anniversary

    Posted by vikzwrites | July 10, 2013, 6:00 pm
  6. Hope you get your mojo back soon all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | July 10, 2013, 9:13 pm
  7. Lovely pictures! Enjoy the summer! It’s pretty hard to read during the summer months – there is always so much to do.

    Posted by Athira | July 10, 2013, 11:17 pm
  8. Nothing like sun and summer to arrest the reading mojo, I’m not sure if it’s the school holidays, the sun or the latest book that just isn’t grabbing me (Questions of Travel), but I must try and get on another wavelength soon myself. Spent all day yesterday at the beach and didn’t even open my book! Enjoying good company and total immersion in the Mediterranean – bliss :)

    Posted by Claire 'Word by Word' | July 11, 2013, 8:42 am
    • Claire,
      I am not a great advocate of reading while on holiday or while travelling. I have Questions of Travel to read too, a bit anxious now that you say it doesn’t arrest you! lol :D

      Mediterranean beach and brezze, who needs books?! Enjoy your summer Claire, thanks fro dropping by….

      Posted by JoV | July 11, 2013, 10:42 am
  9. Sounds like summer is off to a great start and I love the photos! I hope July is good to you.

    Posted by Helen Murdoch | July 11, 2013, 1:44 pm
  10. Sounds like a lovely summer. Mine’s been very very hot and I am looking forward to fall.

    Posted by Jenny @ Reading the End (formerly Jenny's Books) | July 13, 2013, 1:52 pm
  11. It is scorching hot here as well (at least for me it is)-low 90s. Your roses look lovely despite the heat.

    Posted by Diane@BibliophilebytheSea | July 15, 2013, 12:09 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 238 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

