//
you're reading...
Reflection

UnSpam me!

Recently I have a blogger friend’s comment which went to my spam folder. This happens all the time. Since I have a draft post on Akismet advice on spam, which is sitting in my draft for a year. I thought I may as well finish it.

If you see a regular comment from your friends on your Akismet page or Spam folder, just click the “Approve” button or the “Not Spam” checkbox and submit and the comment will be sent back to Akismet as a mistake. The system will learn from your submission, though it may take a day or so in some cases. We know what we do with this, except how often do we remember to check the spam folder? That’s the question.

It may also be the case that when you try to commend on several blogs, all your comments went to everyone’s spam boxes!!! This can be horrifying I know, but stay calm and contact Akismet, I will show you how in a minute.

These comments are called “False Positives“, Akismet said they are extremely rare but it happens to the best of us. I panicked when this first happened to me, after some research I managed to get it sorted by going through the following steps:

  1. First you visit the page http://akismet.com/support/. Read all the FAQs if you like but you should scroll all the way down until you see this statement “If that doesn’t fix the problem, please contact support and we’ll investigate.”
  2. Click on “Contact support” link that will send you to this page http://akismet.com/contact/ with a question below:

Akismet spam 1

3. I suggest you type: “unspam my comments on other blogs” Scroll down until you see “Please tell us more” and a contact form below:

Akismet spam

4. Select the radio button that says “I think Akismet is catching my comments by mistake” and fill up the form especially the email address that you use to commend on wordpress blogs. Make sure you provide an answer to the maths above so that Akismet know that you are not a machine.

5. Please don’t forget to press the “submit” button.

6. Akismet will then get in touch with you either to let you know that the problem has been resolved or seek further clarification.

If you notice the fine print below the form once you choose the specified radio button:

” * Note about this question. You might wonder, if these guys are so good at spam blocking why would they put a stupid question like this on their contact form to keep spam out? Well, Akismet is great at protecting contact forms, we use it on all our other sites, but on Akismet.com sometimes people use the contact form to tell us they’re being blocked by Akismet.

If you think about that, blocking people when they’re trying to tell us they’re wrongly blocked would probably frustrate them, hence the math question.:)

All the very best of luck. Let me know if this works.

On a side note, I am still on a reading slump. There has been some issues at the workplace, my job is at stake… so I won’t be around here much.

I wish you all the very best and have a fantastic summer!

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “UnSpam me!

  1. Thank you Jo. I did do this form but I also emailed them as I hadn’t heard anything after a week.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | July 20, 2013, 11:42 am
  2. Oh I hope everything goes okay with your job. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Posted by Jenny @ Reading the End (formerly Jenny's Books) | July 20, 2013, 2:59 pm
  3. I hope you get some clarification soon regarding your job, we’re all here to support you no matter what.

    Posted by Claire 'Word by Word' | July 21, 2013, 5:56 am
  4. Hey Jo —looks like we are in the same slump at the same time. I have been off blogging as well faced with some idiocy at work – I don’t know why people become non-human beings at workplaces. I hope that everything goes well with you…

    Posted by Soul Muser | July 24, 2013, 3:16 pm
    • Thanks Soul.
      Fingers crossed thing will resolved soon. As they say calamity and chaos is life’s way of showing you a bigger opportunity coming up. So I have to trust for now, not fear. ;)

      Posted by JoV | July 30, 2013, 10:41 am
  5. hope you’re job sorts its self out ,I ve had spam problems too I go to spam a lot on typepad when I comment ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | July 31, 2013, 1:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

