//
you're reading...
Travel

Ibiza (Spain) Here I come!

Cafe del mar 25th anniversaryAbout 15 years ago, I first listened to music from Cafe Del Mar collection. Café del Mar is a bar located in Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza. It is known for its sunsets and chill-out music. Chill-out music is what I love. One of the albums that I own came with 2-disc set is the 25th anniversary edition. I listen to it, over and over again.

I suppose then it was my longing to visit Ibiza, Spain and see Cafe Del Mar for myself. Ibiza, the relatively small island and its cities have become world-famous for their associations with tourism, nightlife, and the electronic music the island has originated. It is well known for its summer club scene which attracts very large numbers of tourists, mostly young ones.

The island’s government and the Spanish Tourist Office have controversially been working to promote more family-oriented tourism which is good as I am now bringing my family with me to Ibiza. Ibiza is also home to the legendary “port” in Ibiza Town, a popular stop for many tourists and now a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I got my Beach T ready for the occasion.

Ibiza T

They say the sunset at Cafe Del Mar is legendary. This time I’ll witness it for myself.

I am on my way there now and I’ll be back in a week. See you in autumn!

Credits: http://vimeo.com/38541677

Sunset in Ibiza (Credits: http://vimeo.com/38541677)

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Ibiza (Spain) Here I come!

  1. wow! :) I’m jealous! :)

    Posted by myhongkonghusband | August 29, 2013, 4:27 am
  2. Have fun

    Posted by winstonsdad | August 29, 2013, 5:21 am
  3. I hope you have a lovely time :-)

    Posted by jessicabookworm | August 29, 2013, 7:47 am
  4. Ooh enjoy! The sunset at Café del Mar is wonderful, the music and atmosphere just perfect. And Café Mambo just along the beach a little bit sells delicious sangria!

    Posted by Jennifer Wallace | August 29, 2013, 7:53 am
    • Jennifer,
      I get to know about Cafe Mambo when I was there. A very happening place in the sunset strip. The beautiful sun set behind the mountain and applause followed. DJ Norman Doray began spinning his mix after that. Truly awesome!

      Don Simon for 1.5 litre at Euro 1.80 is a better deal though! ;)

      Posted by JoV | September 5, 2013, 7:03 pm
  5. Happy travels Jo…hope the sunsets are all magical for you

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | August 29, 2013, 9:34 am
  6. Lucky!!! Have a wonderful time!

    Posted by olduvai | August 29, 2013, 2:03 pm
  7. Bonne Voyage, have a great week!

    Posted by Claire 'Word by Word' | August 30, 2013, 7:29 am
  8. Sounds marvelous, have a wonderful time!

    Posted by Jenny @ Reading the End | August 30, 2013, 2:17 pm
  9. Have a fantastic time! I’ve only been to Mallorca, but it was really wonderful

    Posted by Helen Murdoch | August 31, 2013, 2:31 pm
  10. I’m all envious. Have a wonderful trip. I await your travel posts. ;)

    Posted by Arti | September 2, 2013, 1:21 am
  11. Oddly I never knew that Cafe Del Mar is a real place. The first time I heard about it was in a store in Seoul – whose CD I bought titled Cafe del Mar (chill-out music in Korean language). So odd! Enjoy your time Jo and I look forward to your coverage later :)

    Posted by mee | September 3, 2013, 7:45 am
    • Mee,
      Thanks Mee. Cafe Del Mar is a real place. It is quiet, subdued and plays only chillout music. At the back of the cafe there is a souvenir shop. The music is not too loud. All the music at Cafe Del Mar are overwhelmed by next door’s Mambo Cafe.

      Posted by JoV | September 5, 2013, 7:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 245 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

