//
you're reading...
Reflection

Passed the 5-year milestone and I forgot all about it….

It’s been quiet here at my blog.

birthday-fiveMy blog’s 5th anniversary was 30th November just past and I forgot about it. What is the matter with me?!!

About three years ago I wrote about “The only constant is change” and I said I am going to slow down on blogging as I found a new job. The “new job” as it turned out was merely a job, my heart wasn’t in it totally so there was time for me to read and do everything else I love to do. Three years later I had to look for a job because the employer of that “new job” made me apply for my own job so that I could stay employed with them, hence the blog post “Scouring for how-to-get-a-job books“.

I don’t understand the rationale behind some companies who make employees apply for their own job or the next available job on the banner of “reorganisation”. If I were made to apply for other available job within the company, I may as well expend the same effort to apply for a job externally and work for a better company right? It became a mockery, since I was a top performer in the company and I decided to look elsewhere.

and so I did… and thank God that I landed on a dream job. A job that seems to be made for me… and I threw myself in it.

I have been continuously reading and blogging for 5 years and it feels like I have a reach a point I want to take it at my own stride, a point where I want to take a break. A break from reading and writing reviews rigorously, a break to experience other things in life, take care of new priorities, lift my head up from the book and look at the world around me with a new wonder.

I will still be reading but I won’t read and reviewed as quickly as I used to.

Thank you so much for reading and following my blog. I am sure there will be a time when I will revive reading and blogging with the same rigour as the period when I first started the blog, or occasionally I may decide to write about my travel experience. If you have a good book to share or any question you want to ask, do drop me a note because…. I will still have my eyes in the latest books and my occasional indulgence of having a good read. Any news and comments from you will definitely make my day.

I won’t be doing my usual year end stats and countdown this year as I’ll be spending my Christmas and new year in Malaysia and Singapore. But I wish you an early Christmas and a wonderful new year 2014 (In the Chinese calendar it will be the year of the Wood Horse), may it be the year of wonderful things and abundance blessing for you.

Happy new year 2014

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

44 thoughts on “Passed the 5-year milestone and I forgot all about it….

  1. wow, so long! congratulations :) hope that we can get at least 5 more with your lovely blog :)

    Posted by myhongkonghusband | December 8, 2013, 9:41 pm
    • Thanks so much for your kind words Paulina. I hand over to you to keep the community entertained for now. You write awesome post and I’m sure you will last a full five years or more than I do. ;)

      Posted by JoV | December 8, 2013, 9:46 pm
  2. Congratulations on the 5 milestone and I understand u wanting to do other things besides reading and reviewing.

    I hit 5 years this past June and feel the same way.

    Best to you – happy new year

    Diane

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Posted by bostonredsoxfever@gmail.com | December 8, 2013, 9:51 pm
    • Diane,
      It must be the five year itch then! lol
      All the best to you too Diane and hope that you continue to do what you love best, even if it doesn’t involve reading and blogging. :)

      Posted by JoV | December 8, 2013, 10:09 pm
  3. Congratulations on your fifth year! It will be a time for new and greater discoveries then, and maybe someday you can come back and blog again :) A break is something we all need :) Enjoy your New Year!

    Posted by 5eyedbookworm | December 8, 2013, 10:23 pm
  4. Congratulations JoV and Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you too :-)

    Posted by jessicabookworm | December 8, 2013, 10:36 pm
  5. Oh, tremendous congratulations to you on getting your dream job! I hope it keeps on fitting you like a glove for many years to come. I’ll miss seeing your posts (as regularly as before), but of course understand your need to reorganize your priorities etc.

    Posted by Jenny @ Reading the End | December 9, 2013, 2:28 am
  6. Happy bloggiversary Jo, and congrats again for the dream job! ;) Take it easy on the blogging front and I’ll keep my eyes peeled for any new posts :). I just watched The Edge of Heaven yesterday – it’s quite good. I should watch more foreign movies – they show parts of the world we don’t usually know or see. It has whetted my appetite for Turkey more. Enjoy your time in the Far East – love to go back too, hopefully next year.

    Posted by dioni (@meexia) | December 9, 2013, 2:14 pm
    • Dioni,
      Yes, I remember you are going Turkey this December. Have a blast because it is going to be so awesome! :)
      I am glad you watched The Edge of Heaven. Once you watched world cinema, you will never go back to Hollywood movies! Try the movie Biutiful by Javier Bardem. One of my favourites and I hope that you will go back to Far East next year. ;)

      Posted by JoV | December 9, 2013, 9:29 pm
  7. Haha! I forget my own every year. I don’t even remember how long I’ve been blogging, Past a certain point it just doesn’t seem to matter.

    Posted by Ti | December 9, 2013, 6:58 pm
  8. LOL Jo I forgot my blog birthday too – which is the same as yours. But life does sometimes get in the way and that’s OK – I’m reading less at the moment too, and reviewing even less than that. But it’s OK. I will miss your annual stats but I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year – perhaps next year you can share some stories about how/if those holidays are celebrated in Singapore and Malaysia.

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | December 10, 2013, 1:59 am
    • Bernadette,
      I am glad that I am not the only who forget! Haven’t we come a long way from starting out a blog at the same time and transitioning into this “fading out” of blogosphere journey? I will be looking out for your annual stats and yes, I will share my travel pictures next year. Happy Christmas!

      Posted by JoV | December 12, 2013, 8:57 pm
  9. I don’t even have my dream job anymore, of course I still teach, but the bureaucracy is doing its best to make education in America a farce. Anyway, so glad for your travels, your dreams being fulfilled, a pond still the odd moment to find time to share books. I don’t blog as much as I used to, but I still count you friend. Happy Anniversary! Merry Christmas! (Still use those lovely golden clips you sent me one year, on which to string up my cards. xo)

    Posted by Bellezza | December 10, 2013, 2:31 am
  10. Congrats on 5 years! I just returned from 5 weeks in Singapore! It was both tiring and wonderful :P. And so bloody hot.

    Posted by olduvai | December 10, 2013, 4:28 am
    • I can imagine Olduvai. Must be super hot out there! This is what I fear most. It has been 7.5 years since I am back, I am sure I will be shocked both in good and perhaps not so good ways. ;)

      Posted by JoV | December 12, 2013, 9:00 pm
  11. Well congratulations, 5 years is a wonderful achievement and the fact that your activities are evolving is also positive, I can’t help but smile after reading this and see next to the comment box that quote from Albert Einstein who encourages us to not let reading(or reviewing) books completely take over, as we have other creative pursuits that need encouragement. I think a slowing down often pre-empts a change, an improvement. So good luck with whatever comes out this subtle shift! And have a wonderful festive season. :)

    Posted by Claire 'Word by Word' | December 10, 2013, 9:16 am
    • Claire,
      LOL You are very observant. I had that quote there to remind me that I shouldn’t get addicted in reading and reviewing books and forgot how to live a different life! Yes, a change is good and thank you for your kind words Claire. I wish you and your family a blessed Christmas and a wonderful new year!! :D

      Posted by JoV | December 12, 2013, 9:19 pm
  12. Congratulations on the 5 years and the dream job! It sounds as though you’ve found the right balance between blogging and everything else. Enjoy Christmas & New Year! Hope we can catch up sometime in 2014 :-)

    Posted by farmlanebooks | December 10, 2013, 1:52 pm
  13. It looks like you found yourself in a good time and place. I’m very happy for you!

    Posted by Andrea | December 10, 2013, 6:38 pm
  14. Congrats!!
    Congrats also for having one of the best book blogs around! Keep up the good work!!

    Posted by maphead | December 11, 2013, 4:05 am
  15. Congrats on 5 years of blogging. A pity you can’t keep it up so much now, but hey, there are other things in your life that are much more important! Have a great holiday at the end of this month and a good start of 2014.

    Posted by Leeswammes | December 14, 2013, 8:48 am
  16. Congratulations and merry Christmas! Enjoy your new job and life with no or less blogging! I can totally relate because I basically tool a break from blogging this year…blogging burnout I guess ;p Wish you all the best!!

    Posted by Bina | December 26, 2013, 5:46 pm
  17. Happy New Year, Jo! Hope you have a wonderful year filled with wonderful books, beautiful reading moments and wonderful travel adventures. I hope you occasionally post a book review, because we love reading them.

    Posted by Vishy | January 3, 2014, 8:31 am
    • Happy New Year Vishy! Hope you have a fruitful reading year too this year. As for me, I think I’ll take a break. Semi-retirement. Big thanks for the encouragement! :)

      Posted by JoV | January 16, 2014, 9:25 am
      • Thanks Jo! I have been an absentee commenter this past year, but I have to say that we will miss you. Hope you get back whenever you get the time or you occasionally post your thoughts on books and quotes from your favourite books. I know that life is more important than blogging but I hope that you get some time to indulge yourself in blogging. All the best!

        Posted by Vishy | January 17, 2014, 7:34 am
        • Vishy,
          Although I don’t blog, I still read books and I always have this nagging feeling to blog. Alas, storm are brewing at work and in personal life, many milestones and hurdles to cross.

          I do want to come back. Once I found a breathing space, I will.

          Thanks for your support Vishy. It make my day!

          Posted by JoV | January 19, 2014, 9:44 pm
          • Glad to know that the blogging spark is still burning and nagging you, Jo :) I hope the storms that are brewing go away and the sea becomes calm once again. Wish you all the best.

            Posted by Vishy | January 20, 2014, 1:34 pm
  18. Looks like I’m three months late, but here’s a big CONGRATULATIONS!
    Keeping a blog running for 5 years is no easy feat and many would have given up earlier than they would have thought.
    I see that you’ve done a great job and with much admiration, I wish you many more ‘blogiversaries’.

    Posted by Marvin | March 17, 2014, 2:41 pm
    • Thanks so much Marvin. It’s been a lot of hardwork and I must say there were times I would have given up earlier. So this is a real test of how much I love books and talking about it but this time around with the new job, I think I have to take a break in between reviews. ;)

      Posted by JoV | March 17, 2014, 3:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 256 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

