//
you're reading...
Fiction

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

new-moonThanks to the Manchester Library, I received 3 out of my 4 reservations for the Twilight Saga on New year’s eve. I made the reservation on the 24 October 2008. 2 months wait. Thought I wouldn’t get it in another 2 months. The library was quick to observed the surge of reservation of the Twilight series, thus had bought many new additions.

I told the librarian I haven’t read the first book yet. He was trying to be helpful, but I am the 10th in queue for Twilight, and there are 78 reservations in queue if I were to make a fresh reservation. I put off borrowing Breaking Dawn as it would be to my disadvantage if I had to return it within 2 weeks without finishing it. Renewals are not possible for reservations made by other readers.

Tremendous response to both the movie and the books. Is the buzz for real? I don’t read YA stuff, albeit Harry Potter. Curiosity got the better of me. Even if it sucks, I am determined to finish this series.

I am glad to start with this book, heralded to be not the best in the series. So it is without any expectations that I started to read this book.

The book raised many incredulous questions:

  • it glorifies irrational teenage love.
  • Why would anyone choose a cold bloodsucker over a warm, funny, almost human werewolves?
  • Why would anyone choose overcast Forks over Sunshine Jacksonville?
  • Why would anyone forgo a beautiful life of human to be a vampire who has to rein her temptations on blood?
  • Why would anyone forgo delicious human food to feed on blood?
  • How irresponsible it is not to care about what Bella’s parents feel about her disappearance?
  • How daft can a father be for not knowing that your daughter’s boyfriend is in her room every single night?
  • Edward killing himself because Bella’s is dead by merely trusting Rosalie’s words??!!
  • Volturi letting the lot of them go without a fight? it is too good to be true.
  • Bella hearing voices in the head? This must be a bad case of hallucination.
  • Is the book suggesting that being an outcast and anti-social is cool?

I can relate to the adrenaline pumping activities that Bella gets involved with, that I buy it, it’s part of growing up. This book is not one the best in series, maybe of the perpetual dreary mood that Bella brood about losing Edward.

The one thing that brings out really well was the friendship between Jacob and Bella. Everyone use to remember at one point in their lives when their best friend is the opposite sex. The thrill of the balancing act when one has to tip-toe around the blurred boundary between an intimate relationship and friendship. I remembered many years ago I would have like to turn one of my “werewolf-Jacob” friend into a “vampire boyfriend-Edward”. It was always me who wanted more out of the relationship, albeit not having the self confidence that Jacob has about his own sex appeal. However deep the friendship we had, it was not meant to be. My once best friend was not convertible to my one true love. Non-negotiable. In the absence of Jacob’s self confidence, I thought that is because I am ugly and unlovable. The relationship / friendship had since severed, at the critical moment, my dignity is more valued, hence I need to make a clean break to protect myself.

Some of the theories are so ludicrous that you wonder if this book is a healthy read for teenagers. I thought Harry Potter was bad, but this is worse. My mother would have been unhappy if I read teenage romance book (back then when I was a teenager, I am sure no mother would have whole-hearted agree with allowing their teenage daughter fantasising about falling in love with vampire.

This book should be rated R or over 18. Does the craze over this series signifies our increasing needs to be shock and to be extreme, where things which are once deemed unacceptable are now acceptable?

It doesn’t matter if I hate it, isn’t it? Twilight fans will be watching out for the movie release of New Moon this November 2009.

Rating: 1.75/5

For the book’s sypnosis view:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Moon_(novel)

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – A movie review « Bibliojunkie - September 4, 2010

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

