//
you're reading...
Fiction

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

eclipseSo things are back to normal. Edward is back with Bella and Bella walking the tight rope between being in love with Edward and seeing her best friend, Jacob. This book reveals more of the histories behind why some of Bella’s vampire friends became vampire. Rosalie and Emmett, Alice and Jasper and how they found their partners; and the legend of the werewolves, with the story of the self sacrificial third wife.

I love raising incredulous questions about things that happened in this series, there is more in this book:

  • Well, well what do you know? Bella is offering herself, she wants to make love to Edward, in the midst of tension when Bella’s enemy is out to hunt her. Good thing Edward understands the importance of self-restraint.
  • Jacob warming up Bella in her sleeping bag while Edward looks on. Even to the point the two boys begin to discuss about what is best for Bella (it’s cheesy, but this only happens in the book, how many teenage boys have the sensitivity to have a soul searching conversation such as page 498 to 503?)
  • To hell with college, lets choose somewhere where there is no sun with perpetual overcast so that it would be good for Edward, like Alaska! Alaska over Dartmouth! What happen to girls being in charge of your destiny?!!
  • Bella calls the Cullens her family. What about her real family? Renee and Charlie? (Parents, do something!!)
  • Request Jacob to kiss her before going off to the battle in order to save him, naively believing that he would get out the way of a love triangle by killing himself off in the battle.
  • Edward acting cool about Jacob kissing his future wife, duh?
  • Bella emulating the action of the third wife i.e. drawing her own blood to distract Victoria.
  • Instead of worrying if Bella got hurt, Edward is more worried if Bella is frightened of seeing him kill Victoria so viciously.
  • Gory ending to Victoria, might give some weak-hearted teenagers nightmares.
  • Last but not least, “I love Jacob, but I love you more.” said Bella to Edward. Yeah right.
  • So Alice saw Bella’s future as a vampire. So dream on Jake.
  • “I feel like I am going to lose you. Will you tell me before you do something major? before you run off with him or something. I won’t kick up a fuss, just give me advance notice. Give me a chance to hug you goodbye.” said Charlie (Bella’s father) to her. Wow, wouldn’t any teenager like to have such a cool dad who allows you to do anything major that might ruin your life?

What Meyer does really well is to portray the tendency for teenagers to dramatize and overeact on trivial stuff.

One statement I particularly like is:

And I realised that I’d been wrong all along about the magnets. It had not been Edward and Jacob that I’d been trying to force together, it was two parts of myself, Edward’s Bella and Jacob’s Bella. But they could not exist together, and I never should have tried.

This is the realisation that we will never find everything that we ever wanted in one person. The term Soul mate is both elusive and misleading. It is life’s biggest trade-off for not getting all that we wanted, we just need to learn to live with it.

Edward and Bella

Edward and Bella

Meyer romantise and idealise an unhealthy relationship (not unless Bella decide to be with Jacob). The thought of Bella always need protection defeats the purpose of empowerment for young girls and seems to put young girls back to the dark ages.

This book has a lot more action, a lot more cheesy dialogues. However, I am still not sure why I am reading the series. Just purely curious I guess. Or perhaps so that I could strike up an interesting conversation or small talk in my office lunch or corporate meetings?

My ratings: 2/5

For book sypnosis, see:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eclipse_(novel)

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

