//
you're reading...
Reflection

Overreading syndrome

Can you ever fall sick of overreading? What is the sign of a overreader?

One can always spot a avid reader. usually bespectacled, tired eyes, overweight, pallid, or malnourished due to lack of outdoor activities and exercise. Always a book on hand.

I look somewhat emaciated with perpetual dark circles in my eyes. I can read at about 50 to 70 pages an hour (depending on the line spacing and font size), it usually takes me 2 days to complete a 350 pages book. These days I stayed up reading while everyone in the family is asleep. I wish I could put a headlight on my forehead, so that I could read without putting the lights on at home. Sometimes I slept for the first few hours and then woke up in the middle of the night and read for one or two hours and then crawled back to bed and slept till noon (Yeah pure luxury of unemployment, it is pure bliss to read for pleasure). 

This past months, I felt I have grown intellectually and creatively by overreading. I have a lot more vocabularies added to my inventory (yes, I kept a personal inventory! 😀 ). I felt the fervent desire to write and publish (blogging is a good start). Books had taken me to many different places. War zones such as Serbia, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe,  Congo. Other places like The Sahara, Hill tribes of Thailand, Chennai, Naple, Botswana, China and the Silk Road. As it is said,

 “Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” – Mary Schmich

I also read about human experience that is close to mine, so that:

We read to know we are not alone.” C.S. Lewis

During the months of unemployment, I read because I do not want my days to go idle.

Every man who knows how to read has it in his power to magnify himself, to multiply the ways in which he exists, to make his life full, significant and interesting” – Alduous Huxley

Indeed with 96 books in my year 2008 record, I was not disappointed. My unemployment period was full, significant and interesting.

The first thing I am going to do when I get to a new city is to register with the local library. Moving houses, starting work. A lot of urgent things demand my attention soon. I would have to give up my current lifestyle and go earn a living. My reading regime will be less rigorous. Perhaps this will help me to recover from the overreading disease (not that I resolve to recover from this!), it would do me good too to put on my running shoes and find a local gym to workout.

I don’t really care which city I am going to stay next, what I feel as an immigrant would be aptly describe by the following:

Reading makes immigrants of us all. It takes us away from home, but more important, it finds homes for us everywhere. – Jean Rhys

That is exactly how I feel, right now.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

