//
you're reading...
Book Business, Reflection

Collecting Books

Contrary to my new year resolution, I have been stocking up cheap second hand books on my weekly shopping exploit around the city of Reading. It is truly irresistable and here’s why:

  1. I read The Post Birthday World by Lionel Shriver last year, it’s one of my favourite. I got it for £2 from the Cancer Research Foundation.
  2. Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Everything for £2 from Mind Charity Organisation last week. It’s practically new, with glossy inserts of colourful pictures which the normal edition lacks.
  3. Then we came to the End by John Ferris for 50p at Christian Community Action.
  4. Michael Crichton’s hardback Next at Christian Community Action.
  5. Bridget Jones’s Diary for 10p at the Reading Central Library book sale.
  6. Michael Palin’s hardback glossy pictures and amazing photography Himalayan for £1 at the 99p shop.
  7. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates for 50p, practically new at Christian Community Action.
post birthday worlda short history of everythingThen we came to the endNext
bridget-jones-diarymichael_palin_himalayarevolutionary-road
I have stumbled across books such as The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak, Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood, The Hour by Michael Cunningham, The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, so many more at 50p, The Royal Duty by Diana’s butler (can’t remember his name) at 80p, but I told myself I am not stocking up too many books because of my small living space.. But I do wish to own a personal library, one that looks like Tahir Shah’s library in Morocco, hopefully when I retire in Morocco Tangier or Bali Island perhaps. If that is achievable, I am going to scout around shops in the UK, re-purchase all my favourite books and stock them up in my home library. So help me God, please make my dreams come true. 🙂
Tahir Shah's library in Dar Khalifah, Casablanca.

Tahir Shah's library in Dar Khalifah, Casablanca.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Collecting Books

  1. Charity shops are the bane of my life! There’s so many cheap books, and so little time. My ‘to read pile’ is rapidly growing, I wrote about it here:

    http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/08/26/reading-habits-an-introduction/

    Posted by sherby57 | August 26, 2009, 11:41 am
  2. I am slightly worried at discovering your blog as you do such a great job of reviewing all the books you have read, I think I may end up adding lots more to my wishlist!!

    Keep up the good work!

    Posted by sherby57 | August 27, 2009, 11:16 am
  3. Thank you! 🙂 My initial thought of creating a blog was doing this for myself, so that 5 years down the road I remember what I have read (what’s the point if you forget right?)…. and then I spur on and encourage by people like you, and I hope I encourage other people to read the books that I love! 🙂

    Posted by Jovenus | August 28, 2009, 12:16 pm
  4. Being able to remember books you have read is a very big bonus of blogging about books. My recollection levels of books I’ve read is disturbingly low.

    Hopefully my first monthly book review will be published within a week, and it’s my first step towards a literary memory!

    Posted by sherby57 | September 5, 2009, 3:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

