//
you're reading...
Reflection

A good mooch over the weekend

I am so happy with the books that I got / borrow / steal over the weekend, I thought I made a note here (and tell anyone who is interested?).

Midnight ChildrenLove in the time of Cholerasea of poppies

  1. kafka on the shoreMidnight Children by Salman Rushdie. Got it at a Charity shop, can’t believe I have it for 50p. Condition : Supernew!
  2. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcis Marquez. Got it at the same place too, 50p.
  3. Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh, booker 2008 shortlisted from the library. Should be good.
  4. Finally, Kafka on the Shore. Been on my virtual TBR list for a long time, but since found one clean copy in the library, might as well pick it up.

I think I am going to lie (or might not) and tell my colleague that I have read the following books:

Bronze-HorsemanTatiana and Alexander

It’s like 650 pages (each) with super small fonts, must have come up to 1000 pages if printed in readable font size. I have been vacillitating between reading it and not reading it. Part romance (Urghh!), part historical novel (WWII, Russians, Lenigrad, sounds good..) arghh!!! I’m agonising over the decision. The book reviews said mostly good things about the first book. You know how it’s like having someone kind enough to loan you some books and insist that you should read it, and it’s off your usual reading preference, and definitely not in your TBR pile?!! If I said No, I might end up hurting an old lady’s good intent. If I said Yes, I am so afraid that I end up regretting big time!

What should I do? 😦

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “A good mooch over the weekend

  1. Say yes then never read it and give it back with a couple of generic comments? I’ve done that a couple of times. Don’t like doing it but sometimes life is a choice between the lesser of two evils.

    I chuckled when I saw your haul that you’re so happy about…you have two of my top 5 least favourite books ever there: the Rushdie and the Marquez. But the wonderful thing about books is that there’s something for everyone and the world would be a dull place indeed if we all agreed. Happy reading.

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | July 28, 2009, 2:19 am
    • Indeed, indeed, the world would be a boring place if all of us read the same thing. My first for Rushdie and Marquez. yeah it’s probably the sort of books that people either love it or loathe it.

      I’ll think about your advice. seriously. 🙂

      Posted by jovenus | July 28, 2009, 7:29 am
  2. I have ‘Love In The Time Of Cholera’ in my ‘to read list’ after loving ‘100 Years of Solitude’, which totally blew me away.

    I am slightly scared by the thoughts of tackling Rushdie though!!

    Posted by sherby57 | August 27, 2009, 11:14 am
  3. I read A Sea of Poppies last month-I really enjoyed it after I got into it-it is part one of a trilogy

    I loved Love in the Time of Cholera-and I also enjoyed the movie-

    my only Salman Rashdie is The Enchantress of Florence -I was very taken by the lushness of the prose

    Posted by Mel u | February 4, 2010, 4:05 am
  4. Then you will love the Midnight Children then. It’s the booker of the Man booker prize, so it is said.

    Posted by JoV | February 4, 2010, 7:51 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

