//
you're reading...
Book Business

2010 Global Reading Challenge

Seek and you will find.

I haven’t started out my new year trying to look for reading challenges to participate. But I found another one which I think holds dear to what I aspire to do: read books from different countries and continents.

2010 Global Reading Challenge

I’ll be taking up the Medium Challenge:

The Medium Challenge
Read two novels from each of these continents in the course of 2010:
Africa
Asia
Australasia
Europe
North America (incl Central America)
South America

Try to find novels from twelve different countries or states.

Note : Now Bernadette, can you help identify two good novels from Australasia which is worthy of my time? Thanks a million!

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “2010 Global Reading Challenge

  1. Now I’m feeling the pressure.

    I think you might like the work of Tim Winton – Cloudstreet and Dirt Music are both very Australian books (and well written). Dirt Music is my favourite – about this woman called Georgie whose in her 40’s and life isn’t going so well – but there’s hope in the book too. It was released with its own CD soundtrack which was quite an innovative concept. I hear that his last novel, Breath, is also excellent but I haven’t read it. Tim Winton is a bit of a national hero here because he’s one of the few Aussies that has made a name for himself in literature circles overseas. Plus he appears to be an exceptionally nice bloke. All three of those books won the Miles Franklin award in their respective year of publishing (that’s our big literary award here).

    Alex Miller’s Journey to the Stone Country is also a great read. It’s about an Aboriginal man who used to be a stockman and a woman whose husband left her for one of his students – both of these people end up going back to the woman’s family homeland in the outback (Queensland).

    I know you’re not a crime fiction buff like me but I think you would like a book I read last year by Adrian Hyland called Diamond Dove (or released in the US as Moonlight Downs). It’s set in and around Alice Springs and is barely crime fiction at all – it’s more about a white woman who grew up in an Aboriginal community and her relationship with the various members of the community. It’s a beautiful book – was one of my top ten books of last year.

    You might also like Peter Temple’s The Broken Shore. It is more of a crime novel but it’s very, very Australian (which is impressive as Temple wasn’t born here). Temple is a very sparse writer and the book has some of the best dialogue I’ve read.

    Probably our two most well known authors are Peter Carey (who has won the Booker Prize twice) and David Malouf but I don’t like any of the books of either of them (In fact Carey is responsible for me swearing off Booker prize winners forever) so I shan’t recommend them.

    If you want to try any of these and have trouble tracking any down let me know as there are SH copies all over the place here and I would be happy to pick one up and post to you (as long as you don’t mind sea mail). Anything to spread the Aussie goodness around the globe 🙂

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | January 9, 2010, 7:57 am
    • Bernadette, You are a STAR!!! 🙂
      Tim Winton’s Breath and Dirt Music, Adrian Hyland’s Diamond Dove, Peter Temple’s The Broken Shore it is then!
      I don’t mind crime fiction, as long as it is backed up by great research, exotic milieu and intelligent plot.

      Thank you so much for the sea mail offer, found all of them in my local library and have added them onto my list!! Have a great weekend!

      Posted by JoV | January 9, 2010, 11:29 am
  2. I hope you enjoy them. I’m pleased to hear that our little Aussie battlers have made it to your local library

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | January 10, 2010, 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

