//
you're reading...
Reflection

501 must-read books

What is it about book list that fascinates book lovers?

I think it’s the pride that comes with it if you manage to spot the books that you have read from the list, Or the great anticipation of books that you want to read, or introduction to more new books that you never know exists but wanted to read.

Today a parcel arrive at work. It’s from home, many thousand miles away, from my best friend. 

I came back to my desk, untied the rope, took a photo of it before I tore the papers and then figure out how I could open the sturdy box. My friend is a superb gift wrapping expert and I have to give it to her to pack this up so nicely. 

What’s in there? 4 packets of medicinal herbs. So that will help me get through my strenuous schedule for the coming months. And then there is a packet of 3-in-1 coffee brew from home. That too will keep me awake while I feel like dozing off at work. And then, and then…. * now here’s where I get emotional* …. And then a 501 must read book review notebook!!!! Nestling between all the herbs and the clothes!

I was so moved that my eyes went all puffy and my nose begin to run.

Buying the right gift is not about buying something expensive or buying something that is in vogue. It’s about truly understanding the state of mind and yearning of the heart of your friend that you give the best gift. My best friend knew I need herbs to keep me through my busy routine, coffee to start my day perfectly and central to my life is Reading and blogging about books, and she gave me a notebook about jotting down thoughts about book reviews and giving me more ideas on 501 books that I must read in my lifetime, and another gift for the precious people in my life.

To look at the list of 501 books, click here.

Book blogging replaces the need for me to use a book journal, but I still can’t help but get excited about the list. It aspires me to read some of the books listed there and the ultimate satisfaction of ticking the checkbox. 501 must read offers a balanced list of Children fables, Non-fiction, travel and adventures, sci-fi, religions and adult fictions etc. Unfortunately, out of the 501 books, I only read 12 of them. Seems like a long way to go for me to tick all 501 of them.

I have a  pet peeve of not being able to follow any list, I read what I like to read. But hey, I’ll be happy if I finished half of the list!

Do you have a book list that you hold dear to? And how does your list looks like?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “501 must-read books

  1. Wow, what a lovely gift. What a lovely friend! The list looks very fun too. It makes me feel pressured though. So many good books out there to read! :–)

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | February 19, 2010, 3:26 am
  2. Isn’t it awesome to get gifts like that? Reminds you just how well some of your friends know you. (And I personally *love* anything that comes in book form and allows me to write stuff in..)

    Just had a look at the list, and I’ve read 11. So many of the books on that list don’t even look familiar! And many more I never even plan to read. But still, I love bookish lists. I prefer making my own, jotting down titles I come across on other blogs (like yours) that seem interesting. =)

    Posted by Michelle | February 19, 2010, 5:20 am
  3. By the way, I should say, an amazing number of them looked good and reminded me of books I had forgotten I wanted to read. But this is a list alphabetical by title. Is there a prioritized list? (realizing it would just be one person’s but….)

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | February 19, 2010, 1:40 pm
    • I looked high and low in the internet there isn’t one user friendly list I could use or in any other priority. What I can suggest is to check with your local library if they have a copy of the book, i.e. “501 Must Read Books”, the book itself, not the book journal. That way you get more introduction and also they might be sorted and grouped by their categories or genre. Amazon.com also keep stock of them. I’m trying to find if I can get a used copy as my local libraries don’t stock them.

      Good Luck!

      Posted by JoV | February 19, 2010, 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

