//
you're reading...
Reflection

The Prolific Blogger Award

I click on Jessica’s of  The Bookworm Chronicles latest post and she wrote about the Prolific Blogger Award. Jessica had picked 7 of her favourite bloggers to pass the award to. Number 1…. number 2… halfway through the list I thought, wow, awesome… well, I wish I could win an award, somewhere, somehow…anything, it’s a long shot but can I win something?

And guess what??!!! I am at number 6.. Wow I’m gobsmacked and stunned. 14 months of blogging and this is my first award!!! I have never been so happy at number 6! 🙂 Jessica had passed the award to me for being a treasure trove of in-depth book reviews of which I haven’t even made a dint into reading all there is to find here. Awww…. you are  so sweet Jessica. I tried to be as thorough as I could, I’m just wired that way at work and at home. I gave it my best shot and try to make the world a better place by giving out my best.

Recently I have reduced the number of books I read as I put my cyber life and reading life on hold and focus on making some new changes in my life. I am itching to get back to reading voraciously as soon as I can. Thank you everyone who kept my blog hits on expected average and not suffered with my lack of reading.

These are the people who kept me reading and blogging, in no particular order here they are:

First, there is Mee of Book of Mee maintains a visually very beautiful blog (ok that’s not the reason to be nominated). She read books which I would love to read and she is very creative in her blog entries. She entertains with entries about movies which originated from a bestselling book, youtube videos, authors, food, movie characters and the reading challenges that she participated. She has the most varied format of book blogging I have ever seen.

Next, Michelle of Su[Shu] as her blog implies reads books that is comforting to her. She writes in a comforting way too, like sharing thoughts with a friend. Michelle replies to every comment and at one point blogs 3 books in a row that I was crazy about and it seals my belief that we could be great blogger friends (only if I get back reading and blogging consistently again).

In number 3, there is Vulpes Libris, the book foxes. The Book Fox clubs really consists of a group of writers (published and unpublished), journalists, librarians, actors – as well as wildlife painters, craft-workers, opera-buffs and dog-lovers based in London. It is a club of intellectuals really and they blog about books that inspires me to read, because of them my TBR kept piling up. Their reviews are always profound and insightful, some might qualify for academic reviews, and that’s the way I like it!

Next I am going for husband and wife team, Jill and hubby at Rhapsody in Books. Jill reads YA books and hubby is into military and war. The husband and wife team made me wanted to read Moby Dick again and are ever so encouraging of my every review that I post. I think every blogger need a cheerleading Jill to spur us on the days that we don’t feel like blogging!

Ok Mel U of Reading Life has already been nominated for the Prolific Award once, I’m just going to pass the award to Mel again as Mel reviews are a good source of sociopolitical and economic analysis and deserves to be nominated. Mel U has similar reading taste as mine in reading up on South Asia, South East Asian and Japanese literature . I love reading about people of another country and culture, Mel U’s blogs offers many alternatives to learn about the world around us.

Moving on to Bernadette of Reactions to Reading, Bernadette is a pro when it comes to blogging about Crime fiction. Bernadette start blogging the same time as I am and is instrumental in being there in my early days of blogging. Although Bernadette blogs about crime fiction which is a genre I hardly read, whenever I’m in need, Bernadette never fails to offer help. Bernadette very recently went out of her way to recommend books from her country, Australia, to me. Not only is she a prolific crime fiction blogger, she is also a prolific reading habit analyst and statistician. I believe we share the same love in charts and analysis!

Last and definitely not least, it’s Adrian of The Reading Monk. Adrian writes in-depth and thought provoking review. Adrian is also a member of Culturazzi. Adrian’s review and support is a source of inspiration to me. Besides being a prolific blogger, Adrian is a prolific lawyer in real life. Although Adrian is taking a break now from blogging, organising a Legal year (in English Law, the Legal year is the calendar during which the judges sit in court) for the nation and coping with a new addition in the family. I hope when his busy schedule eased up, he would come back and start blogging again. 

So if you see your name in the list above I am passing the award on to you. If you wish to take part please read the rules.

For all who happen to read this post, please take a look at these prolific bloggers’ labour of love, their blogs. Spread some love and vote for 7 more of whom you think deserves the prolific blogger award. 🙂

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “The Prolific Blogger Award

  1. Aw, thanks for the award, and the kind things you said about my blog. =)

    I’m sure we can be great blogger friends (even if we might like/dislike different books sometimes), so I’m looking forward to the day when you’ll be back in full force! And I hope the changes you’re making in life are going well.

    Posted by Michelle | February 4, 2010, 1:25 am
    • Thanks Michelle. I hope the changes will come to pass too. It’s a long process, but if I give up now, there will not be a chance to achieve my objectives. 🙂 Hope you are well.

      Posted by JoV | February 4, 2010, 9:53 pm
  2. thank you so much-I am very glad I found your blog-I really like the style and content of your reviews

    Posted by Mel u | February 4, 2010, 3:28 am
  3. Wow, how nice! It’s especially nice to be thought of as a cheerleader since I could never even make a pom pom girl (owing to that ridiculous requirement that you not trip over your own feet!)

    Thanks again!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | February 4, 2010, 5:00 am
  4. Hard work paid off I guess 😉
    Great job, so congrats with the award 🙂

    Posted by Marvin Lee | February 4, 2010, 5:10 am
  5. Congratulations on your well-deserved award and thanks so much for passing it on to me and saying such nice things that I am blushing. I am crazy busy at work this week and have barely had a moment to read let along blog but I appreciate it very very much. And if anyone can inspire me to get back to reading ‘profound’ books it’s you 🙂

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | February 4, 2010, 9:24 am
    • Awww…thanks Bernadette. I have been secretly (not so secret anymore now!) adding some crime fictions on my TBR pile after reading your entries. Especially the ones set in an exotic country. I am playing catch up with work too, must be the syndrome of quarter 4 (if your financial year end is March 2010) performance catch up. Last leg of the race before the end.

      Posted by JoV | February 4, 2010, 9:47 pm
  6. Thanks JoV! That’s so kind of you. It’s very nice to hear what people think is good about your blog in very specific ways like that :). We haven’t met each other for a long time, but I hope we can continue to share our reads!

    ps: My book blog link is http://www.meexia.com/bookie. meexia.com sort of links to my wedsite at the moment…

    Posted by mee | February 5, 2010, 3:15 am
    • We will. I have Middlesex sitting prominently on my pile. I knew that was your favourite book of last year. So will try to get down to reading it this year and share my thoughts across!

      Posted by JoV | February 5, 2010, 9:28 pm
  7. congratz JoV! I enjoy reading your writing and love your choices of books!

    Posted by mei | February 5, 2010, 11:38 am
  8. Congratulations on your award! I’m so happy for you, and I have to completely agree with you passing it on to Mel U.

    Posted by Bellezza | February 6, 2010, 4:04 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: It’s not that I’m ungrateful but… « Reactions to Reading - February 10, 2010

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

