//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I decided I need a change

Ever since I sign up with wordpress, I have been struggling with adopting a theme which meets all my needs.

Same time last year, I need a blog theme which allows custom header and I don’t want my entry to be confined within narrow fixed width. I like having two side bars and preferably with font arial. I like my blog to have flexible width too, i.e. spread out according to Windows width. I also like my quotes to be highlighted and boxed.

I can never find one.

Since then there are creation of new blog themes, and “Vigilance” is one of them. It almost met all my needs, except it’s not displayed in Arial fonts. If I wanted to change my typeface, I can pay some money to do it. But I’m happy to compromise for not getting my Arial fonts and flexible width. But I am happy with the fact that I can customise my header. So here’s the result. What do you think?

I am hoping this will be my dream theme, i.e. something that I will put up with for the rest of my blogging life.

What is it with me that I can’t settle for a theme more than a year? Do you feel the same? Do you feel the need to change your blog theme every now and then?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “I decided I need a change

  1. LOL. I look at the themes a lot. The only reason I don’t change more is that I can never decide on what to change to. But I understand your desire to change 🙂 And it looks lovely too

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | February 24, 2010, 8:46 am
  2. I don’t know how I feel about two side bars being right next to each other, but that could be because it is new and different and therefore comes up against my reflexive resistance to change! :–)

    Overall, I’d say the best arrangement is whatever makes you the happiest! :–)

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | February 24, 2010, 8:16 pm
    • I agree with you. I couldn’t quite stomach the two side bars sitting side by side squashing against one another. There is one called wide bar too! I’ll check out what’s the wide bar all about!

      Thanks for your comments Jill.

      Posted by JoV | February 24, 2010, 10:05 pm
  3. I love the new theme, like you I don’t like themes where everything seems squished into the middle leaving lots of space down the sides. I like the double side bar but I would say that as I have one on my page!

    Posted by jessicabookworm | February 26, 2010, 11:29 am
    • I didn’t like the text squished in a small space too. But I realised there is a reason why blogs are designed that way, just to save readers from having to scan their eyes too far from left to right! it may slow down the reading pace. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | February 26, 2010, 11:29 pm
  4. I’ve just gone through the same mental meanderings; there’s neve the blog I’m 100% satisfied with, but I just figured that was due to my high expectation nature! I’m glad to know that I’m not alone. I tried Vigilance, too, but I was frustrated with how it was too wide to fit across a ‘normal’ screen. So, I went with plain and simple, which seems to answer most of my needs. This template of yours look elegant.

    Posted by Bellezza | March 3, 2010, 12:44 am
  5. Thanks. After using “Vigilance” for a day or two, I feel the text size is too big.
    Good for people who read Large Print but may impede speed reading. I am always at awe at bloggers who work hard to design their own blog, and it came out exactly as they wanted it to be. Unfortunately I’m not that HTML proficient or have the luxury of time to do that. 😦

    Posted by JoV | March 3, 2010, 8:41 am
  6. Your theme looks great! I like minimalist. I’ve only been blogging for just over 6 months now and I’m already considering changing themes, so I know the feeling. Like they say, a change is as good as a holiday. I started looking around and trying out new ones in draft, and then decided it would take me so long to get everything exactly how I wanted it if I changed, and for now I simply don’t have that amount of time to invest. I am so impressed by some of the newer blog themes that people have adopted recently though (and secretly a little jealous!).

    Posted by Booklover Book Reviews | April 11, 2010, 3:35 am
    • Ohhh…. tell me about themes. I’m one of those people who spent hours trying out themes like trying out dresses at the boutique. I found soooooo.. many beautiful wordpress themes only to find out that it’s only for self-hosting blog!! Arghh..
      like you I don’t have time to find out to host my blog yet. 😦

      Posted by JoV | April 15, 2010, 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

