//
you're reading...
Reflection

Succumb to Temptations

I am reading “Love in the Age of Indifference” and “One day” now. It’s been a proud moment these past few weeks, as I resolve to handle only 2 books at a time and have stuck to it. It saves me the pressure of going frantic over the library due date if I were to loan like 8 to 10 at a time.

And then my resolve faced a meltdown when I walked into the Library today. I was planning to do some studying in the library and preparing for my certification exam next Tuesday, only to be seduced by the feature week of “Translated Fiction” and other books. Soon these are the books that I ended up bringing home:

My choice for Man from Beijing is because of Bernadette’s recent post. I was dying to read Ogawa’s work, after her The Housekeeper and the Professor, so much good things said about Sarah Waters work, that I don’t mind getting myself spook with her recent offering. A few pick from the translated fiction, from Algerian / French, Italian authors, and De Assis, a Brazillian read which would settle my search for Latin American section of Global Reading Challenge. (I’m coming to Australiasia soon Bernadette, don’t worry, I’m going there by this year!)

Also my co-worker had kindly loan me this book on the left:

I was looking for an author with a last name Z, so I have decided that Zafion’s book is a good one to complete the A to Z list.

Last Monday, I am infatuated with the list of 10 books recommended by the TV Book Club, Channel 4 UK. I didn’t have great experience with Richard & Judy’s club pick, but this year it might be different, or it might just be the hype of it that made me think differently, but we shall see. There were so many good books. I like to read about Cutting for Stone set in Ethopia, Black Land a chilling crime thriller with no detective involved but a 8 year old boy, and many more salivating books settings of the 10 books selected.

Also recently Vulpe Lipris’ Anne Brooke recommended Linwood Barclay’s Too Close to Home, and I’m sold on this. I have read his first book No Time for Goodbye and like it very much and thought maybe I should sign up for some Crime Fiction thriller reading challenge or something, I seems to accumulate some crime fiction read in my pile. So can anyone kindly point me to one good reading challenge that I can handle? I’ll probably read Peter Temple for Global Reading Challenge too.

Oh no, I am piling long list of books on my immediate To-be-read pile again, this is more than I can handle now…. Sigh, when will I ever learnt?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Succumb to Temptations

  1. I love your list! You have some very interesting selections. I love that I find things on your blog I don’t see anywhere else!

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | February 28, 2010, 3:32 am
  2. I’ve heard good things about Sarah Waters’ The Little Stranger, I look forward to your review.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | March 1, 2010, 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

