//
you're reading...
Book Business

The Aussie Authors Challenge

Thanks to Bernadette, she had piqued my interest on Aussie Authors and found many interesting Australian authors’ that I would like to read.

The challenge requirement is such:

Challenge starts 1 January 2010 and ends 31 December 2010
 
2 challenge levels – TOURIST and FAIR DINKUM!

TOURIST – Read and review 3 books by 3 different Australian authors
FAIR DINKUM – Read and review 8 books by Australian authors (a minimum of 5 different Australian authors)

I’m going as a tourist for now and then upgrade myself to Fair Dinkum when I feel up to it. I have David Malouf and Peter Temple, Kate Grenville in my mind. So lets see how it goes.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Aussie Authors Challenge

  1. I keep meaning to get back in contact with you about aussie authors (re converstation started from the global challenge), but I’ve been distracted and keep forgetting. I really can reccomend Randolph Stow’s Merry Go Round in the Sea – it is a story about a boy growing up around WWII in Western Australia. It is probably my favourite adult fiction book by an Australian. Others are books by Patrick White, Colleen McCollough, Tim Winton (particularly Cloud Street), Peter Carey (I love his novel Jack Maggs, which is a reinterpretation of Great Expectations), Bryce Courtenay. I also like Thea Astley, Nick Earls, Ruth Park, Steele Rudd, Colin Theile, etc. I do tend to read more Australian Young Adult Fiction and Fantasy/SF/Horror, but I think you said you weren’t interested in those in a previous post, so I didn’t include those authors. My personal favourites of the authors I listed are Randolph Stow, Peter Carey, Nick Earls, Steel Rudd (who wrote about the area I grew up in), Ruth Park, Colleen McCollough and Bryce Courtney.

    Good luck with the challenge. I do like David Malouf 🙂

    Posted by obsidiantears83 | March 3, 2010, 6:23 am
  2. Hi Jacq. Many thanks for including more suggestions on Aussie Authors. I’ll check them up and maybe step up the ladder of the challenge when I feel comfortable of doing it. I think the Fair Din kum is not so hard to achieve.

    I am a bit ignorant on Aussie expression, can anyone tell me what a “Din kum” is?

    Posted by JoV | March 3, 2010, 8:38 am
  3. How exciting that you are joining the Aussie author challenge. I agree with lots of the recommendations made by your other commenter – though as I have mentioned previously Peter Carey’s is a name that dare not be spoken in my presence lest I start another rant about how much better off the world would be if he’d become a plumber. I know I am in the minority who think that but I can live with it :). Colleen McCullough is great though – and she writes in such different genres – literary, historical, sagas, sci-fi – I love people who don’t let themselves get stereotyped.

    As for the word dinkum – it isn’t generally used on it’s own and is usually used in the phrase ‘fair dinkum’ and means genuine or ‘the real thing’ – if you say someone or something is fair dinkum you are saying they are honest or they are ‘the genuine article’.

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | March 4, 2010, 4:48 am
    • All thanks to you Bernadette, you got me interested in Aussie Authors. That’s a nice expression. I will try to be a ‘fair dinkum’ in Aussie Authors soon!

      Posted by JoV | March 4, 2010, 8:09 am
  4. obsidiantears has named some stellar Aussie writers, and I totally agree that we have some awesome YA writers especially – John Marsden’s Tomorrow When The War Began series stands out in particular.

    I hope you enjoy David Malouf, I would also recommend Christos Tkiolkas (The Slap) and Cate Kennedy. If you get to the next level.

    Posted by Elena | March 4, 2010, 5:21 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

