//
you're reading...
Reflection

Library Loot: April 7-13, 2010

Having just experienced a dearth of library opening hours during Easter holidays, I was back on the library after work to pick up my library book reservation at the first chance that I’ve got!

I picked up 3 of my library book reservation and got another 2 into my bag, piling them on top of the 12 I have already borrowed!

Thanks to Aussie Authors recommendations from Bernadette and Osidian Tears, Jacq, Aussie authors book titles have been swimming around in my head for months, so I thought I better get going and head down south to Australia in pursuit of the Global Reading Challenge, and I’ve picked up:

Broken Shore by Peter Temple – Temple had won so many awards and being the first Australian who won the Gold Digger Award, I sure want to give this a go.

Kichen, Banana Yoshimoto – After reading Hardboiled Hard Luck, I just wanted to have another swipe at her more renown Kitchen, which happened to stay on the Japan bestseller list for one year when it was first published.

Siddhartha, Herman Hesse – After Islamist, I decided to get a bite-sized treat on another religious text, not heavy stuff though, so I thought Siddhartha would be a good one to digest. (I am having so much trouble spelling Sid..double d? h..a.r..where does the second h comes in? I know it’s terrrible, I had to look at the original text to make sure I’ve got it right). This one is for the World Religion Challenge.

Both Siddhartha and Kitchen had to be pulled out from the library’s reserve stock, ( it must be that nobody in Reading seems to be interested in them for years!). Siddhartha is just one story out of the 10 stories and essays of Hesse, including Steppenwolf. Lets see how many more of Hesse I could devour after Siddhartha.

Making another detour around the library, I picked up another 2 into my bag. I have been wanting to read David Malouf’s Imaginary Life, but since “Every Move You Make” was sitting on the shelf calling out for me, and it’s short stories collection, I thought I just have to read it. The other one which is also available on the shelf is “Ransom”.

Oh and oh.. Michael Ondaatje. Shame on me, I haven’t read The English Patient yet. But Anil’s Ghost speaks about Sri Lanka, civil war, international human rights, mystery and hidden past, and got nothing to do with ghosts, I just have to read this!!!

I think it’s a pretty good loot, don’t you think?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Library Loot: April 7-13, 2010

  1. When I read Yoshimoto’s Goodbye Tsugumi a few months ago, several of the comments highly recommended Kitchen as a follow-up. I hope you enjoy it!

    Posted by Christy | April 8, 2010, 2:12 am
  2. Your loot looks interesting. I will wait for your review on ‘Kitchen’. I found Anil’s ghost quite disappointing. Hope you like it.

    About Siddhartha – the spelling is perfect when you see how we Asians pronounce it. We have a larger set of alphabets. Just like how there is a difference in ‘sore’ and ‘shore’, there is a difference between ‘d’ and ‘dh’ & ‘t’ and ‘th’. I can’t explain it in words!

    Posted by Anamika | April 8, 2010, 3:11 am
    • I must call you so that you can teach me over the phone! I think I understand what you are saying, the Chinese seems to have the same difference as you mentioned in pronouncing their words, like Zi or Zhi, ci or chi… so you got to know when the ‘h’ comes in.

      I’m tempted to spell it Sidhartha or Siddhata… I’m glad I got that right now. One friend of mine told me the same thing about “Divisadero”, he thinks is unreadable… I’ll give “Anil’s Ghost” a try and see how it goes!

      Everybody seems to know ‘Kitchen’ except me. I’m probably the last person in the universe to read it. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | April 8, 2010, 7:38 am
  3. I tried to read Siddhartha when I was 15, but it kind of went over my head. I should try again; it’s easy to find copies of it!

    Posted by bybee | April 8, 2010, 3:31 am
  4. Great haul indeed. I hope you enjoy the Temple. He recently caused a bit of a ruckus over here because he said he writes books to make money and the interviewer had a real problem – like people should only write because they love it and the money shouldn’t matter. When of course if they can’t make money they can’t eat but that point seemed to escape the interviewer.

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | April 8, 2010, 4:02 am
    • I don’t know why people have a problem with writers saying out loud that they write for money. Kudos for Temple to say it as it is.
      I agree we should do Art for Art sake, but Art has to be funded to create more Art! duh!

      Posted by JoV | April 8, 2010, 7:09 am
  5. What a great loot you have there ! I have yet to read all these authors, and I can’t wait for you to review Kitchen and Every Move You Make. Do have fun digging into your reading pile, I predict many happy hours ahead 🙂

    Posted by Joanna | April 8, 2010, 4:53 am
    • Thanks Joanna. Are you going somewhere overseas soon to pursue your studies? Not much of a loot from library at home I guess, but I hope you have fun looting off friends who reads widely!

      Posted by JoV | April 8, 2010, 7:32 am
  6. Squee for Kitchen! I love Yoshimoto. 🙂 Siddhartha has always intimidated me a bit…but maybe I’ll try Hesse this year. I enjoyed a different Malouf novel a couple of years ago. So have fun!

    Posted by Eva | April 8, 2010, 5:30 pm
  7. Wow, that´s really strange that no one has read them in so long. I loved Kitchen and everything else I´ve read by Yoshimoto. I also enjoyed Siddhartha but I liked his Glass Bead Game even more. Happy reading! 🙂

    Posted by Bina | April 9, 2010, 11:50 am
    • I know.. isn’t it amazing? The whole world is reading Yoshimoto, and my local library is stuffing “Kitchen” up in the attic!! This is the first time I felt like my libraries are not well stocked! 🙂 I hope Hesse is not too daunting. I seem to get mixed reviews.

      I haven’t read many German writers, last one is Schlink’s “The Reader”… would you recommend a few? Thanks 🙂

      Posted by JoV | April 9, 2010, 8:57 pm
      • Hehe, I´m probably not the person to ask for German lit recommendations, I´m very critical about it 😉 But some I actually liked: The Sandman (E.T.A. Hoffmann, anything! by Friedrich Dürrenmatt (he´s Swiss though), Inkheart (Cornelia Funke, Hans Fallda.
        I like Hesse´s style, I read it in German though. I didn´t find him daunting but you won´t know until you try 🙂

        Posted by Bina | April 10, 2010, 9:39 pm
  8. Yes, that is a great loot! I read Anil’s Ghost many years ago, and remember enjoying it. I really want to read Malouf’s An Imaginary Life too and I do need to get around to reading something from Temple – look forward to your review.

    Posted by Booklover Book Reviews | April 11, 2010, 3:22 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

