//
you're reading...
Reflection

Blog Stats of the blogging community

Analysing stats is my day job at work. So any form of stats interest me, especially one which is about the blog community.

For those who participated in the survey, you probably knew about this already. But for those who don’t, the findings are worth mentioning.

Results Part 1

I always suspect that there are more women book bloggers than men, but I have no idea that there is such an imbalance. It was a great reassurance that many of us falls between 30 to 39, perhaps it was the steep learning curve for senior citizen to take up blogging, else I would have like to hear more from bloggers of older generation.

Again it also confirms my initial suspicion that a lot of book bloggers out there have literary background and maintain a job that has to do with writing or related to literature. The more I read more book blogs the more I felt a little inadequate as there are so many bloggers out there who could write a fantastic professional book review than I do. On hindsight, I shouldn’t let this bother me, after all I should fall back on my original intent, it was all in good fun. The more I’m in it, the more I benefit from it.

Can’t wait for part 2.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Blog Stats of the blogging community

  1. It’s hardly surprising that people who have some kind of work connection to reviewing or the literature world would be found among book bloggers but I don’t feel us ‘amateurs’ are diminished in any way. I just look for honest opinions in the reviews that I read and that’s what you give so you should not feel inadequate at all and just keep having fun.

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | May 2, 2010, 10:34 am
  2. Interesting stats. I guess I do fall into the category of female and literary major. But the latter doesn´t make my reviews anything like professional. It´s just fun for me as well. Great that some can write excellent reviews, but I refuse to be pressured by that. I want my blogging to be relaxing, unlike uni work 🙂

    And don´t let it bother you, your reviews are great!

    Posted by Bina | May 2, 2010, 1:02 pm
  3. I am quite daunted when I read a few reviews myself; it helps to know that the authors of them are ‘professional’ or have a job relating to that field. However, it’s just as refreshing to read a perspective from one who truly enjoys what one has read and just lays it out there. Stats, schmats (is that a word?) I just care what comes from the heart.

    Posted by Bellezza | May 2, 2010, 4:53 pm
  4. um, not that I’m dissing your job, of course. 😉

    Posted by Bellezza | May 2, 2010, 4:53 pm
    • @Bellezza,
      Oh don’t worry, I diss my own job all the time.. Wish I could do something better!! ARGH!!! 😉

      @Bina / Bernadette,
      Thanks for the reassurance.. made me feel better being an amateur. 😉

      Posted by JoV | May 2, 2010, 8:39 pm
  5. I actually thought the percentage of male bloggers would be even lower hehe. I was surprised to find that 80% took literature at college/University level. It made me feel inadequate too 😦

    Posted by mee | May 2, 2010, 11:18 pm
    • @Mee,
      Oh no you misunderstood, it’s 40’ish % who took literature at college, the other 40% are just people with a college / uni degree. Don’t feel inadequate. You are doing a great job. 😉

      Posted by JoV | May 2, 2010, 11:38 pm
  6. I would actually say that it is the book bloggers in the industry who are more active at networking their blogs than anything else. A lot of us are bibliophiles who write our blogs for ourselves and our immediate network. We normally have under 100 followers, and while we may have a twitter account or other social networking accounts, they tend to be personal, rather that specifically for the blog. The “professional” bloggers do tend to, in my travels, appear to be those who have a stake in getting their “brand” out in the public eye. They may be authors, publishers, bookstore owners, journalists and wannabe writers. They tend to be the ones who are out there actively networking and getting their brand visible.

    Having a university education can be over-rated. I find that I over-analyse books now when I read them. That is fine when I am reading “literature” but when it is just trashy paperbacks it is digging too deep into motifs, themes, and the motivations of the author.

    20-Something, University Educated, Female, Not in the Industry 🙂
    ^I studied some Lit, but I wasn’t a major LOL

    Posted by obsidiantears83 | May 3, 2010, 12:58 am
    • I think some non-professional book bloggers are doing a great job marketing their blogs too! Thanks for sharing your view Jacq, glad to know I’m not the only one who feels that way.

      Posted by JoV | May 3, 2010, 8:39 am
      • Oh, that was a very broad generalisation of course! I probably should have stated that instead of inferring it. I’m just tallying affliations in my head about the blogs I follow (I am up to about 1000 in my rss reader LOL addiction much?) and a lot of those who are big into branding are those who are afflitiated with the industry in some way. Of course there are also some who are just Joe Blogs (Or Jo Blogs LOL) and successful in getting their brand out there 🙂

        Posted by obsidiantears83 | May 3, 2010, 10:53 pm
        • @Jacq,
          WOW you followed 1000 blogs? including my Jo Blogs? LOL. Then I should hear it from you! 😉

          Posted by JoV | May 4, 2010, 6:30 am
          • I _may_ have mentioned before I have a blogging obsession… ;-p Its easier when it is wordpress, because I can get an email with new blogs. All the others I have to hope I don’t miss the interesting/relelent posts in my rss reader 😀 Blogs are an addiction *sigh* At least I cut my own blogs down to just 4 (if tumblr doesn’t count) LOL I really can’t help it. Everyone has different ideas, different sources, read different books, follows different news resources and follows different trends. I do have to say, my rss reader looks like it has multiple personality disorder! I gave up trying to organise it years ago *giggles*

            Posted by obsidiantears83 | May 4, 2010, 7:17 am
          • LOL. 🙂 I organise my RSS and google reader 2 ways: “Anything” and “All about books”.

            I have an obsession to blogging too! I just have to get out of it sometimes and think about what I am going to do with my real life once in awhile. 😉

            Posted by JoV | May 4, 2010, 10:09 am
          • Haha I started organising by subject (book, music, subculture, nerdiness) but I gave up about half way through.. Now it is just luck of the draw!I am impressed you were able to 🙂

            I dont have time for much of a social life outside of work, and my friends are all studing and working full time. It means reading and blogging keeps my occupied… thankgod for my bookclub! I get to hang out with like minded people and talk about all the books I like, and it means I am making new friends – ones who are also working full time and can go out after work and on weekends.. when we arent all reading *sniggers*

            Posted by obsidiantears83 | May 4, 2010, 12:32 pm
          • @Jacq, you make me feel old… I used to be one of those who goes out every weekday and have to juggle with 6 different social circles at one point. I wish I was part of the top few bars in the stats for age!
            Anyway, Hope you have a good time, hanging out here. 🙂

            Posted by JoV | May 4, 2010, 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

