//
you're reading...
Reflection

Musing Monday (May 3)

((Musing Mondays are hosted by Rebecca!))

This week, Rebecca asks:

Do you frequent second hand book stores? Have you ever bought a book home only to find anything interesting within their pages?

Always (to the first question)!!! I only buy second hand books, because for one it’s a steal, second my way of doing my bit for “recycling”, third donate to charity shops. With so much benefits, I am always on a prowl at the charity shops on my street. I have about 4 charity shops on my street and many more in the city centre. So many to choose from. 😉

It’s rare that I find anything between pages. Through my experience it is usually air ticket or train ticket stub. One good find is a clip-on stainless steel bookmark with the letter C, which has got nothing to do with my name or initials. These are all the usual stuff I came upon, although not as weird as a clump of hair I found between the library books of “Girls meet boys by Ali Smith” in the library. I was about to write about that 2 weeks ago, but since you asked, I’ll tell you now.

Yes, it’s a clump of hair. From which part of the body, you’d ask? Well, I’m not sure, but it certainly doesn’t look like it’s from the head. (Ewwwww…)

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Musing Monday (May 3)

  1. Ewww! Thas kind of creepy, too, yuck!

    I envy you your charity shops with only books in English, I´m always digging through the piles here, sometimes there´s a good one in English, but not so often.

    I haven´t read any Ali Smith so far, should really change that!

    Posted by Bina | May 4, 2010, 8:50 pm
  2. I love second hand bookstores, I love the fact that someone read the books before me, probably re-read the lines that intrigued me just like I did. The best part of getting ‘pre-loved’ books is the random inscriptions you find in the book, and I find myself wondering about the previous owner and what made them (the book and owner) part..I hope I can find charity shops near me in UK, seems so exciting ! The 2nd hand bookstores here have pretty dismal selections, but at times you come across true gems..

    P.s : The lock of hair is creepy !! Yucks… !! I actually got goosebumps reading about it…

    Posted by Joanna | May 5, 2010, 5:46 pm
    • I feel the same way too about reading other people’s scribbling especially on library books, I find it intriguing to read other people’s private thoughts. I like my books to be on a clean slate, pre-loved or not. 😀

      I can’t believe it either, how that hair got between the book. I wanted to check out the book, but left it there before I came back for it the next week.

      Posted by JoV | May 5, 2010, 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

