//
you're reading...
Reflection

Early bird gets the worm

I usually get out of the house at 6:45am in the morning to catch my train to work.

Today, however I am not sure what’s got into me, I got up early and by 6:35am I was out of the door. The earliest I have clocked for the past 2 years living in city of Reading, or maybe earliest ever for a long long time. 😉

When I walked two blocks down to catch my train, I came across a plastic bag of bric-a-brac and most of the items are books sprawled on the floor with half the the books soaked in the rain.

I quickly cast my eyes over and found a book that I think I would read, Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss. I walked away, stopped and thought to myself , “No, wait I’m going back for more.” So I turned back and picked up the “Wild Swans“. There are other books like Cecilia Ahern’s Thanks for the Memories, Jennifer Weiner’s Body and Piccoult’s My sister’s keepers in the pile. I read Body in 2004, but I would rather die than read Ahern or Piccoult.

So here they are, both books from the bin to my home:

As you can see, some of the pages are soaked. I need to air them to dry. If it didn’t rain last night, the book would have been new. The Inheritance of Loss was actually a Christmas gift to the previous owner, who coincidentally called Kiran. I read Wild Swans in 1998, I would like to re-read it.

Most people discuss book pile from library loot, mailbox Mondays, or loan from friends… here  I am talking about book pile (well they are not exactly in a pile, they are sprawled all over) next to a bin.

But the find made my day.  I feel extremely lucky today.  It is just one of those feelings that you get when you get up really early and you walk away with the feeling of achieving more or like me, gaining two books on the way to work!

I am still wondering what kind of person do you think could throw away their books like that?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “Early bird gets the worm

  1. At the very least if you do not want a book any more and feel you cannot sell it then I would donate to a library or simple release it in a public place where it could be found by some else-There is even a web page devoted to book releases-glad you rescued these orphans-

    Posted by Mel u | June 15, 2010, 11:37 pm
    • @Mel Hmm.. maybe I should have rescued the rest… but I’m sure they will find a better owner. Yeah I would dispose of those books responsibly, like gave them away to friends or public libraries etc.

      @Shelbi, I made up a lot of stories and scenarios in my head, perhaps the owner of the books didn’t know that her books are being disposed of, it might be a work of a jilted lover, or perhaps something horrifying happened to the owner…. (me and my imagination..) I found congratulation card in the bag in a foreign language I couldn’t read…..

      Posted by JoV | June 16, 2010, 8:51 pm
  2. Agreed! Who can just toss out books?? But I totally know that feeling — like when I got those books out of my friend Kathy’s trunk.

    I like Mel’s idea: It would be fun to drop books off around an area and include a little note asking the person who finally takes it to write where they eventually found it and why they decided to take it. That would be a great blog!!

    Posted by aroundtheworldin80books | June 16, 2010, 5:04 am
  3. oh wow. Those are great finds! I could never bring myself to throw a book into the rubbish pile, so it’s a great thing that you saved those books ! 🙂 The inheritance of loss is a really absorbing book and Wild Swans was really touching. Enjoy your ‘rescues’ Jo !

    Posted by Joanna | June 16, 2010, 7:42 am
    • @Joanna, I will. Those orphans are my babies now. 🙂

      @Jackie, Thanks! There are so many charity organisations who would take those baby clothes in. The responsible thing to do is wait till the charity organisation is open, else throwing them in front of the shops is also an offence, as the City Council will classify them as dumped items.

      Posted by JoV | June 16, 2010, 8:55 pm
  4. I’m always amazed at what people throw away. I once caught a friend throwing away bags of baby clothes. I rescued them and discovered most were in nearly new condition. Unfortunately they were girl clothes and I gave birth to a boy a few months later 😦 I passed all the clothes onto someone else though – it saved them a fortune!

    Congratulations on your rescues!

    Posted by farmlanebooks | June 16, 2010, 11:40 am
  5. Wow, what great luck for you! 🙂 I do wonder at the previous owner though, what a strange thing to do, especially if one book was a gift or something. Hope you enjoy your finds!

    You have be out before seven?? That would about kill me, I´m so not a morning person 🙂 Uni works out well for me, most classes are in early afternoon and I like to stay up till 2-3 am to get the work done, rather than get up early.

    Posted by Bina | June 16, 2010, 9:05 pm
    • @Bina, Well, I’m like you, a night owl. But I had to get to work early by 8am and clock off at 5:30pm, so that I do 4 full days and get Friday off!! Yay! Summer is not too bad, but to get out of bed at this hour in winter is just …. just make me feel suicidal… 😦

      Posted by JoV | June 16, 2010, 9:11 pm
  6. I think there’s something disappointing in a culture that prefers tossing to donating… especially things that can be reused with little feel for the previous owners, like books…

    Posted by Biblibio | June 18, 2010, 8:26 am
    • Hi Biblibio, thanks for dropping by. Yeah I agree with you. I was brought up to view books as sacrosanct, I used to get very hung up about my books getting dog-eared. Although I have grew up of this obsession, treat books any less I will be seething with anger. 😉

      Posted by JoV | June 18, 2010, 9:09 pm
  7. People who throw out books instead of finding them better homes/donating them astound me.
    All the better for you though! I read Wild Swans over a decade ago too and would love to reread it one day; I also have an unread copy of The Inheritance of Loss around somewhere.

    Posted by Claire (Paperback Reader) | June 18, 2010, 11:29 am
  8. Nice to know that you got these lovely books! But it is really sad that someone put them on the bin. I can’t imagine what kind of person would do that. I remember once getting a book from a used bookstore, which looked like it was unread. Inside the book was a card which had a letter by a couple to the person to whom they had gifted the book. I felt very sad, when I saw that, but I treasure the book now.

    Posted by Vishy | June 24, 2010, 11:47 am
  9. Enjoy the Inheritance of Loss – I loved that book! Congrats on you early morning finds!

    Posted by Colleen (Books in the City) | June 26, 2010, 1:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

