//
you're reading...
Book Business

Japanese Literature Challenge 4 and Library Loot 16-22 June

Lovely Bellezza is hosting Japanese Literature Reading Challenge 4. I have been waiting for this about 7 months. Now that it is here, I spent a long time pondering on what I should read. 

Button is beautiful. One book to qualify for the challenge. Can’t resist. 

I plan to take this opportunity to read some of Murakami and hopefully Yoshimoto’s backlists; and pick up a new to me Japanese author. 

With that thought, I brought home these from the library last weekend. 

Murakami: 

  • Norwegian Wood – Heralded to be one of his best, I own the book and has been sitting on my pile since last year.
  • Sputnik Sweetheart – would be nice to read one Murakami’s tale of romance after another. 
  • After Dark No particular reason, it’s just slim, that’s all.

Others:

  • After the Banquet New to me author Yukio Mishima.
  • Hotel Iris – Saw it sitting there on the shelf, beckoning. I know how eerie Ogawa’s stories can be, the last one The Diving Pool still gives me the creeps, lets see how this goes.
  • A Clockwork Orange – nothing to do with J-Lit, but it’s a loot!

Can’t wait to clear my other books and get on with these! 

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Japanese Literature Challenge 4 and Library Loot 16-22 June

  1. Hmmm, I’m drooling over your Murakami’s; the only one I’ve read in your stack is After Dark. I want to read Hotel Iris, too, I hope I’m lucky enough to find it in our library. However, I suspect I’ll need to purchase it. 😉

    I’m so glad that you’re in the JLC4, it’s wonderful to see familiar (and dear!) faces return.

    Posted by Bellezza | June 23, 2010, 10:20 pm
  2. Lovely list! It looks like Japanese Literature Challenge is ‘Murakami Challenge’ for you 🙂

    I read ‘A Clockwork Orange’ a few years back, and after I got used to the experimental language that Burgess has used, I liked the book.

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on all these books!

    Posted by Vishy | June 24, 2010, 11:43 am
  3. This sounds like a wonderful challenge! And the button is really beautiful 🙂 Hope you enjoy all your books!

    I think I´ll finally get some Ogawa from the library, everyone´s been raving about her books.

    Posted by Bina | June 24, 2010, 7:24 pm
  4. @Bina, start with The Housekeeper and The Professor, and then work your way through her darker stories of her other books! 😉

    Posted by JoV | June 26, 2010, 8:25 pm
  5. Nice stack of books. Hotel Iris is pretty dark but well done, I thought. I haven’t read The Diving Pool yet but have it sitting on the shelf. I’m looking forward to finally reading my first Mishima (The Temple of the Golden Pavilion) later this year. Have fun with your Murakamis!

    Posted by tanabata | June 28, 2010, 5:47 pm
    • Thanks for stopping by Tanabata. I first saw Hotel Iris from your post and wanted to read it badly…Thanks for introducing me to so many Japanese books! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | June 28, 2010, 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

