//
you're reading...
Book Business

China Challenge : Wrap-up post

China Challenge

I took the Fast Train to Shanghai:

The challenge is opened from 1 Sept 2009 – 1 Sept 2010, read 5 books about China

  • 1 should be a translated work of fiction by a Chinese author (or not translated if you have the language skills.) Exceptions made for Chinese authors that also write in English– their English works are fine.
  • 1 should be nonfiction

So here’s what I read:

  1. The Girl Who Played Go by Shan Sa
  2. Love in the Age of Indifference by Xiaolu Guo
  3. A Thousand Good Years of Prayers, YiYun Li
  4. Miss Chopstick, Xinran
  5. Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother, Xinran (Non-fiction)

It is interesting to note although there is 64 participants, I am the only one who posted a review in May. Yoohoo is anybody there?

Out of these, my favourite is A Thousand Good Years of Prayers, YiYun Li, next The Girl Who Played Go by Shan Sa.

A Thousand Good Years of Prayers is a collection of short stories and gave me an 8-course meal of the Chinese society and culture. YiYun Li writes in simple and lucid prose, and end each story with lingering regrets.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “China Challenge : Wrap-up post

  1. 64 participants! I didn’t know! I actually didn’t see that the host posted monthly linkys until I put up my wrap-up post. Oops. Anyway, great work for you. You actually read a non-fiction! (I didn’t) There are a couple of books there that I’d like to read at some point definitely.

    ps: The comment of your When you are not connected.. post is closed? I just recently bought a macbook and it’s been the best thing ever. My former laptop is Asus with Windows Vista and it was incredibly ridiculously slow. I’ll never go back. (I use Linux at work, so I might just be able to avoid Windows for most of the time now)

    Posted by mee | July 16, 2010, 4:10 am
    • @Mee, You are right Mee, it’s 64 participants!! Doesn’t seem like it right? It’s soooooooo.. quiet over there. Don’t know how I would have closed the comment, thanks for letting me know, it’s open now. This is the result when you blog when you are half asleep! 😦

      Everybody kept saying that Mac is really good. I’m just too chicken to try it! Good for you not to have to rely on Windows. The day I took up the courage and swap over to Mac, I’ll celebrate and paint the street red. 😀

      Posted by JoV | July 16, 2010, 8:29 pm
  2. Wow, very cool challenge. my favorite Chinese writer is Xiaolu Guo. Oh and I loved The Girl Who Played Go as well 🙂

    Posted by Bina | July 16, 2010, 11:03 am
    • @Bina, My favourite author is Guo too, except I didn’t like her latest book. You surprised me, is there anything you don’t read? 😉

      Posted by JoV | July 16, 2010, 8:26 pm
      • Hahaha, loads, I´d imagine. Well, romance comes to mind, and paranormal fantasy, that´s stuff I usually avoid 🙂 And you should talk, you´re reading so diversely! 🙂

        Ooh, too bad about Lovers in the Age of Indifference (that is her latest, right?). I´ve yet to read it, but sounds like I should get it from the library rather than buy it.

        Posted by Bina | July 19, 2010, 10:27 am
        • @Bina, by all means, get Guo’s books from the Library. I think the latest attempt is her weakest, but I may be wrong. I thought I saw it featured in your side bar? Did you not read it yet? 😉

          Posted by JoV | July 19, 2010, 5:00 pm
          • Not yet, it´s on my waiting list 🙂 I´ll just try not to compare it to her others, maybe that´ll work.

            Posted by Bina | July 20, 2010, 8:23 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

