//
you're reading...
Reflection

Classic Reading Challenge : Wrap-up post

Classics Reading Challenge

The Challenge began in April 1, 2010 and ends October 31, 2010.  Last year I read numerous classic works and find it to be an indispensable genre in my reading habit.  I committed to read the Classics Feast level of six books with Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society thrown in as bonus.
  1. Of Mice and Men, John Steinbeck
  2. Rebecca, Daphne Du Maurier
  3. The Outsider by Albert Camus (other title : Le E’stranger, The Stranger)
  4. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by Scott Fitzgerald
  5. The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera
  6. Siddhartha, Hermann Hesse

Bonus: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Marry Ann Shaffer & Anne Barrows

Somewhere along the line I have confused Guernsey as a selected classic in Classics Reading Challenge blog, (supposed to be future classics), so have included Disgrace, J.M. Coetzee as replacement.

Thank you Trish for hosting the competition.

Other classics read this year before the challenge began in April 2010:

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
The Heart of the Matter By Graham Greene
The End of the Affair By Graham Greene
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Oranges are not the only fruits, Jeanette Winterson

I have completed the Classic Reading Challenge on the 25th July 2010, hoping to put in a few more before I wrote my wrap-up post, unfortunately this was not meant to be, Great Expectations, Mrs Dalloway, The Power and Glory by Graham Greene, will have to wait. Classic literature is a permanent fixture in my reading life. There are so much good classic books around and so much to gain by reading them. I love classics!!

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Classic Reading Challenge : Wrap-up post

  1. well done ,great selection of classics ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | October 29, 2010, 10:09 am
  2. Jo, you’re so good with challenges! 🙂 I need to read more classics, but that really depends on the mood I’m in 🙂

    Posted by Bina | October 30, 2010, 3:08 pm
  3. nice selection-of them I have read Mice and Men, Rebecca-read recently and Siddhartha-read long ago-in your other classics read I have read of the ones you listed The Great Gatsby, Catcher in the Rye, and Oranges are not The Only fruit-on which I have posted-

    Posted by Mel u | October 31, 2010, 8:05 am
  4. I would put Mrs. Dalloway at the top of those remaining classics. Definitely a favorite, as I’ve read it twice.

    Great Expectations is okay, but I’m not a big fan of Dickens as a rule.

    Posted by Rob McMonigal | October 31, 2010, 4:44 pm
  5. This is hardcore. I think I have only read Of Mice and Men and Unbearable Lightness of Being. Bravo to you!

    Posted by Wilfrid | November 1, 2010, 7:27 am
    • Thanks Wilfrid. I don’t think it’s hardcore. I find classics to be a joy to read!

      Posted by JoV | November 1, 2010, 4:57 pm
      • I don’t know JoV … some are OK to read. Some are really hard due to the old English style. I often find myself reaching out to the dictionary for far too many times … hehehe. I am a type of person who does not like to guess what a word means. I need to know the exact meaning … And for some of these classic books, stop-and-go kind of disrupts the flow of reading. My issue really.

        Posted by Wilfrid | November 2, 2010, 2:17 pm
        • I understand what you mean Wilfrid. I used to have to look up dictionary for such books but overtime not sure if my vocabulary has improved or I have chosen to ignore it, there aren’t many words I have to look up anymore. You should try reading Aussie Lit. I read Broken Shore by Peter Temple and I couldn’t understand most of the local colloquial English words. There were so many of them, it impedes my flow and I soon gave it up. 😦

          Posted by JoV | November 3, 2010, 10:53 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

