//
you're reading...
Book Business

Winter clothes for your books

It’s that time of the year again. When your body does not recognise the need to get up in the dark at 7am and when you feel the need to go home at 3pm because the sky has turned dark prematurely. It is the time of year where you could lose your footing and slip with your trainers on the road and reluctantly swap your light trainers for a pair of heavy boots. It is also that time of the year when you put on layers of clothes before you go out of the door and then to peel them off as soon as you get on a well heated train. It is that darn time of the year when the ink in your ball pens freezes up and all your pens do not write as smoothly as you want them to be! (Arghhhh!!! :()

Winter is here. I could feel it in my bones. 

But is it the time of the year when your books need warm clothing too? Perhaps a sock? 

Before I go any further, I need to clarify that this is NOT a promotional post for book sox. 😉 

Earlier this month, my good friend from Canada sent me a book titled “Snow” by Orhan Pamuk, a grandpa cardigan, a heartwarming card and a book sox.

Snow by Orhan Pamuk

What is a book sox? A book sox is a stretchable fabric book cover, that may come in your favourite colours and designs.

I am a great fan of transparent plastic dust jacket, and thought those that came with my library books stop readers (including readers such as myself) from smearing the book covers with chocolates or grease from potato crisps, and protect the book from being dog eared unintentionally. 

A book sox however is a novelty idea for me and I thought they are probably best used for:

  • Instances when you are reading a book with “offensive” or “dodgy” covers and you are self-conscious about letting other people see it.
  • Instances when you want to read a novel at work.
  • Instances when you need a colourful jacket to brighten up your dull book cover.
My blue book sox

I will probably use box sox for the following books that sit on my shelf, to avoid giving wrong ideas to people who have no clue of what these books are on about except that they contain violence and graphic sexual scenes. 😉

p/s: I don’t want to be caught dead with a chick-lit on the train!

What about you? Would you use a book sox? And if you do, what book titles you think would need a book sox?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Winter clothes for your books

  1. I loved those when I was in high school — it was brilliant being able to use them to cover my textbooks, rather than those crappy paper covers they used to hand out the first week of school. I think I gave them all to my little sister when I graduated…

    Posted by Jenny | November 28, 2010, 2:06 am
    • Jenny, that’s another interesting use of book socks, to cover crappy covers! When I got this at first, I cracked my head to think of good occasion to use this! Now I may have found many! 😉

      Posted by JoV | November 28, 2010, 9:47 pm
  2. I remember being required to have bookcovers for our textbooks in high school; we just cut brown paper bags to size, and then we could draw all over them in class. But, I like how these are stretchy to easily fit over many sizes of novels.

    Love Out, love Snow! What a great gift, and perfect for Winter!

    Posted by Bellezza | November 28, 2010, 2:44 am
    • Awww Bellezza, I used to do the same too for my brown unattractive notebooks! I remember some of my friends do very creative things for their file covers though, which I tried it too, they glued all their used bus tickets and cover every inch of the files and wrap it up with transparent covers. I however, paint draw some of my covers but put in a poster of the painting of “Napoleon crossing the Alps” which I saw from Time magazines (See: http://library.gmu.edu/resources/french/Francais%20History.html) which I absolutely love it!

      Hey now that you mentioned thanks Bellezza, Snow for winter reads! 😉

      Posted by JoV | November 28, 2010, 9:52 pm
  3. Very cute. I have another reason to use them: when your husband thinks books are acceptable as coasters!!!

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | November 28, 2010, 11:47 am
  4. We used those in high school! (Although, like Bellezza I also used brown paper bags.) I wouldn’t use them now, just because they’re so strongly associated with textbooks and homework for me. But you’ve got a great friend there: what a care package!

    Posted by Eva | November 28, 2010, 7:51 pm
  5. I tend to be pretty picky about what covers I allow into my hands to avoid the need for such a cover. Plus, it would ruin the fun for those trying to find out what I’m reading on the bus/train.

    “Snow” is a great book. Just saying. And the Nobel Prize Winner award circle on the cover means you’ll never have to feel embarrassed with it on the train and cover it!

    Posted by Biblibio | November 28, 2010, 8:32 pm
    • Hi Biblibio, I can put you on my list of people who judge the books by its cover! Not necessary a bad thing. I’m like that too. 😉
      oh I’ll definitely not use book sox for Snow! Since Snow came with my gift, thought I’ll demo with it! 😉

      Posted by JoV | November 28, 2010, 9:57 pm
  6. Oh this is perfect for me! Am I the only one to think that it’s actually good to protect the book? I usually read when commuting and putting book in bag could make it “beaten-up” pretty quickly (I don’t like that). Sometimes I cut some random paper and cover my book with it just to protect it, but the paper is just plain white, I can’t enjoy the cover, and miss the fun of showing people what I read lol. (Plastic cover is either permanent or not reusable for different book sizes, both not preferable. I used to wrap my books in plastic cover though.) I had been wondering if somebody sells an attractive stretchable book cover (so it fits many book sizes) and here we are! I didn’t know it’s called book sox. I’m going to look for it!

    Posted by mee | November 29, 2010, 2:12 am
    • Mee, oh GOOD! It feels good such blog post helps to give you a light bulb moment about your most “Teething” problems! 😉

      When I was younger, I used to get very worked-up about “Beaten-up” books. But now that I read used books, this is no longer an issue. Paperbacks are meant to be “beaten-up”, for collection purposes, occasionally I buy hardbacks. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | November 29, 2010, 9:42 am
      • I have never thought about using these to hide a book cover, but I guess I don’t normally care if people see me reading most books. In fact I’m not sure there are any books I’d want to hide. I have heard that people state that is the main benefit of ereaders – they can read what they like without people knowing.

        Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | November 29, 2010, 11:12 am
        • Good for you Jackie. I think some people tend to judge a person by that one book he / she reads and have no idea how eclectic a taste a book lover can have, and would choose to read a variety of books; that is until we actually see the mix in the string of book reviews on blogs!

          Posted by JoV | November 29, 2010, 12:36 pm
  7. Wow, what a nice Mini Shopaholic book cover you have over there! The only one I could find at this part of the world looks like this. http://www.amazon.ca/Mini-Shopaholic-Novel-Sophie-Kinsella/dp/0385342047#_

    I use book sox to protect hardcover too, typically the sleeve of the copy I am reading. I don’t like to separate the sleeve with the book but sometimes they are difficult to hold so the sox will help. 🙂 I think the sox can be a fashion statement too! You can use different color for different mood and if you only use one sox at a time, it helps you to locate your book among the piles too! 😀 Definitely this is not a promo of box sox, just how I am using it. 😀

    Posted by J | November 29, 2010, 2:34 pm
    • J, come over and live next door to me please, you will get beautiful cover from most Brits version. I noticed in Asia, it is the USA covers that are sold over there. I do agree with you on the hardcover flap though, it’s quite irritating if they are not held together by sox or plastic covers. 😉

      Posted by JoV | November 30, 2010, 8:49 pm
  8. The book sox is perfect for the Chuck Palahnuik books I am dying to read. There’s one with a blow-up doll on the cover and I’m not too happy to take that out and read it on the train!

    I’m also a bit of a clean freak, so when I get books out the library I always wipe them down. Having a book sox will hide the label and make it nicer to read too. It’s actually rather a nice idea! We have socks for phones, why not for books?

    Posted by mywordlyobsessions | November 30, 2010, 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

