//
you're reading...
Meme

My Life in Books 2010

I noticed this at GaskellaKirsty at Other Stories and Yvann at Reading fuelled by tea, and have completed this draft in 9th December, now’s the time I thought I’d join in and share my thoughts!

Using only books you have read this year (2010), cleverly answer these questions. Try not to repeat a book title. It’s surprisingly difficult, yet offers a few laughs but not always a true reflection of myself! 😉

Describe Yourself: The Girl Who Played Go (Shan Sa)

How do you feel: Love in the Age of Indifference (Xiaolu Guo)

Describe where you currently live: Hotel Iris (Yoko Ogawa) occasionally Hotel Du Lac (Anita Brookner)

If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Budapest (Chico Barque)

Your favourite form of transportation: The Secret River (Kate Grenville)

Your best friend is: The Man From Beijing (Henning Mankell)

You and your friends are: Miss Chopstick (Xinran)

What’s the weather like: The Silver Lining Playbook (Matthew Quick)

Favourite time of day: Asleep (Banana Yoshimoto)

If your life was a: A Thousand Good Years of Prayers (YiYun Li)

What is life to you: A Wild Sheep Chase (Haruki Murakami)

Your fear: Disgrace (J.M. Coetzee) and fear Of Mice and Men (John Steinbeck).

What is the best advice you have to give: Oranges are not the only fruits. (Jeanette Winterson)

Thought for the Day: The Heart of the Matter (Graham Greene)

How I would like to die: Sky Burial (Xinran)

My soul’s present condition: The Outsider (Albert Camus)

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “My Life in Books 2010

  1. Do you really play Go? I do. I used to be very good, but rarely meet anyone who has even heard of it, yet alone played it.

    Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | December 27, 2010, 11:13 pm
    • Jackie, I learn how to play it when I was younger, I remember all the rules but a bit lack on the strategy. I’m better in the game of Othello, which also make up of black and white chips and you flip and try to overturn the colour of your opponent as many as possible. Very early in the Othello game, I can predict who would win. 😉

      Posted by JoV | December 28, 2010, 10:01 am
  2. …whoops….accidently submitted comment early!…

    I have a copy of the book, but haven’t read it yet. I’ll have to see if I can get to it in 2011.

    Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | December 27, 2010, 11:15 pm
  3. Some funny ones above – I love the Sky Burial reference.

    Thanks for the link!

    Posted by Yvann | December 27, 2010, 11:28 pm
  4. Great list. Love your choices (and reading choices). I loved Sky Burial, but have never got around to reading Oranges are not the only fruit yet.

    I did start learning how to play Go many years ago but had a lack of people to play with and it fizzled out.

    Posted by gaskella | December 28, 2010, 8:47 am
    • Gaskella, thanks for your first comment. I hope you get to read Oranges are not the only Fruit, Winterson is a brilliant writer. Always the case when I grew older, there isn’t time for games anymore, which is a shame. 😉

      Posted by JoV | December 28, 2010, 10:04 am
  5. What a funny little meme, I can see how hard some of them must have been to fit a book title to!!

    Posted by jessicabookworm | December 31, 2010, 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

