//
you're reading...
Reflection

2010 in review (A WordPress Summary)

Today I received a summary of my blogging activities for 2010 in my email inbox. I do stats for a living, and in this case WordPress and I get on very well together. It was a pleasant surprise to receive an annual wrap-up from WordPress. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, I’ll share the content of the summary, and here’s what it is:

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

About 3 million people visit the Taj Mahal every year. This blog was viewed about 45,000 times in 2010. If it were the Taj Mahal, it would take about 5 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 164 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 302 posts. There were 495 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 38mb. That’s about 1 pictures per day.

The busiest day of the year was December 6th with 273 views. The most popular post that day was Midnight’s Children Week 3 Wrap-up, Week 4 begins (3 to 13 December 2010). (and in January 1, 2011, the highest blog hit is 353, woohoo!)

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were Google Reader, WordPress Dashboard, blogger.com, mail.yahoo.com, and maphead.wordpress.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for gregory david roberts, tintin, new moon, tahir shah, and the girl with the dragon tattoo.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Midnight’s Children Week 3 Wrap-up, Week 4 begins (3 to 13 December 2010) December 2010
14 comments

2

The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson March 2009
8 comments

3

Adventures of Tintin : Last 4 May 2009

4

Beware of Your Beloved Wife (or wives) March 2009
2 comments

5

Adventures of Tintin : Earlier works March 2009

Some of your most popular posts were written before 2010. Your writing has staying power! Consider writing about those topics again.

– End of Summary –

The thing is it doesn’t matter who is reading my blog and what are my top posts, unless I run this blog for a profit, which I don’t. I will obviously not write about those topics that has biggest hit again, because I have finished all there is to read on the many Adventures of Tintin. I am obviously not going to write another post (or any blog post that bears controversial or explicit key words) about “Beware of your beloved wife” which seems to draw so much interest since it first published. I am also curious as to why there are so many people doing key word search ofย gregory david roberts of Shantaram in google?

Some blog hits are genuine, some are bogus, what the heck, just for the fun of it!

But… it is still nice to see the Happiness Engineers and Stats helper Monkeys in WordPress (that’s what they call themselves) are busy and working hard to push those stats and analytics to all bloggers and maintain a good sense of humour. I like it and I like flying with wordpress. So Thank you WordPress. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “2010 in review (A WordPress Summary)

  1. I Liked my summary too – except the comments counter thingy was all wrong – I guess it must count the comments made on the day of the post only or something because on mine the posts it mentioned as having most comments were not in fact the posts made this year that have the most comments now. I love stats but hate incorrect ones ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | January 2, 2011, 11:41 pm
    • Bernadette, LOL ๐Ÿ˜€ I agree! Must be picking up from the wrong fields.. that is going to be the quote of my day: “I love stats but hate incorrect ones!” True indeed. It is nothing worse than not being able to feel that you could trust the numbers. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Posted by JoV | January 3, 2011, 1:41 am
  2. Too cool ! Thanks for sharing !!!!

    Posted by maphead | January 2, 2011, 11:59 pm
  3. Pretty good stats there when this is not a commercial site. I am even contemplating the possibility of moving back into WP self-hosted.

    Happy New Year!

    Posted by Ed | January 3, 2011, 4:36 am
  4. Wow! I’m quite jealous of your wordpress stats email – I don’t get one of those ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was interesting to know that your busiest day was 6th Dec. I have no idea which was my busiest day.

    I also love the idea of you writing another post about being beware of your wife – not the sort of visitors you want to encourage to a blog I think!

    Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | January 3, 2011, 9:59 pm
    • Jackie, did you not? I thought you are on WP self-hosted? It would be nice to get some stats, I bet your blog hits are running at 6 figures or more!! My busiest day is now on New Year’s day 2011. Must be the Snoopy pictures that did the trick! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Maybe I’ll write one that reads : “Beware of your husband(s)!” Ha ha ha ๐Ÿ˜€

      Posted by JoV | January 4, 2011, 8:48 am
  5. I love this summary you posted from WordPress! Congratulations on a job well done! They are the masters of stats, in my opinion; you can take what they say to the bank. I, for one, am just glad to call you book friend. Happy New Year! XOXO

    Posted by Bellezza | January 4, 2011, 3:52 am
  6. I love the comparisons they make in the report ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats, Jo, on a wonderful blog, those are great stats!

    Posted by Bina | January 4, 2011, 10:24 pm
    • Thanks Bina! I like the fact that the people at WordPress are all so chirpy and happy. They are doing a serious job and keeping a good sense of humour at the same time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Posted by JoV | January 5, 2011, 1:40 pm
  7. Hey there!

    Not sure how WordPress derive the “Wow”. Our Spanish class website, which has about 5 to 10 hits a day, also got a “Wow”. Hahaha.

    As for my website, since I am not hosting directly under WordPress.com, I got my statistics from Google Analytics instead.

    In any case, keep writing!

    Posted by Wilfrid | January 5, 2011, 12:08 am
    • Wilfrid, what a bummer! I was on the high and you have to go and spoil it all!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (Just kidding of course)… Well if Google Analytics doesn’t give you any wordy feedback for your blog, here’s mine “Wow!” ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | January 5, 2011, 1:34 pm
  8. I loved the fact that you read the Tintin books and wrote a review of it! Interesting to know that ‘Shantaram’ is one of the most searched of your posts. Maybe the book is amazingly good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by Vishy | January 11, 2011, 12:13 pm
    • Vishy, I keep getting hits on Shantaram. It could be deliberate though (because I came across some dodgy companies who pay people for viewing ads or deploy a program which hit the same page again and again..) …. ๐Ÿ™‚ Suspicion aside, Shantaram is a good read, one that you will surely relate and love it, I feel. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | January 12, 2011, 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books ยป
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

