//
you're reading...
Reflection

Midnight’s Children – The Result of Your Voting

At the End of Midnight’s Children review, I have asked everyone to vote for what they thought about the book and the book title you want to see on the next read-along.

Here’s the result:

Interestingly more votes goes to……….. “A Suitable Boy“!! Next is the Cairo Trilogy.

I definitely need big help to read A Suitable Boy. At 1474 pages, it requires willpower to stay on it till the end. My non-blogger colleague has good things to say about the book, and all I read in blogosphere about the book is that it is a must read. A big fan of Vikram Seth, Tony of Tony’s Reading List wrote a superb review of the book and here’s one from Tony that summarise the experience:

For such a long novel, ‘A Suitable Boy’ is very easy to read. The story comes together as a whole so well, its structure so masterly, that the reader is compelled to press on as quickly as possible, desperate to find out what happens next. Like life itself, long sections seem to move on slowly with no real drama, only to be interrupted suddenly by chilling, unforeseen events.

I need to read and re-read what Tony and many others have to say positively about the book, read it so much so that it become my mantra. So that when the time is right, I would have the courage to pick up this book and hopefully you will come along with me on the bandwagon to complete this gargantuan book! 😉

About the book (Source Wikipedia):

A Suitable Boy is a novel by Vikram Seth, released in 1993. At 1349 pages (1488 pages softcover) and 591,552 words, the book is one of the longest novels ever published in a single volume in the English language. A sequel, to be called A Suitable Girl is due for publication in 2013.

Guardian on Seth’s sequel, A Suitable Girl

What do you think about the book? What do you think about reading this?


About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

21 thoughts on “Midnight’s Children – The Result of Your Voting

  1. I completely missed that poll and abandoned the readalong, so sorry about that!
    Interesting results though. Read a 1474 page book?? That actually makes me panic a bit, must be commitment issues 😉

    Posted by Bina | January 2, 2011, 10:34 pm
    • Bina, LOL 😀 Don’t worry Bina… it made me panic too! I often have to clear my glasses and my head why would anyone want to read a book so long? War and Peace, Middlemarch, A Suitable Boy, perhaps A Suitable Girl… I need be convinced over and over again. Although A Suitable Boy is sitting on my shelf now, including 2666. 😉

      Posted by JoV | January 2, 2011, 10:39 pm
  2. I’ve been struggling to read A Suitable Boy for 3 months, with no success! Moreover, 2 others who were doing it with me are in the same boat! All of us heard it was so great, but oh, brother!!!

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | January 3, 2011, 2:34 am
    • Oh dear Jill, that sounds terrible. What is it that stops you from finishing it? Is it the writing? Is it too long? tell me, tell me, tell me… 🙂

      Posted by JoV | January 3, 2011, 9:24 pm
      • Well, it takes place in the ’50’s, so it seems very dated. I.e., it *reads* very dated-ly. And the young people are all pretty immature, so it’s hard to like them. But most of all, it’s just b-o-r-i-n-g!!!!

        Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | January 4, 2011, 5:13 am
        • Jill, Ha ha ha.. I can understand… 😀

          Posted by JoV | January 4, 2011, 8:43 am
        • It reads rather melodramatic to me. I stalled about 100 pages in which is not good. Everyone raves about it but the writing at 100 pages is “meh” and the story is “meh” too. I am going to read it though because I killed a lot of trees by buying it.

          Posted by Ti | January 4, 2011, 3:02 pm
          • Hi Ti, thanks for dropping by! ahh.. you must be a member of Rhapsody’s “A-Suitable-Boy-Abandon-the-book” club. I would be keen to hear what you think about it!!! 😉

            Posted by JoV | January 5, 2011, 1:38 pm
  3. I completely missed this poll on your blog. If I hadn’t, I would have voted for A Suitable Boy too! When do we get to start?

    Posted by anaamica | January 3, 2011, 7:03 am
    • I loved A Suitable Boy, I hosted a read-a-long for it last year on Bookcrossing, we did a section a week which was between 70-130 pages. Became my Sunday morning routine.
      One day I’ll reread it, but too busy tackling War and Peace at the mo, with Les Mis and Don Quioxte lined up for when I’m finished

      Posted by katrina | January 3, 2011, 4:30 pm
      • Katrina, it’s nice to speak to someone who has hosted the read-along. Must be quite a journey! Did you like it?
        You have loads of chunksters on your plate, I know what you are up to now in 2011! 😉

        Posted by JoV | January 3, 2011, 9:22 pm
    • Ana, I’m thinking of Summer 2011. July – August? If I start any earlier, I’ll let you know… 2 months leading to it, I’ll announce. I’ll give plenty of time for anyone who wants to go out and loan or buy a copy before we begin.

      Posted by JoV | January 3, 2011, 9:20 pm
  4. I can’t remember if I voted, but I hope to join for A Suitable Boy. Katrina’s idea for 70-130 pages per week sounds great. I wonder how long it will take for us to finish with that pace though lol.

    Posted by mee | January 4, 2011, 2:40 am
  5. …but East of Eden is so good

    I’m actually in the middle of Palace Walk right now (the first book in the Cairo Trilogy), and am finding it curiously enticing. Apparently it gets exponentially better a couple of chapters down the line from where I am right now, so…

    Posted by Biblibio | January 7, 2011, 8:00 am
    • Bibliobio, I know. I have decided to read East of Eden with another blogger friend sometime this year. I’m so glad you love Palace Walk and admire those who is taking the first step in reading the first of Mahfouz Cairo Trilogy! 😉

      Posted by JoV | January 7, 2011, 9:03 pm
  6. ‘A Suitable Boy’ is one of my favourite books, but as you have said it is a really thick book. I read it when I was still a student and it took me quite a while to finish it. But I loved it and I also felt accomplished when I finished it (because of its size). Happy Reading!

    Posted by Vishy | January 11, 2011, 12:15 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A Suitable Time for A Suitable Boy « JoV's Book Pyramid - July 15, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

