//
you're reading...
Book Business

Man Asian Literary Prize Shortlist 2010 is out!

The five books shortlisted for the 2010 Man Asian Literary Prize have been announced in Hong Kong.

Before that, let me digress and say a BIG, and HUGE thank you for everyone out there who has shown such kindness and support while I am adjusting to my new job. Please believe me when I say I was very touched for all the kind messages and emails that I received and I just want to say THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU….. from the very bottom of my heart. 😀

Where was I? Yes! the announcement of the shortlist.

Here’s the announcement, but if you rather not hear the 15 minutes of waffling, skip the video and take a look at the list after the video:

Writers from Japan, China and India make up the shortlist for this year’s Man Asian Literary Prize. The five shortlisted books were announced on the 15th February 2011 in Hong Kong. Among their number is Kenzaburo Oe, winner of the 1994 Nobel Prize Winner in Literature. Also honoured on the shortlist is Mumbai-based Manu Joseph for his debut novel, Serious Men. Joseph has also been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in the South Asia and Europe Best First Book category.

2010 Man Asian Literary Prize Shortlist

  • Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu
  • Serious Men by Manu Joseph
  • The Thing About Thugs by Tabish Khair
  • The Changeling by Kenzaburo Oe
  • Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa

The highly regarded judges for the 2010 Man Asian Literary Prize are Monica Ali, Homi K. Bhabha and Hsu-Ming Teo. In making the shortlist announcement, Professor David Parker, Chair of the Board of Directors of the Man Asian Literary Prize said ‘Our judges have chosen five very different novels, each in its own way brilliant and captivating, representing the achievements of three major Asian cultures: China, India and Japan. Readers everywhere now have the opportunity to enjoy and compare the high and distinctive accomplishments of the novel across the breadth of Asia.’

54 works were entered submitted for entry in the 2010 Man Asian Literary Prize. The diversity of the literary on offer by writers from Asia is reflected in the shortlist. From the comedy of manners offered in Joseph’s debut, to the dark, poetic prose of Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa.

I have read the Japanese shortlist of The Changeling and Hotel Iris, I would be interested to read the other 3 shortlisted books.

The winner of the 2010 Man Asian Literary Prize will be announced on 17th March at the Hong Kong International Literary Festival. The winner will receive a cash prize of US$30,000.

So who will you be betting your money on?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Man Asian Literary Prize Shortlist 2010 is out!

  1. I’ve just finished Three Sisters and really enjoyed it, but I don’t think that it will win. If I had to bet now then I’d say Serious Men will scoop the prize, but I hope to have a better idea after reading it next week.

    Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | February 26, 2011, 3:49 pm
    • Jackie, I think you may be right. It is time for an Indian Lit to take the price, although we have some strong contenders from the Japanese here. Since you said it’s good, I’d like to read Three Sisters too!

      Posted by JoV | February 26, 2011, 6:24 pm
  2. I am cheering for Kenzaburo Oe-I want to give you this invitation which I would love it if you can fit it your schedule to accept

    I would like to invite you to consider participating in

    Irish Short Story Week-3/14 to 3/20

    Posted by Mel u | February 27, 2011, 5:16 am
  3. Yay! Of the above I have only read books by Yoko Ogawa (but alas, not yet Hotel Iris) so I have no idea who has the best chance of winning. They look like exciting titles, so I will be adding them to my to-read list anyway 🙂

    Posted by Chinoiseries | February 27, 2011, 3:32 pm
  4. I’ve not even heard of this prize before. I’m so glad you posted about it. I have heard of a couple of the authors though but have not yet read their work.

    Posted by Ti | February 28, 2011, 6:51 pm
  5. I have only read ‘Hotel Iris’ from that list. I hope Ogawa wins the award 🙂 She definitely deserves one.

    I am really disappointed that Tabish Khair’s book ‘The Thing About Thugs’ made it into the shortlist. It seems to be heavily ‘inspired’ by ‘Confessions of a Thug’ by Philip Meadows Taylor, which is a mid-19th century bestseller and was a sensation at that time. I am really disappointed when people take old, out-of-print classics, change some things here and there and package it as a new book and win laurels for that.

    Posted by Vishy | March 5, 2011, 12:56 am
    • Vishy, it is true a lot of people repackage or recycle their novels from a known classic. I suppose they think it is worth a try as only a very well read person like yourself would spot the “plagerism” but to win laurels for it would be taking a step too far. I am happy if either of the shortlist wins!

      Posted by JoV | March 7, 2011, 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

