//
you're reading...
Reflection

It’s a wrap! March 2011

 

Photo Credit (click image)

I can’t let the month go by without wrapping up.

First quarter of the calendar year is up, but for many companies in the UK, it is the financial year end. So there was a mad rush to perform, return better results for the year, wrap-up projects in supersonic speed. I belong to the last category. I have been working two weekends and spent most Saturdays comatose trying to recover from a hectic week, only to start again the next Monday. Sigh…

So, what I have read on the last quarter of the financial year?

  1. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (second read)
  2. I Saw Ramallah by Mourid Barghouti
  3. Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata
  4. A Case of Exploding Mangoes by Mohammed Hanif
  5. Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

I Saw Ramallah and Moon Tiger ranked as my favourite for the month. On top of the 5 that I have finished, I am 400 pages onto 2666, and half way through Wuthering Heights.

It’s notable to mention that I enjoy the read-along of Eat, Pray, Love with friends. In terms of quantity, I don’t think I’ll ever beat my reading rate of Q1 2009 or Q1 2010. In terms of quality, I think I did ok for March.

Plans for April

There is certainly more public holidays in April. I am taking a spring break to recover and to visit the land of Castles, Highlanders and a chance to take a glimpse of the fabled Nessie (fat chance! :)). I hope I’ll finish some of my library loan (mostly Middle Eastern) and TBR list soon.

Stay tuned for my post about geographical read of the Middle East!

What about you? What are your plans for this spring break?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “It’s a wrap! March 2011

  1. We’re heading into Autumn down here in Oz – as the days get colder I’d guess I would do more reading but for some reason it rarely works out that way for me, probably because our end of financial year madness is ahead – in June. Ugh. I need a nap just thinking about it.

    Posted by Bernadette | April 5, 2011, 3:08 am
    • Bernadette, ahh.. I didn’t know Aussie financial year end is June. Financial year end is every performance analyst’s nightmare. I have been through that, but glad that I take a different seat now and drive projects instead. Take a deep breath and remember it doesn’t pay to get all stress up! Take all the naps that you need to recuperate. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Posted by JoV | April 5, 2011, 9:09 pm
  2. We don’t have spring break here in Australia (damn, I wouldn’t mind a holiday!) but I am doing something for April. It is Aussie Author Month, so I am trying to read mostly Australian authors and do some author spotlights on my blog. A Writer’s Journey, Book Thingo and Fangtastic Fiction (all friends of mine from twitter) have organised it, and it looks like it will be pretty big in the blogging and bookstore community. I thought I could get away with reviewing one or two books, but will probably beef my offering up a lot to keep up with blogging friends. On top of that I have some ARCs to review, as well as some articles to write. Like I said, I want a holiday LOL

    I am impressed you were able to read Eat Pray Love twice. I couldn’t finish it. I did try. It just wasn’t up my alley. My friend loves it though.

    Snow Country sounds gorgeous! I wish I had have know about it when I did the global challenge last year. I love evocative writing, it is one of the reasons I love haiku. I think I am adding this to my list. I just looked and it isn’t in Vintage Classics yet *sigh* I know it is shallow, but I am trying to get all my classics in that print so they match ๐Ÿ™‚ The covers on that line are so gorgeous – although the Penguin cover you showed was quite evocative as well.

    Good luck with your TBR pile! I hope you are able to work your way through it soon and that you find some gems ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by obsidiantears83 | April 5, 2011, 7:40 am
    • Jacq, you definitely sounds like you need a holiday… you need a holiday from Blogging!!! lol
      Eat, Pray, Love is really not everyone’s alley, I’m afraid and I don’t evangelise about it. I love both Penguin Classics and Vintage Classics covers! and wouldn’t mind if I have either of them. I must agree matching collection sure looks more impressive. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for the TBR pile encouragement. I’m getting there. Slowly but surely. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | April 5, 2011, 9:13 pm
  3. a great march Jov ,I like i saw ramallah and couple others you read are ones I want to at some point ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | April 5, 2011, 6:26 pm
  4. You did have a great March. And your read some interesting books including ‘A Case of Exploding Mangoes’.

    Posted by Geosi | April 6, 2011, 3:51 pm
  5. Good job, Jo! ๐Ÿ™‚ You seem to have read some great books, I need to read moon tiger, sounds amazing!

    Oh and I still have to do my wrap-up, oops!

    Posted by Bina | April 6, 2011, 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books ยป
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

