//
you're reading...
Reflection

When book lovers gather…

Last weekend, Jackie @ Farmlane book blogBookie Mee and I prowled through the streets of Bracknell in search of books. Jackie had kindly offered some of her books to us and I picked up the bottom 3 shown here on my stack, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, Fordlandia by Greg Grandin on the rise and fall of Henry Ford’s Forgotten Jungle City and Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli.

Although I have worked in Bracknell for two years, rarely do I go into town as my workplace is about 20 minutes away. When I do, I targetted some of the charity shops I visited within a very limited span of time before I catch my next train home, dismissing Oxfam as “expensive” and never knew that there are shops selling new books for £1. A shop which actually sells mobile scooters and gym exercise machines and bits and bobs. 😉

So it is to my amazement that Jackie showed me the way to three more stores that offer amazing value for books.

Oxfam Bracknell – 5 books for £1.49. I bought The Short History of Ukranian Tractor by Marina Lewckya for a friend in Canada, Fasting and Feasting by Anita Desai and recommended by Jackie, The Siege by Helen Dunmore. I have always wanted to read something by Helen Dunmore, and this looks like the best book to start.

Bas Book – A shop that looks too organised and posh for used books. So posh that I dismissed it as expensive. 🙂 I bought Microtrends by Mark J. Penn from there. The book talks about the small group of people that are causing big changes in our lives today, how different we are and how wrong our expectations can be and how the end of uniformity (and certainty) as we see it going forward… I have always been drawn to books with stats and charts to prove an argument and this one looks set to thrill the nerdy side of me.

No Name shop selling mobile scooters at storefront! – I bought The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran and short stories collections of Paulo Coelho’s Like the Flowing River, which I have read in 2008 and love it (can’t say the same for all his books!). This store sells new books for £1 and there are quite a good selection of titles available.

I may have exercised a lot of restraint from buying books on the prowl but I’ll leave you to have a private chat with Bookie Mee who hauled back 9 books and hope that she enlighten us with a summary of her purchase! 😉

A note to say that this has been my first in the company of book lovers and experienced the joy of sharing and recommending book titles to each other in a profound way. I felt elated at having kindred spirit with book lovers who actually know the bookish stuff I am talking about. All I can say is…

When book lovers gather, to the bookshops we flock together! 🙂

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “When book lovers gather…

  1. great meeting other blogger I meet simon from inside books and rob from rob around books last week had a great time ,some loively books the fordlandi one sounds great I like sound of it when it came out ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | May 30, 2011, 10:02 pm
  2. I’m a little jealous! Such fun, meeting up with booklovers and finding new bookstores. I think you did well, restraining yourself to just those books. Hope you’ll have good fun reading them.

    Posted by Leeswammes | May 31, 2011, 6:36 am
    • Judith,
      Thanks for your kind words. I did feel a bit of regret for not getting what I should get… but hey! one shouldn’t hoard when we have got libraries next door to my home! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | May 31, 2011, 4:05 pm
  3. I’m pleased that I was able to introduce you to some new shops. I hope were’re able to do it again sometime. Enjoy your new books!

    Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | May 31, 2011, 6:39 am
  4. I still can’t believe I got more books than you. And thanks for counting that for me! 😛 I intend to publicly share my loot but I’ll save that for next post or something.

    Posted by mee | May 31, 2011, 7:01 am
  5. Sounds great – both the bookshops and meeting other bloggers. Where I live, in Kingston upon Thames, the number of bookshops has decreased alarmingly from the 12 or so that were here then, to a Waterstones and a WHSmiths (if you can call that a bookshop these days) now. So I am often tempted by the Oxfam bookshop and other charity shops we have here, but I have to admit I am more of a “keeping the Oxfam shelves populated” kind of visitor than a “purchaser” as I am always trying vaguely to keep the number of books I have at home to read down to manageable proportions.

    Posted by Maxine | May 31, 2011, 9:04 am
    • Maxine, I wouldn’t call WHSmith a bookshop really. It’s more a stationer’s that sell books. Not a great selection, (and/or) not nicely laid out – it never inspires me much to buy something.

      Waterstones is a shop that I can spend hours in. And come out with 25 books (in my dreams).

      Posted by Leeswammes | May 31, 2011, 1:12 pm
    • Maxine, thank goodness and God bless people like you that populates those book shelves! What would we do without you?!! 🙂 I’m trying to keep the number of books down to manageable proportion, unfortunately it doesn’t help with buying new shelves!

      Posted by JoV | May 31, 2011, 4:25 pm
  6. I lov doing this – I never hold back though on purchases LOL Its just as well I’m a train ride from central London really. Glad you had a great time

    Posted by Jessica | May 31, 2011, 10:19 am
  7. This is really awesome, Jo! It is really wonderful to go out with bibliophilistic friends and explore new bookstores! Most of my ‘real-world’ friends don’t read much and they get bored in a bookstore after a short while (though I don’t mind spending the whole day there 🙂 In old times I used to go out to bookstores with mom once in a while, as my mom also liked to spend the whole day at bookstores :)) So I get very few chances to do something like this. Glad to know that all of you had a wonderful time! The books you got look wonderful! The edition of ‘The Prophet’ that you got looks classy! I didn’t know that Paulo Coelho wrote short stories too. I think I will try reading this one. I have read Anita Desai’s ‘In Custody’ and loved it. ‘Fasting and Feasting’ looks like an interesting title! I want to read ‘The Help’ too 🙂

    Happy Reading!

    Posted by Vishy | June 1, 2011, 6:44 am
    • Vishy,
      Thank you so much for your kind words. It is my dad who would bring me to bookstores when I was younger. My real friends don’t really read I suppose everyone has a different priority in life, it so happened we bibliophile love books more! 🙂 I hope you get to read Paul Coelho’s short stories, I think you will like it, and Anita Desai’s and ‘The Help’… so many books! HELP!!! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | June 1, 2011, 3:31 pm
  8. good selection of books-I have seen History Channel programs on Fordlandia and have also been to the Ford Summer home museum in Fort Myers Florida-he had a mansion right next to Edison-

    Posted by Mel u | June 1, 2011, 9:55 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Spring is here and almost over.. (It’s a wrap! for May 2011 by the way) « Bibliojunkie - June 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

