//
you're reading...
Meme, Read Along

Japanese Literature Challenge 5

For the second year in a row I’m participating in the popular Japanese Literature Challenge. Running in its 5th year and hosted by lovely Dolce Bellezza, every year promises an eye-opening experience for me. It could be reading about works of a new Japanese author or reading from the authors whom I dearly love.

These are what I have got on my shelf. Last year I read 12 books for the challenge. I’ll be lucky if I read a quarter this year.

There are many more Japanese must-read books out there. Perhaps I will check this list out and Bellezza’s  list of suggested books is just as good. Tony’s Reading List besides containing the usual generous dose of Russian and German literature, he reads a great many Japanese books as well and writes salivating reviews that makes you want to pick books up instantly from his recommendation.

Fingers crossed it will be another fulfilling year of J-lit.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

20 thoughts on “Japanese Literature Challenge 5

  1. Out is my favourite thriller. It is a bit gruesome in places, but I loved the questions it raised. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Good luck with the challenge!

    Posted by Jackie (Farm Lane Books) | June 11, 2011, 6:46 am
  2. I really enjoyed What I talk about when I talk about running, although it is entirely different to Murakami’s fiction.

    Posted by Graham | June 11, 2011, 7:24 am
    • Graham,
      Thanks for dropping by. I’m glad you like the book. I thought it was suppose to be non-fiction? We’ll see. I’ll read it as soon as I finished my cosy mysteries! :)

      Posted by JoV | June 11, 2011, 11:50 am
  3. Thanks for the mention :) I’ve just ordered another three J-Lit books, so I’ll be reading some more great stuff in the months to come!

    Posted by Tony | June 11, 2011, 7:56 am
  4. I loved Out, Jo. Hope you do too. I haven’t heard of the middle book, but the Murakami book I also want to read. For now, IF (IF) I do the challenge, I’ll put myself down for the 1Q84 books (all three parts of it). I’m ashamed I still haven’t read them, two of them have been out for almost a year here.

    Have fun with the challenge!

    Posted by Leeswammes | June 11, 2011, 3:51 pm
  5. I’m participating this time as well, haven’t been able to decide what to read for it yet :)

    Posted by Bina | June 14, 2011, 12:23 pm
  6. I m looking forward to iq84 ,loved his running book too when I read it ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | June 14, 2011, 5:41 pm
    • Stu,
      Me too. I was quite impressed with Murakami besides being a writer, he actually runs 25 marathons and 17 triathlons. Winning is not the ultimate aim, still finishing such great feats takes a lot from a person!

      Posted by JoV | June 14, 2011, 9:05 pm
  7. Wonderful to know that you are participating in the Japanese Literature challenge, Jo! Hope you have a wonderful time! I am thinking of participating too. I want to read some Murakami, some Banana Yoshimoto and some Manga comics :) I also want to read a book of your favourite, Yukio Mishima – I want to know what this six-pack-abs guy has written :)

    Posted by Vishy | June 16, 2011, 4:05 pm
    • Vishy, please please please read Yukio Mishima… I think you will like his books. I really think you will.. is it easy to get his books in your town?

      Posted by JoV | June 16, 2011, 8:37 pm
      • I will definitely do that :) I remember liking your review of Mishima’s book very much. I think I should be able to get his books here – I remember seeing an Everyman Library edition of his ‘The Temple of the Golden Pavilion’ in the bookstore here sometime.

        Posted by Vishy | June 17, 2011, 3:25 am
  8. I cannot even believe I haven’t commented here. Please accept my apolgoies, dear Jo!

    You have a great list from which to choose; most are on omy list as well! I read, and loved Out, it was one of the best books I read last summer for the psychological suspense as well as the way I felt that Kirino looked at women and marriage. I want to read Mishima’s Spring Snow, and both the Murakami’s you’ve pitured here. My mother read What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, which she grabbed off of my shelf before I read it, and then proceeded to give a copy to several of her friends for Christmas. So, it must be good!

    So glad you’re joining again, friend, and thank you for being patient with me and my lapse in commenting. xo

    Posted by Bellezza | June 20, 2011, 1:25 pm
    • Bellezza, another vouch for OUT. You will have to read What I talk about When I talk about Running it gave me a glimpse into what Haruki Murakami is made of, he is MADE OF STEEL! :)
      Dear friend Bellezza, as long as you are hosting I’ll always be joining on J-Lit Challenge! ;)

      Posted by JoV | June 21, 2011, 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

