//
you're reading...
Book Business

BBC World Book Club Announcements

Hisham Matar is on the BBC World Book Club on Wednesday 24 August 2011, and will be talking about his international bestseller ‘In The Country of Men’.  We need questions to be emailed from outside Britain and if you’re in the UK we need guests to be part of the audience in London at 16:45 at Bush House.

If you would like to come along and put a question to Hisham Matar about In The Country of Men or to send in your question for him please drop a comment here and I’ll let you know the details.

Shortlisted for the 2006 Booker Prize, ‘In the Country of Men’ is Hisham Matar’s stunning debut novel. Set in the bewildering world of Tripoli, it is the emotional tale of a young boy growing up; where fears, secrets and betrayal threaten the ties of family and friendship.

 

Next month, Howard Jacobson is on the BBC World Book Club on Friday 23 September 2011, and will be talking about his Booker Prize-winning novel The Finkler Question.  BBC World book club need questions to be emailed from outside Britain and if you’re around London and interested to come into BBC studio and be a part of the audience in London at 19:30 at the Soho Theatre.

The BBC World Book Club is a unique radio programme that brings readers from around the world together with their favourite writers.  If you want to be a studio audience or send in your questions, please drop a comment and let me know and I’ll send you the details.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “BBC World Book Club Announcements

  1. I d love to but it is a bit far for me to come ,I listen to them like I do every one via the podcast ,all the best stu

    Posted by stujallen | August 19, 2011, 9:06 pm
  2. Eh is it a live show? I watched Howard Jacobson at First Tuesday book club (Australian) and he’s hilarious! I’d love to be audience especially if it’s so close to where I work.

    Posted by mee | August 24, 2011, 12:53 pm
  3. Oh I haven’t read either one, but the bookclub sounds interesting. But, way to far from my place 😀

    Posted by Bina | August 27, 2011, 6:13 pm
  4. Are some programmes held during the day? I’d like to be part of the audience but hate travelling late at night to suburbs. I’d be grateful if you could send me details of how I can be part of the audience, however. Thanks!

    Posted by M Kemp | February 24, 2012, 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

