//
you're reading...
Book Business

Tough Choices at Triple Choice Tuesday

TripleChoiceTuesday

I love reading Triple Choice Tuesday. The lovely Kim from Reading Matters has asked me to participate in her weekly Triple Choice Tuesday feature. I had to choose:

  • a favourite book
  • a book that changed my world
  • a book that deserves a wider audience

I dance a little jig when I was informed by Kim I would be featured today but then very quickly I was weighed down by the terrible prospect of having to choose from a big pile of favourites and narrowed them down to 3. :( As it is close to midnight and it’s been a long work week for me I decided to scroll my recent 3 years reading list and shortlisted them. If you followed my blog so far, my three choices are very obvious. To see if this is true, head over to This week’s Triple Choice Tuesday at Reading Matters and check it out! Be sure to check out Kim’s excellent blog as well. Kim is the only person I know who blogs the longest, as long as 10.5 years. In the blogging world’s term, that is pre-historic!

Have a good rest of the week everyone.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Tough Choices at Triple Choice Tuesday

  1. Yay! Glad you got to have a turn :)

    Posted by Tony | September 6, 2011, 11:10 am
  2. I read your post on ‘Triple Choice Tuesday’ in Kim’s blog and it was wonderful! I would like to read all the three books someday. It is amazing that Kim has been blogging for more than ten years! Wow! She must be, like, the founder of the Roman empire, in blogging :) I thought blogging started only in the early or middle 2000s, and so it is amazing to know that someone started blogging way before that.

    Posted by Vishy | September 6, 2011, 11:29 am
    • Vishy,
      I thought blogging starts around mid 2000 as well. Because I tried to set one up myself but got hindered by Blogspot! It’s amazing to have someone who blog for a decade and the blog is still alive… it’s so amazing. :)

      Posted by JoV | September 6, 2011, 7:23 pm
  3. I have just discovered your blog via the Reading Matters blog and Triple Choice Tuesday – what a great find! Judging by your review index we have very similar reading tastes and I am sure I shall now be a regular follower! Nothing to Envy and Flowers for Algernon are both on my TBR pile and I have now added I saw Ramallah to my (ever expanding) wishlist. Congratulations on a great blog.

    Posted by Alison | September 6, 2011, 12:57 pm
    • Alison,
      Thank you so much for your kind words! and thanks for your first visit. My reading is very eclectic and I go off on fetish of say Japanese lit, Middle East or South East Asian and then take a 360 swing and the next thing I knew I’m reading Crime fictions… hope you don’t mind! :D

      Posted by JoV | September 6, 2011, 7:25 pm
  4. I ll pop over and have a look ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | September 6, 2011, 6:41 pm
  5. Aw well done Jo, and some great choices. I really liked the sound of I Saw Ramallah.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | September 8, 2011, 5:38 pm
  6. Great choices, Jo! Love them all, really need to read the Demick :)

    Posted by Bina | September 12, 2011, 4:34 pm
  7. 10.5 years! That is amazing.

    My first blog entry was written on 1996. But things got slow down from 1998 to 2003. Minus that off, perhaps like a decade of writing *gasp*.

    Hey, “Nothing To Envy” makes it to your list! Amazing. I read that too. But not the other two you have listed. I don’t think I can make a list at all!

    Posted by Wilfrid Wong | September 14, 2011, 11:54 am
    • Wilfrid,
      The more you read , the tougher it is to make a list like that. But it made me think of some books that potentially make you a different person after you read it. Rarely but fortunate if you find one like that. Congrats on your 10 years of writing!

      Posted by JoV | September 17, 2011, 9:18 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: September: A month I can’t quite remember « Bibliojunkie - October 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

