//
you're reading...
Reflection

What I talk about when I talk about commenting on blogs

Leading up to my anniversary at the end of November, this is my second post about “What I talk about when I talk about…” … Commenting on blogs!

As I am in wordpress so I am biased and if I comment on other blogs while I stay log on, my profile is all there ready for me to drop a comment and press the submit button. WordPress is really user-friendly… I really wish everyone is on wordpress… however!

This post may sound like a good rant at the beginning and if you are oppose to it, I suggest you turn around now. ๐Ÿ™‚

About the different ways I can comment on blogger.com

On the other hand I foundย blogger.com (extension Blogspot.com) annoying. On all the blogspot blogs I visited they don’t have a consistent way of commenting. I suppose then there is a higher flexibility on how you would like your readers to comment. Hmm…. good and bad. When I see the following screen on ย blogspot, I’m always delighted because now I can choose the option of “Name/URL” and very quickly I could post my comments, whereas the others requires me to log on to wordpress or google, which is really a bother.

When I don’t, I have to go through a few hassle to get my comments through…..

Sometimes when I pressed “Continue” it says they couldn’t prove my credentials. When I clicked “Continue” for a second time, it worked. And thenย I am asked to enter some wriggly illegible scripts just to prove that I am a human and not a spam machine and I don’t always get the script right!

Other times because it recognised me as a google user I am logged on as my google account with a dormant blog in blogspot that I no longer use.

and other times I see the blogger chose to filter every comment hence as soon as I post a comment it says:

‘Visible after blogger approval’

This option really does reduce my satisfaction and security of seeing my hard drafted comments up on the blog, instead of the possibility of losing it in the ether.

It is the blogger’s prerogative how they want to set it up, but does it has to be in so many different ways??!! It does deter me from commenting if it makes it harder for me to comment on a blog.

About the blogs I usually comment on

I don’t like commenting on blogs whose blogger I know will never reply to my comments. I only make exception to this on a handful of bloggers whom I have known in my early days and whom I really like.

I usually don’t click on “subscribe to follow-up comment” button to follow up on replies or comment thread because I don’t want to get a string of other people’s comments into my mailbox!

My regret is that my life is hectic and that I can’t afford to write long comments.

I skim read a few other comments on the post but rarely do I read all of them. I look out for comments by bloggers that are familiar to me. Having a distinguish gravatar in this case certainly helps a lot!

Have you ever think why is that person commenting on other blogger’s blog and not mine anymore? ๐Ÿ™‚

Some creative preambles for comments on blogs I have seen:

“Thank you for commenting! My health no longer allows me to reply individually to every comment (see my about page for details), but I read and appreciate them all. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you’d like a direct reply, just include a question.”

“I don’t care what you say but say something nice!”

About the people who comment on my blog

  1. For the first year of blogging, a blogger actually has to fish for comments. Some people are quite good in marketing their blogs, some don’t. How to market your blog? Maybe that is a topic for another day. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  2. What about negative comments? I like it. I like to hear something that contradicts with what I said but not when it is particularly rude. There are comments which are written in spite and I wonder why anyone would waste the time doing that? It is like dropping faecesย around the cyberspace.
  3. The feeling of receiving a comment is really wonderful. There is so much negativity around the world, in your front page news and at work. It is nice to receive the support from kindred spirit who like the same thing and talk about the same thing. A comment no matter how short is very much appreciated!
  4. When I post more than one post at one time and in succession, it is expected that I will get less comments on the earlier posts than the latter one. If I leave my recent posts for a long time on, chances are I get more comments on it. This has proven right many times. I’m still trying to understand what is the psychology behind it? Is it because blog reader can only hold short attention at one time? or “lets read the recent ones and skim read the ones before”?
  5. Someone at work once told me, people are not what they write. A lot of people write very bland and formal emails but really they are nicer to talk to in person. This had proven true at work but what about bloggers you think?
  6. Where have they gone to? – questions you asked about regular commentators on your blog who suddenly disappeared into thin air.
  7. Do I care whether my regular readers are disappearing? Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. When you are new you do, when you are around for little longer, maybe not.
  8. All those weird spamsย I received, so much flattery that sounded so genuine yet they are spams!! What a shame!
  9. Do you have unapprove comments on your list? I do. It is one of those comments I think I can’t show it to the world but I would like to keep.
  10. Always amuse me big time when I see conversations going on my blog which doesn’t include me. Please keep at it, I don’t mind, in fact I welcome it. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  11. I also feel strangely honoured and happy when fellow wordpress blogger ping me back!
  12. Despite a lot that is going in my life, I’ll never forget what each reader said to me. Never. Somehow I remember who says what and when. ๐Ÿ˜€
That! and that was what I talk about when I talk about commenting. What about you?
Thank you for commenting all this time!!
About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

32 thoughts on “What I talk about when I talk about commenting on blogs

  1. I vee always tried to comment as much as I can I m not overly bothered about the need of people to comment on mine if they do they dont I still comment on there blog I m not a long comment maker on whole that is just due to time really more than anything I work odd hours have family and dog all need looking after so time is main reason my comments my appear short if a blog is in my reader I usually comment on every few posts I m not a negative person so couldn’t make negative comments all the best great post stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | October 7, 2011, 6:35 pm
    • Stu, I know what you mean. It’s hard to be able to write long comments when you have family, dog, odd hours and all. You are one of the most consistent commentator I have got and I appreciate your time and effort. In fact this is the longest comment I have ever received from you. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 7, 2011, 7:01 pm
  2. #10 is very funny. I had that happen on one of my posts, and not only were the commenters all ga-ga about the book (which I gave something like 1.5/5!) but they came to like each OTHER so much they exchanged facebook info! LOL

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | October 7, 2011, 7:09 pm
  3. Great post, Jo! Commenting really does seem to be a science unto Itself ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love wordpress for how easy it is to comment and also that the spam filter is pretty great. For blogger I’m as happy as you are to see the option name/url. It’s often happened to e that otherwise with all the extra logging in I have to do my comment gets lost and mostly I can’t be bothered to go through the whole process again.

    I’m always happy to get comments and I think I would be upset if regular commentors would disappear but I’m too lazy to promote my blog whatever that means. I find uni competitive enough so I want my private and blogging life to be fun without stressing myself.

    I love that you always reply to comments! I often understand that it’s tough for bloggers who get huge amounts of comments to reply and sometimes it’s just too time-consuming, but without a reply where’s the dialog we supposedly want from blogging?

    And you’ve got your own tag on my blog so expect to be pinged! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And this comment is way too long, sorry!

    Posted by Bina | October 7, 2011, 8:13 pm
    • Bina,
      Don’t apologise! I love long comments. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I know what you mean, just thinking about going through those process of commenting deters me from even commenting them. Regulars do disappear though. Not because you did anything wrong but it’s more of the commentator’s personal circumstances I suppose and I see it that way.

      Ahh… at least you notice I always reply to comments. Yes we should keep a dialogue going. Thanks ever so much for being here Bina. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Posted by JoV | October 7, 2011, 9:44 pm
  4. I love it! I’m a blogger devotee, but I am annoyed by captchas. I don’t use them and I don’t get spam. Blogger still blocks it, so I don’t understand the need for it. Happy commenting!

    Posted by nomadreader | October 7, 2011, 9:52 pm
  5. I have been on blogger for over two years and I will stick with them-to me Google is always trying to improve their platforms plus I have a lot of time invested in learning how to use it. I moderate my comments in part to keep out spammers and maybe one comment in 500 or so a person will make a nasty mean spirited remark which I do not want on my blog-I am perfectly happy with those who question what I write as I know they at least read it and perhaps I will learn from them-

    I do wonder sometimes what happens when old commentators drop out-of the first ten commentators on my blog 2+ years ago-9 are still with me.

    I love to get comments-I know some people say dont bother making a comment if all you can say is “nice post” but a lot of us have had the sad experience of doing a lot of work on a post only to have no comments at all!-I would say dont post 100 “nice posts” comments in one day all over the book blog world but if you are sincere go for it-

    people do come and go in the book blog world just like you said, some get burned out and some have live changes that take away their free times and some just move along-

    Posted by Mel u | October 8, 2011, 1:07 am
    • Mel U,
      I like this comment you made. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It is great to know your old commentators are still around with you. In my early years I wasn’t fishing for comments so at least 2 years I had very few comments. I feel a little sad when I saw no comments on blog post but there is so many blogs around and just to get one comment for me is good enough!

      Posted by JoV | October 8, 2011, 9:37 am
  6. I loved reading the collection of thoughts you’ve posted here about blogging and commenting, JoV. I’ll be mulling them over for quite some time. Wish that Blogger wasn’t quite the pain it is to comment upon; I know when I was on WordPress it was a whole lot easier to leave comments, and I try to make the process as easy as possible on Blogger. I hope it’s not too much of a headache. I hate crafting a comment, then wondering where it went, just as you said!

    I know I feel a terrible sense of guilt if I don’t comment frequently on blogs who’s writers I consider my friends. Perhaps some of the answer to that lies in having a relatively small list of bloggers with whom I’m in constant communication. I simply can’t see adding to the list I have; it would boggle my mind!

    Don’t like rude comments; like good discussions; feel it’s critical to respond to people who’ve taken the time to leave their thoughts. Thanks for a fascinating post expressing yourself so eloquently.

    Posted by Bellezza | October 8, 2011, 1:14 am
    • Bellezza,
      Thanks so much for crafting a long comment here. I thin having a small list of bloggers is key. Being a famous blogger sure is nice, but I may find it hard to keep up, so I’m quite happy with what I have got. Thanks for your kind thoughts Bellezza. We can only do so much, you can’t comment on every blog owners that visited you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 8, 2011, 9:39 am
  7. As a wordpress user, I have the same problems with commenting on Blogger posts as you. Sometimes I have to press the Submit button several times before it accepts my identity. I wonder if this is on purpose actually, to make us start to use the Google ID (which I don’t want to).

    I love comments too. Even a short comment is nice, just to know people read and appreciate my blog post.

    Posted by Leeswammes | October 8, 2011, 7:39 am
    • Judith,
      I didn’t feel nice to talk about negative things about blogger.com, but it has been my frustration and when I bumped into a blog that is run on blogger.com and I wanted to comment, I feel the pain of commenting coming to me and 8 out of 10 times I’ll just give up! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 8, 2011, 9:41 am
  8. I share your blogger commenting pain ๐Ÿ˜ฆ One thing I’ve done is set up a blogger blog which then automatically redirects to my wordpress one. It doesn’t help with all the commenting issues, but solves a few of them.

    Posted by farmlanebooks | October 8, 2011, 9:23 am
    • Jackie,
      I didn’t quite work out which platform you are on, I just thought your blog is run on an independent site provider other than wordpress and blogger.com. Other domain owner of blogger.com seems to be able to customise the way readers comment on their blogs, like yours and many other I have seen which is much more convenient. I’m all for convenience, if blog owner wants to receive more comments, they shouldn’t make it harder for reader to comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 8, 2011, 9:43 am
      • My blog uses a wordpress platform, but is self-hosted so I can customise anything I want on my blog. I agree about making commenting as easy as possible – people have very little time so commenting issues discourage a lot of people.

        Posted by farmlanebooks | October 9, 2011, 7:49 pm
  9. You are always one of the few bloggers whose post I read in entirety Jo! I know that makes me sound awful – but the net reader is impatient, and I find myself skimming through my own post many times! Haha. But your posts are insightful, thoughtfully composed and a pleasure to read through. I am a Blogger fan though! Will I be ex-communicated from commenting, now? LOL!.

    Posted by Soul Muser | October 8, 2011, 10:50 am
    • Soul,
      Of course you won’t be. If there is one blogger I’m willing to go through the inconvenience of blogger.com commenting, it will be you! Thanks for reading every word I wrote (I thought no one would!), I appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 9, 2011, 8:02 pm
  10. Nice post, Jo! I love bloggers who reply to my comments ๐Ÿ™‚ I like writing long comments, after reading a post and thinking about it in reasonable detail. Writing long comments makes me happy. I found commenting on Blogger blogs a bit tricky in the beginning, but now I have got used to it. I don’t mind logging in or clicking on ‘Continue’ many times. For me, it is like Blogger is playing a game with me, and I want to win that game ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by Vishy | October 8, 2011, 2:07 pm
  11. Excellent post! I do so agree with you about Blogger, I have just given up and comment using my google profile (which therefore does not click though to my WordPress blog) because I got so fed up with it refusing to recognise my WP profile etc. Open ID is supposed to be an answer to all this, or Disqus, a service many newspapers use, in which you can comment using a profile you’ve chosen (eg Wp or twitter) without having to go through the newspaper’s own system. Commenting is something I like to do when I read an interesting post, but I do get cross when the blog concerned eats my comment or it takes me ages to get it through all the security settings. (And some blogger bloggers do set up a lot more security settings than others, or don’t change the default settings to be less draconian).
    I like your list of points about commenters and comments. I agree with most of them. I just write what I want on my blog and if people comment, great, I like it. But I don’t worry if they don’t as I don’t want to make my blog all about quizzes and memes etc, just to get comments.
    BTW in answer to your question, on my WP blog I have to “approve” someone the first time they comment, but after I’ve done that they can always comment without approval. I think it is all part of the Askimet spam defence, in that the blogger’s disapproval gets the person added into the Askiment spam detection system (I recently found out that comments are known as “ham” if they are real and “spam” if not ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

    Posted by Maxine | October 8, 2011, 4:57 pm
    • Maxine,
      I really love how wordpress works. It makes sense because I would want to check the first time someone commented on my blog, thereafter I’m alright with subsequent comments. Askimet did a great job. “Ham”? That’s a new one, thanks for letting me know! Have you tried reading some of your spams? It’s really interesting. A lot of flattery comments. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I see those security settings like airport checks. All passengers now have to take off their belts, their shoes, jackets etc etc just because less than 1% of the passengers are potential terrorists or hijackers yet all the decent denizens are put through the inconvenience. In hijacking, it’s a matter of life and death, but in a blog, is it a matter of life and death that we have to inconvenient all readers? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      It’s really great to put out an opinion like this and so glad that I’m not the only one who feels like this about commenting on blogger.com!

      Posted by JoV | October 9, 2011, 8:22 pm
  12. Excellent post and I am in agreement over the Blogger issue – in fact I’ve almost given up commenting on blogger blogs entirely, especially if I do my blog rounds during my lunch hour while at work because then I have to use Internet Explorer version 7 (fairly old) and blogger does not like it at all.

    I like getting any kind of comment but especially the ones who disagree with me – doesn’t happen often enough. I like a good discussion though (not yelling, just healthy discussion).

    I also like it when I get a comment on an old post long after the discussion is ended but when someone comes back to say they read the book thanks to my review or something like that – I tend to remember those comments best of all and they give me a warm fuzzy feeling

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | October 9, 2011, 9:17 am
    • Bernadette,
      That’s true for me as well. I do like it when reader probably google up the internet and then comes back and say something about my past reviews. Interestingly though not many of such reader became a loyalist to my blog, it sort of a hi-bye exchange so I really appreciate bloggers who commented regularly here and remind myself that I shouldn’t take any of these for granted. It’s been a privilege.

      Blogger.com… I just find it to be so much hassle. It shouldn’t take more than one click to make a comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 9, 2011, 8:31 pm
  13. Excellent post indeed ! Glad I’m not the only one who isn’t a big fan of Blogger’s comment format. Just this morning I tried to leave a comment on a Blogger hosted blog and I would up yelling and cursing ! WordPress is MUCH better !
    Great thoughts on commenting. Sorry if I haven’t been visiting and commenting like I should.
    Keep up the good work !

    Posted by maphead | October 9, 2011, 5:06 pm
  14. Oh, I hate the Blogger commenting system as well. I felt so frustrated that I’ve signed up with Blogger and listed my wordpress blog in the profile. And viola, my hassles are over. I now comment using my google account. But still the word verification most annoying thing still persist. I suppose that Blogger does not have a good system for catching spam like wordpress does.

    On comments: LOL, I’m trying to get back to commenting on blogs again. It appears that when I experience a lull in blogging, said lull also affects commenting as well. i’ve devised a system and hope it works. It does get a bit overwhelming – wanting to comment on every post that one reads. Enjoying this series of yours. Thanks.

    Posted by Kinna | October 10, 2011, 8:18 am
    • Kinna,
      Thanks for the info! Akismet apps work wonders for wordpress and it filters out all sorts of spams. It is a little overwhelming when life becomes hectic and inundated with other tasks. Thanks for your kind words Kinna. Appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by JoV | October 10, 2011, 3:04 pm
  15. I totally agree with you when it comes to trying to comment on blogs that aren’t on wordpress. And it has actually put me off commenting quite a few times if the process is too complicated and even worse if it was complicated and then the comment fails!! I am getting better especially for blogs I really love though.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | October 10, 2011, 12:58 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What I talk about when I talk about publicising your book blog « Bibliojunkie - October 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books ยป
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

