//
you're reading...
Read Along

City Reading Challenge and a Giveaway! – follow-up post

Did you remember the giveaway post I posted in September? I posted the City Reading Challenge and Giveaway and offer some suggested reading. If you haven’t that’s fine, enter yourself for a giveaway and I’ll include your name for the draw!

I am hosting a giveaway from now until at the end of November which will mark the 3rd year of my blog anniversary. Anyone can sign-up for the giveaway but you get an additional draw with additional book (with city name) that you read and reviewed. Post all reviews by 30th November and I’ll draw TWO winners on the 2nd of December (GMT) using random.org and send the book over to you, hopefully before Christmas! Open to all blog friends and regular visitors who commented at least once on my blog this year. Travel journal and travel guides do not count. Drop a comment to express your interest! I have your name entered for this giveaway, they are:

  1. Jill@rhapsody in books
  2. Mel U@reading life
  3. Judith@Leeswammes Blog
  4. Bernadette@ReactionstoReading
  5. Stu@Winstondad’s blog
  6. Diane@Bibliophile by the Sea
  7. Vishy@Vishy’s blog
  8. Mystica
  9. Dolce Bellezza
  10. Bina@if you can read this
  11. Soul Muser@life’s wordsmith
  12. Kinna@Kinna Read
  13. Sharkell

These are the books for the giveaway, let me know which one you wish to win!:

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

27 thoughts on “City Reading Challenge and a Giveaway! – follow-up post

  1. I don’t remember entering! LOL But I don’t need to win any books so you can pull my name out of that part – I have enough books to last me through 2013! :–)

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | November 13, 2011, 1:26 pm
  2. I would love to win Room. It’s on my to-read list! Hopefully I can get a review book up by the end of the month too! 🙂

    Posted by ragoblogger | November 13, 2011, 10:51 pm
  3. Sadly no books on my tbr shelf that include a place name at all let alone a city, which I’m surprised at actually! The only book from your give-away I have read is The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time which I really loved. As for the rest I’m interested in trying Love, Eat, Pray and Stuart: A Life Backwards.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | November 14, 2011, 10:53 am
  4. I ll have to pick one out to review think I ve a couple with place names ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | November 15, 2011, 12:02 am
  5. Aw, Shanghai Girls ! it’s been a while since I last commented, not sure if I qualify, but just for fun. Let’s see, books on my tbr with city names, I think the first one that comes to mind is probably ” The guernsey literary and potato peel society” Just couldn’t resist dropping the ” Aw, Shanghai Girls ” comment because that’s the last book to complete my Lisa See collection. I really need to update my blog *guilty*

    Posted by Joanna | November 15, 2011, 3:43 pm
    • Joanna,
      Lisa See published “Dreams of Joy”, a sequel of Shanghai Girl this summer, so there will be 2 books before you complete the selection of Lisa See. 🙂
      Yes Guernsey and that potato peel thing of a book is one as well! Maybe I hate it therefore I didn’t put it in. 🙂 I look forward to reading your book blog. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | November 16, 2011, 11:09 am
  6. I’m on the list, awesome? What do I do? Sorry, long day! 😀 I read Reading Lolita and Night train ages ago, so I’ll just review those till the end of Nov? I’ll just get a full 8 hours of sleep and reread your post, from my stammering comment you would think it was rocket science.

    And hey, you’re back! (right? I mean this is live and not scheduled?) So, yay 🙂

    Posted by Bina | November 16, 2011, 9:37 pm
  7. Haha, how cute! I don’t remember entering, but nice to see I am there. But I never win anything in these draws 😦 If I ever do —-well Junichiro would be nice

    Posted by soulmuser | November 17, 2011, 12:38 pm
  8. This is wonderful, Jo! Happy City Reading Month! I read Thomas Mann’s ‘Death in Venice’ recently. I didn’t like the plot that much – there was not much of a plot but a long monologue on a writer – but Mann’s prose was beautiful and I loved many passages in the book. I read ‘Night Train to Lisbon’ sometime back and loved it – Mercier’s prose is so beautiful and this book is one of my alltime favourites. I never thought that ‘Timbuktu’ was the name of an actual city! I was surprised to know that it is the name of a city in Mali. It is amazing that you have found so many books on cities!

    Posted by Vishy | November 18, 2011, 6:43 am
    • Vishy,
      I’m really glad you read Thomas Mann but not sure if that’s for me. I will read the night train to Lisbon soon. Yes Timbuktu is a name of a city in Mali where they have this beautiful gigantic moat mosque is built in the middle of the desert.

      Posted by JoV | November 18, 2011, 10:24 am
  9. Great contest-I would love to win Room-hope all well with you

    Posted by Mel u | November 19, 2011, 10:05 pm
  10. Nice choices! I’d love to win the Joshua Ferris book. Thanks for doing the giveaway. 3 years of blogging is amazing – I’ve only done it for just over 1.5 years. I’m not sure I’ll make 3 years. We’ll see!

    Hope you’ll keep going for a long time, I love reading your reviews.

    Posted by Leeswammes | November 22, 2011, 9:15 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: and the Winner is…! (and toast to another year of blogging) « Bibliojunkie - December 2, 2011

  2. Pingback: I’m a Winner! « The Bookworm Chronicles - December 14, 2011

  3. Pingback: Stuart: A Life Backwards – Alexander Masters « The Bookworm Chronicles - March 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

