//
you're reading...
Reflection

On Internet and Reading Speed

You may have noticed my lack of comments on your site or you may not.

It is because my Internet connection in my area existence is near to zilch. All those posts of mine that you saw since last summer was posted with pain, at least 8 to 10 disconnecting and connecting of  Internet connection to get it right. I shouldn’t be apologising but I think my telco company should be the one who does. Ever since the telco tower collapsed in my area, this problem occurs. Multiple telephone calls logged on my end to no avail.

But I have been reading. It occurs to me that I manage to read 36 pages in 25 minutes train ride today. So lets take it that it is 35 pages per half an hour and an average book is about 350 pages for ease of calculation, that would explain why it took me 5 workdays for me to finish a book in my working week. About 5 hours a book.

Can I go any quicker? Guess not. There is a lot of other things to do in life.

What about you? How have you been keeping?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “On Internet and Reading Speed

  1. Jo, that is SO awkward, not having a good connection. It would make me feel as if I’m no longer part of the wider world. I hope it’s solved fast and for good.

    Reading: It’s nice that you get that time in the train and I guess you can’t go any faster than that. But that’s fine, it’s your reading speed. Although maybe at home, without the distractions from being i a train, you might be able to read faster.

    Posted by Leeswammes | November 21, 2011, 12:17 pm
    • Judith,
      Unfortunately I don’t think it will be solved that quickly. I really don’t know what to do. Move to another area? A little drastic! 😉 Re: reading speed you are right Judith, I tend to read a lot more when I have some quiet time alone. Appreciate your quick comment, you are always so quick! 😉

      Posted by JoV | November 21, 2011, 1:34 pm
  2. Yes I did notice your absence -hope your Internet back to normal soon-

    Posted by Mel u | November 21, 2011, 1:43 pm
  3. Don’t worry. It’s been sort of slow with the holiday coming up, etc.

    I don’t read for speed. Typically, I take my time with a book. I think if I pushed myself, I could read a book in a day but who wants to do that? It would take all the enjoyment out of it.

    Posted by Ti | November 21, 2011, 6:41 pm
  4. I sympathise. Last year I moved to a country area where broadband is not available, and right now, it’s driving me NUTS.

    Posted by Susan Bennett | November 22, 2011, 3:46 am
  5. I think you need to start working at home and blogging at work 😉

    Posted by Tony | November 22, 2011, 6:12 am
  6. Aw an internet connection like that would drive me mad!

    I think 5 hours to read one book is really impressive! You could maybe go faster if you read a fairly short book in one session. My reading hasn’t been too bad, have now finished the Read-A-Myth challenge 🙂

    Posted by jessicabookworm | November 22, 2011, 12:04 pm
  7. I do notice that 😉
    i know how difficult it is without good connection.Hope you settle it soon.
    I am a slow reader…time is really against me

    Posted by Novroz | November 22, 2011, 12:58 pm
  8. I hate bad bandwidth mine slows most evening hope yours sort itself out soon as for reading I try for 100 pages a day and do most days I tend to read in blocks for 1 -2 hours normally ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | November 23, 2011, 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

