//
you're reading...
Reflection

My Favourite Book of the Year

I know the year’s not finished yet but lovely Kim@Readingmatters has asked me to identify my favourite book of the year. I tend to shortlist my 10 favourite books of the year and in no particular order considered them to my best read of the year. It is hard to choose my favourite but I have picked one book that made me almost cried at the train station when I finished the last page of the book in April this year and this is the book:

 I said: “Hisham Matar’s writings remind me of Kazuo Ishiguro, except Hisham Matar exudes a sensitivity that I found hard to surpass. Perhaps he is writing about a topic that is so intimate and so dear to his personal tragedy that I feel his loss, his unresolved grief, like no other writers could ever make me feel.

I haven’t read a book that made me feel like that for a long time. In a deceptively simple prose, beautifully written and controlled, his words exude powerful impact.”

My full review can be found here: In the Country of Men

Kim’s quick reply informed me that someone has picked my favourite book of the year above to be featured, so to avoid being labelled unoriginal (due to the fact that I left it so late near the deadline of today to submit my choice) I am going to pick the following book as my next best favourite of the year book. It comes as no surprise that it is:

The Villain!

I said:

It is told in a subtle, clean and clear prose, like most Far Eastern novels, the plot is not particularly convoluted and complex, but the psychology of each characters is. I think this book could make a great book club discussion book. After I put down the book, it continues to haunt me, I can’t shake off the scenes in the book, for that I’m giving it a perfect 5.

My full review can be found here: Villain by Shuichi Yoshida

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “My Favourite Book of the Year

  1. I liked this book as well, and am currently listening to the audio of his new book: Anatomy of a Disappearance (semi-autobiographic).

    Posted by Diane@BibliophileBytheSea | November 30, 2011, 12:07 pm
  2. I haven’t read this one, but Anatomy of a Disappearance will make my top 10 of 2011. He is an amazing writer 🙂

    Posted by farmlanebooks | November 30, 2011, 1:10 pm
  3. Wow, thanks for the suggestion. It sounds like a wonderful book, and I’m glad I know it comes so highly recommended by you.

    Posted by Bellezza | November 30, 2011, 2:57 pm
  4. I’ve not read anything by this author. Perhaps I should check him out. I can’t even think about my top 10 yet. There were so many good ones, all of them for different reasons.

    Posted by Ti | November 30, 2011, 3:55 pm
  5. I am surprised you picked this book, especially as you read it so recently but it does sound like an interesting read. Don’t ask me to pick my favourite book. Its too a hard decision and I’m too indecisive!

    Posted by jessicabookworm | December 2, 2011, 10:13 am
  6. Very timely considering all that’s happened in Libya over the last six months or so.
    This book has been on my to read list for well over a year. Maybe I will finally read it thanks to you !

    Posted by maphead | December 3, 2011, 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

