//
you're reading...
Reflection

It’s wrap-up (although a little late!): October and November 2011

This wrap-up came a little too late but it is probably the last one until the grand finale at the end of the year. I didn’t read much in October as I was on the road half the time and also felt myself going through a phase of reading books half-way and abandoned them, with that short attention span I may be reading several books at one time which is something I rarely do.
Anyway, it’s a good two months. Most of these books are library loan, except for Dreams of Joy, which I must thank the publisher for it. I’m behind with my reading from my shelf project and as we are near the end of the year, I scratch my head and wonder why I would want to acquire books if I don’t read them and perhaps it is best not to do any plan and read at random next year. I do worry about my lack of discipline in this department!
All books read are rated at least 4 stars and above and I count The Villain as my favourite read. The rest is not too bad as well, all good in different ways.
October
  1. Daniel by Henning Mankell
  2. Until thy wrath be past by Åsa Larsson
November
  1. The Mind’s Eye by Håkan Nesser
  2. Unfinished Business by Boualem Sansal
  3. Desert Divers by Sven Lindqvist
  4. Dance, Dance, Dance by Haruki Murakami
  5. Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
  6. Dreams of Joy by Lisa See
  7. Villain by Shuichi Yoshida

Purchase
It’s been awhile since I share pictures of my book stack. So here they are, purchase for the month of November:
  1. The Case of the Man who died laughing by Tarquin Hall – An Indian cosy mystery, second in the series after The Case of Missing Servant by Tarquinn Hall
  2. My good friend sent me this book “The Birth House” by Amy McKay from Canada.
  3. The Thing Around Your Neck was absolutely beautiful. I read a few stories from the library and decided to get the book instead
  4. My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead is a short stories collection from Jeffrey Eugenides’ choice.
  5. To the Valley of Mist by Justine Hardy is about two families who see Kashmir through peace and war
  6. Simon Sebag Montefiore published Jerusalem this year and Stalin is another from him.
  7. Maps for Lost Lovers by Nadeem Aslam
  8. The Slap by Chistos Tsiolkas was reviewed last June and it is currently aired on BBC as TV series. I love it so much I thought I want to read it again someday.
  9. Lionel Shriver is one of my favourite author, So Much For That was going at £1, I can’t resist!
  10. and last…. is a 3-volume collection for A Suitable Boy. It would make my read for the book seems a little palatable now that it is a manageable 3 books rather than one single chunky book! It is psychological, I think I am more inclined to give up reading if I have to lug a big tomb for weeks… 😦
As for plan for next month…
I do feel pressured to finish the books on my TBR list but all of them seems hardwork, don’t you think?
  • Winter in Madrid – C.J. Sansom
  • Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
  • Love in the time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Revolutionary Road – Richard Yates
  • Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides

What would you recommend that I read first?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “It’s wrap-up (although a little late!): October and November 2011

  1. Sorry to hear things are going slow for you and you can’t concentrate much. Hope it’ll improve soon!

    What a lovely stack of new books. I also enjoyed The Slap a lot and it was a pity I couldn’t watch it on the BBC (saw just one episode) as it started at 11pm our time, which is just too late. And no iPlayer access either! Hopefully it’ll be shown on Dutch television soon.

    I’m thinking of taking it easy with my TBR next year and just read what I feel like. I’m not planning to finish X many books off the TBR next year – I’ll just see how it goes. Maybe I’m just “building up a library” so I don’t have to read them all right now. How does that sound for an excuse?

    Posted by Leeswammes | December 7, 2011, 1:28 pm
    • Judith,
      I hope it’s on Dutch TV soon and you get to watch it. I think your excuse sounds excellent and I’ll take your advice! I too am not planning to finish any X amount of books next year and refrain from signing up to too many challenges. that’s my head saying but we will see. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | December 8, 2011, 12:08 am
  2. Oohhh congrats on two great months, and what beautiful new books! I am with you – I wouldn’t be able to lug that around if it was one book. I trick myself with huge books by reading them on the Kindle 😉 heh

    Happy December!

    Posted by amymckie | December 7, 2011, 1:39 pm
  3. I LOVED Shanghai Girls and Dreams of Joy, they are my newest books to suggest to people looking for something good to read!

    Posted by Helen | December 7, 2011, 1:54 pm
  4. I too didn’t have a great reading month in October but perked up in November. I’m afraid I haven’t read any of the books you mention on your tbr pile, so can’t really help you choose what to go for next!

    Posted by jessicabookworm | December 7, 2011, 5:23 pm
  5. I go through ups and downs in my interest levels, too. A good classic is often what gets me out of a slump – I did so much enjoy Anthony Trollope’s Palliser novels early this year but they are quite an investment – 800 or so pages each! But very easy reading. I’ve now got Galsworthy’s Forsyte Saga standing by for the next batch of DNFs. I like your montage and the fact that the books you read almost equal the books you obtained. It is hard not to acquire books in one form or another but I hate having too many waiting to read as I usually want to read a book because I’ve read someone’s review of it, and it’s nice to do so there and then instead of after a long gap.

    Posted by Maxine | December 7, 2011, 7:35 pm
    • Maxine,
      A good thriller is my slump lifter. 🙂 You don’t say! and here I am thinking you only read Crime fictions. I do acquire as much as I read and I have just tabulated my annual expenses and guess what came out as a significant chunk?! No surprises, it’s book purchase. This has got to stop! 😉

      Posted by JoV | December 8, 2011, 12:15 am
  6. some lovely new books Jo v I ve totaly lost track of my reading for this year but hope you find more time and get back to read some more soon ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | December 7, 2011, 11:07 pm
    • Stu,
      Sometimes we all do, lost track of reading. I hope you come back on track after the hols but it will be great to wander once in awhile. As JRR Tolkien said, “All who wanders are not lost!”.

      Posted by JoV | December 8, 2011, 12:19 am
  7. Hey you’ve read so many great books and I’m drooling over your purchase pile (as usual!) 🙂 The Suitable Boy books still look intimidating 😉 But so much better to carry around in a bag this way. And it’s so true about kindle and chunksters.

    I feel like I’m all over the place with fun reading, I usually only have the energy to turn to a cosy crime after thesis writing all day. Guess the only positive thing about unemployment will be the time I’ll have for reading 😉

    Happy reading in december!

    Posted by Bina | December 9, 2011, 12:30 pm
    • Bina,
      I think cosy crime is great. I’m not reading a true crime which sends shivers down my spine! 😦 I have been there. I have been unemployed for a long while in 2008, so the good thing that came out of it was this blog and loads of reading! But let this not be an excuse that you are not trying hard to find a job! 😉 Happy December to you too Bina.

      Posted by JoV | December 11, 2011, 12:04 pm
  8. Sigh Jo, we are sailing in the same boat. I am struggling to read through books, so hate it when that happens. Love in the time of cholera was interesting – I am not sure if I ran through it, but I think it was fairly readable. But good luck though….I am trying hard to break my rut. Good luck with your reading.

    Posted by Soul Muser | December 9, 2011, 4:48 pm
  9. You’ve read The Slap! I finished it not long ago and found it weird and not as good as I’d hoped. The repetitive profanity bothered me to some extent.
    Middlesex is a very good book, I read it years ago and enjoyed it a lot.
    I watched the movie made after Love in the Time of Cholera (haven’t read the book, though) but if the book is better than the movie (as it’s often the case) then you’re in a for a treat!

    Posted by Delia (Postcards from Asia) | December 15, 2011, 3:41 pm
    • Delia,
      I hope to read Middlesex soon! I know the Love in the Time of Cholera movie adaptation didn’t get that great review, I hope to read the book then watch the movie. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | December 18, 2011, 12:20 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

