//
you're reading...
Reflection

January 2012: Wrap-up

This post came a little late but 2012 began with a good start with some great books that have thrilled, perplexed and made me close to tears. Choosing the book that made me close to tears as my favourite and hence rated it 5 stars.

This is also a month that I have trouble counting how many books I have read. The reason is attribute to Murakami’s 1Q84 Book 1 and 2, is it one books or two? Just for argument sake lets say 2, that means I have read 8 books this January. Far exceeded what I have expected because My Cousin Rachel takes a good while to finish for a relatively thin book due to the cold and lethargy, yet I was still at work.

Here’s my reading for January (ever since using this blog theme, my stars seems to be displayed a level higher, not sure why but I guess we have to make do with it! and the link seems to be displayed in black instead of blue when they are actually hyperlinks. Hmphh…. there is no perfect blog theme is there?!!):

  1. Before I go to sleep by SJ Watson 
  2. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami 
  3. Why be happy when you could be normal? by Jeanette Winterson 
  4. The Long March Home by Zoe S Roy
  5. The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party by Alexander McCall Smith 
  6. My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier 

Everyone has a bad day sometimes. What do you do on a bad day? You go out shopping. In my case, I go out book shopping. Although I am suppose to be on book buying ban, I figure that I don’t splurge on handbags, clothes or any luxury items, book buying is my only salvation. Straight out from my spreadsheet here are books that may get me closer to nirvana :

Book Title Author  Source
War and Peace Leo Tolstoy Purchased
In Arabian Nights Tahir Shah Purchased – Have read
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman Haruki Murakami Purchased
Season of Migration to the North Tayeb Salih Gift from Amy reads – big thanks!
The Corrections Jonthan Franzen Purchased
Freedom Jonthan Franzen Purchased
House of Sleep, The Jonathan Coe Purchased
Women’s Room, The Marilyn French Purchased

Plans for February

Here are what’s plan for February:

  1. Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
  2. I’m Feeling Lucky – Confessions by Google Employee number 59 by Douglas Edwards
  3. Wolf Totem by Jiang Rong – I promised to read this with Soul Muser@Life Wordsmith
  4. Bankers for the Poor by Muhammed Yunus
  5. Inside the Kingdom by Robert Lacey
  6. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  7. Manituana by Wu Ming
  8. Desert by J.M.G. Le Clezio
  9. Liquidation by Imre Kertesz
  10. Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok
  11. Even the dogs by Jon McGregor
  12. The Hand that first held mine by Maggie O’Farrell
  13. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  14. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

I’m not sure if I can do all 14 but I’ll try at least half of the list.

Does any of the books listed up there that jump out at you? or screaming to be read? It’s snowing on Saturday night in England. Besides playing in the snow, what’s your reading plan for February? I look forward to hear from you. Do keep warm. For those at Southern hemisphere, do take out your sunshades and enjoy the sun. 🙂

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “January 2012: Wrap-up

  1. I will put the Jeanette Winterson book on my wishlist since you liked it so much. Whether I’ll ever get around reading 1q84? I reserved it from the library, waited 2 months, then had too much other books to read so cancelled it. Must try again!

    I want to read Wolf Totem, though maybe not in February. Maybe I will tag along if I can. The Remains of the Day is such a beautiful book! I hope you’ll appreciate it as much as I did.

    Posted by Leeswammes | February 6, 2012, 8:40 pm
  2. you had a good January Jov and brought some lovely books as well ,good luck for feb ,all the best stu

    Posted by stujallen | February 6, 2012, 10:22 pm
  3. love your wrap up post.. great books on your list and am tempted to add many of them to mine as well.
    I need to work on a wrapup post for the month soon..

    Posted by LadyInRead | February 6, 2012, 10:38 pm
  4. Some good books there in February – ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ is a great (and quick!) read 🙂

    Posted by Tony | February 7, 2012, 7:45 am
  5. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Wolf Totem – it is a long book, but my opinion of it is actually going up over time. Enjoy!

    Posted by farmlanebooks | February 7, 2012, 9:21 am
  6. As always Jo I think you’ve had another great reading month. I definitely need to give My Cousin Rachel a go. I read four books in January which was pretty impressive considering how busy I was that month!

    This month I plan on finishing off Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy, catch up on another review copy, and would also love to read some more Agatha Raisin 🙂

    Posted by jessicabookworm | February 10, 2012, 9:58 am
    • Jessica,
      I’m intrigued with this Hunger game and Agatha Raisin thing…
      Well done for reading 4 books last month!

      Posted by JoV | February 10, 2012, 11:25 am
      • I was introduced to The Hunger Games by my boyfriend and my brother, who didn’t stop banging on about it. It is dystopian young agult trilogy, pretty heart racing stuff. As for Agatha Raisin I think you’d like these books, they are my ulitmate cosy crime reads. Look them both up on my blog I’ve banged on about them loads 😛

        Posted by jessicabookworm | February 10, 2012, 3:36 pm
  7. William Golding: DARKNESS VISIBLE, THE PAPER MAN, THE DOUBLE TONGUE

    Posted by Anna | February 11, 2012, 5:06 pm
  8. It’s been a while since I came here, but I’m loving this new look of your blog! 1Q84 should be counted as 4 books! I’m pretty sure the month I read it will have just that one book listed. Hope you’re having a great February!

    Posted by Aths | February 11, 2012, 8:25 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: How the eBook has affected sales | Walking News Paper - August 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

