//
you're reading...
Book Business

Orange Prize 2012 longlist announced! (So soon?)

Imagine my surprise when I heard that Orange Prize longlist is out! and I thought to myself “that early?” Orange prize is my  favourite reading list and now in its 17th year showcase some debut and famous women novelists. I read most of the shortlists last year and enjoyed most of them. This year, straight out of the Orange Prize website, these are the longlist and how likely I am to read them…

The announcement coincides with International Women’s Day 2012.

  • Island of Wings by Karin Altenberg (Quercus) – Swedish; 1st Novel (it screams “Scandinavian” I’m reading it!)
  • On the Floor by Aifric Campbell (Serpent’s Tail) – Irish; 3rd Novel (I will most likely to read it, I love reading about the finance industry and investment bankers!)
  • The Grief of Others by Leah Hager Cohen (The Clerkenwell Press) – American; 4th Novel
  • The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue (Picador) – Irish; 7th Novel (No more Donoghue for me please!, after Room)
  • Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan (Serpent’s Tail) – Canadian; 2nd Novel
  • The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright (Jonathan Cape) – Irish; 5th Novel (This book garners some great reviews, I hate “The Gathering” but this one may be different)
  • The Flying Man by Roopa Farooki (Headline Review) – British; 5th Novel (This will go well for my South Asian reading challenge)
  • Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon (Quercus) – American; 4th Novel
  • Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding (Bloomsbury) – British; 3rd Novel
  • Gillespie and I by Jane Harris (Faber & Faber) – British; 2nd Novel
  • The Translation of the Bones by Francesca Kay (Weidenfeld & Nicolson) – British; 2nd Novel
  • The Blue Book by A.L. Kennedy (Jonathan Cape) – British; 6th Novel
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Harvill Secker) – American; 1st Novel
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (Bloomsbury) – American; 1st Novel
  • Foreign Bodies by Cynthia Ozick (Atlantic Books) – American; 7th Novel
  • State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (Bloomsbury) – American; 6th Novel (I thought the title seems to imply an old book that I heard about before. Chances are I got confused with “Years of Wonder” by Geraldine Brooks! I didn’t like Bel Canto, but I’m reading this)
  • There but for the by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton) – British; 5th Novel (I am reading this now! Yes, Now!)
  • The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard (Alma Books) – British; 2nd Novel
  • Tides of War by Stella Tillyard (Chatto & Windus) – British; 1st Novel
  • The Submission by Amy Waldman (William Heinemann) – American; 1st Novel

I have no idea Orange prize longlist have been announced so early in the year, I will have to abandon all my reading plan for the next quarter now! what am I to do? OH NO!!! (and oh yes! ;))

What about you? Which one will you read?

These are the dates for Orange Prize fan to watch out for:

Orange Prize for Fiction shortlist announcement: 17 April

Orange Prize for Fiction shortlist readings: 29 May

Awards ceremony: 30 May

Orange Prize Longlist

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

20 thoughts on “Orange Prize 2012 longlist announced! (So soon?)

  1. I am such a bad reader; I haven’t read any of these!

    Posted by Helen | March 12, 2012, 2:44 am
  2. I’ve only read State of Wonder (yes, you may be confusing it with Years of Wonder) which I liked, but I didn’t think it was good enough to win a prize. Unlike you, I do want to read the next Donohue, I enjoyed Room much more than I thought I would.

    Oh, I also read The Night Circus which I really enjoyed.

    Posted by Leeswammes | March 12, 2012, 7:08 am
    • Judith,
      I’ll forget about the State of Wonder then. Considering I’m one of those people who didn’t think much about Bel Canto anyway. I’ll sit and wait out for the shortlist.. just got too much on… 😦

      Posted by JoV | March 12, 2012, 9:58 am
  3. I’m afraid I don’t usually take much notice of book awards, I’m much more likely to wait and see what you and other blogger’s enjoy off the list, and make a decision of what I want to give a go from that 🙂

    Posted by jessicabookworm | March 12, 2012, 11:15 am
    • Jessica,
      I am not this fanatic about the other awards but the Orange is special and there are more gems in this pile than any other which are shortlisted for Costa and Man Booker. 😉 I’ll keeping a keen watch on the shortlist and then work my way from there. 😉

      Posted by JoV | March 12, 2012, 12:11 pm
  4. The Orange longlist does seem to creep up on you and then jump out very early. This year it has been announced a week earlier than usual, so that might account for the extra surprise.

    If you didn’t like The Gathering then I suspect you’ll have problems with The Forgotten Waltz. Both have a similar writing style. The only difference is that her latest one is about a romance and so is a bit happier.

    On the opposite note. The Scarlet Lettter is very different to Room. It is a piece of historical fiction with lots of detail about Victorian London. You might enjoy it.

    Have fun with your oranges 🙂

    Posted by farmlanebooks | March 12, 2012, 12:23 pm
    • Jackie,
      I didn’t like what goes on in The Gathering but I’m willing to give the Forgotten Waltz a go. Now Sealed letter sounds appealing too. Thanks for the advice Jackie!

      Posted by JoV | March 12, 2012, 4:23 pm
  5. I adored State of Wonder even more than Bel Canto, but if you didn’t like that one, perhaps you’ll feel the same way. I concur with Jackie re: Emma Donoghue. Before Room she wrote historical fiction, so it’s quite different. I’m reading them all, as I adore the Orange. I’ve read five so far and am also reading There but for the right now (and loving it.) Happy reading!

    Posted by nomadreader | March 12, 2012, 3:19 pm
    • Carrie,
      I am reading There but for the too and is in the chapter of But. It’s rather quirky and that’s what Ali Smith is best known for.. The premise of State of Wonder is interesting… ohhhh…! I can’t decide!!! 🙂

      Happy reading to you too.

      Posted by JoV | March 12, 2012, 4:23 pm
  6. I know you’re waiting for the shortlist.. but, go and read The Song for Achilles and The Night Circus 🙂 I loved them!

    Posted by Chinoiseries | March 17, 2012, 9:06 pm
  7. Interesting longlist, Jo! I didn’t know that there would be so many books in the longlist. This is the size of my entire year’s reading list 🙂 How can one read all the longlisted novels!! I didn’t know that there was a publisher called ‘Serpent’s Tail’. I love that name 🙂

    I am surprised at the structure of the longlist. There are 7 American writers, 8 British writers, 3 Irish writers, 1 Canadian writer and 1 Swedish writer. Does the Orange prize cover only books published in English? Also, why aren’t there no Australian writers?

    Can’t wait for the shortlist and your thoughts on the longlisted books that you read.

    Posted by Vishy | March 19, 2012, 5:00 pm
    • Vishy,
      Therefore I’m waiting for the shortlists. I was hoping Kate Grenville’s “Sarah Thornhill” may get longlisted. I was disappointed. Lionel Shriver published under the ‘Serpent’s Tail’ before. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | March 19, 2012, 9:20 pm
      • I hope Kate Grenville’s book had made it to the shortlist too. I haven’t read any of her works, but if you like her, she must be wonderful 🙂 Interesting to know that Lionel Shriver published under Serpent’s Tail. A publisher with such a cool name must be having some cool authors in its stable 🙂 I can’t wait to look at their catalogue.

        Posted by Vishy | March 20, 2012, 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

