//
you're reading...
Fiction

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

“I’ve lost it. :( The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive!! :)

And the book pretty much continues with similar style with lots of smiley faces, text kisses and text messages.

A couple of glasses of bubbly with the girls at a charity do and Poppy’s life has gone into meltdown. Not only has she lost her engagement ring, emerald claim to be the heirloom of fiancé Magnus Travis; but in the panic that followed, she got mugged and lost her phone. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number with the hotel staff. It was meant to be!

Except the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back, and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life and Poppy needs to keep Sam’s mobile phone because it is crucial that her friends contact her if they found the ring.

Somehow Poppy manages to convince Sam to let her hang on to the phone for a few days to bide her time. In return, she offers to become Sam’s temporary PA, forwarding any e-mails and text messages to him. So she’s sharing an inbox with a complete stranger for a couple of days. It can’t be that hard, can it?

Thus unravels a tragicomic of revelations and errors as Poppy becomes closer to a man she doesn’t know than the man she is about to marry. 

As usual she used her great tried and tested formulae. If I recount what are Kinsella selling point that won my vote, I would say is this:

  1. She paces her book well, sustaining interest evenly throughout. Sophie Kinsella opens the book at breakneck speed and keeps up the pace throughout. From page one we are thrown into Poppy’s hyperventilating panic
  2. Her book makes you laugh because her heroines are ineffectual yet always ended up solving an intellectual problem by fluke
  3. I like that she injects some corporate antics and politics in her book
  4. On top of everything else Kinsella is a keen observer of contemporary popular culture.

In every book I am able to find social trends or occurrence that I could relate to. In this book Kinsella questions if mobile phone is the most intimate piece of gadget we ever own and if we would share our mobile phones with our partners.

What is most interesting that is mentioned in one instance where Poppy thought Sam’s email replies were to short and curt. Such as: “Ok fine.” “Ok, Thank you.” For many years I have been bothered by people who gave mono-syllabus reply on email and would assume the other person as being inpersonal and very blunt. Men usually write short replies while women tend to explain themselves unnecessarily. Could it be also that women are more insecure that they feel they have to write longer replies with smiley faces and lots of xxx kisses? :D I just did it again! (Honestly I didn’t know xxx were kisses until this book confirms it).

No one underestimates the power of Sophie Kinsella. I hardly read chicklit but I’m willing to read a few more to compare. Her hardback books are selling £18.99 more expensive than other hardbacks and less than a non-fiction hardback. Her writing style makes it cross-Atlantic friendly. Although written in UK English, some expressions are American. I particularly like it (or hate it!) that in this book, Kinsella uses a lot of footnotes. You see, I hate footnotes. I tend to overlook footnotes and by the time I get to the end of the page and found a footnote, I have to backtrack what I read to find that tiny whinny numerical subscript! I hate footnotes and because Kinsella uses them indiscriminately in this novel, it makes it seems hilarious.

I like Kinsella’s stand-alone novel better than her shopaholics series and this without exception.

Rating: 

Hardback. Publisher: Bantam Press 2012; Length: 381 pages; Setting: England.  Source: Reading Library copy. Finished reading at: 15th March 2012, Thursday.

Other Kinsella’s books review:

Undomestic Goddess

Twenties Girl

Mini Shopaholic

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

  1. So you liked this reasonably well? I’ve got this book, not read it yet. I like Kinsella’s books for a few hours’ of light reading and a laugh. I agree that the stand-alone books are better than the shopaholic series – I think Becky in Shopaholic is just too silly. I LOVED The Undomestic Goddess and it’s one of my favorite chick-lits (if not the favorite).

    Posted by Leeswammes | March 17, 2012, 8:04 am
    • Judith,
      I do like Kinsella’s novel. Becky is just too silly and I’m not really a brand conscious and shopping person so I cannot relate to Becky that much! :)

      I look forward to hear what you think of this book! It will be another blast. :)

      Posted by JoV | March 17, 2012, 10:48 am
      • I’ve read I’ve Got Your Number now (review forthcoming) and I’m also giving it 3.5 stars. I was disappointed that this was another case where the protagonist is a silly girl without a brain. This type of book gives chick-lit a bad name. There are many intelligent chick-lits out there, this isn’t one.

        Having said that, it was a fun read.

        Posted by Leeswammes | May 5, 2012, 7:29 am
        • Judith,
          Is there intelligent girl chicklit? Let me know! I thought Becky of Undomesticated Goddess is quite intelligent. But overall Kinsella’s heroines are mostly hare-brained!

          Posted by JoV | May 5, 2012, 11:57 am
          • Yes, that’s right. The Undomestic Goddess has a reasonably intelligent main character. Also books by Maeve Binchy and Marian Keyes are quite decent. There are many more. Anything that doesn’t remind of Bridget Jones, I guess. :-)

            Posted by Leeswammes | May 5, 2012, 1:59 pm
          • Judith,
            Ughh! Bridget Jones! :)

            Posted by JoV | May 5, 2012, 2:01 pm
  2. How original, using emoticons in a novel :) I have to admit that I’ve not yet read a Kinsella book, because I’ve been prejudiced into thinking her writings are simple chick-lit (which is perfectly fine, but I’ve not really been in the mood for one). But now you’ve got me curious!

    Posted by Chinoiseries | March 17, 2012, 9:04 pm
    • Chinoiseries,
      She is not the run-of-the-mill chicklit writer. Give Sophie Kinsella a go and you will know what I am talking about! ;) When you need something to lift you out of the gloom. Her books are the one!

      Posted by JoV | March 17, 2012, 9:10 pm
  3. I had no desire to read Sophie Kinsella’s novels before, but now I think I might give it a try one day!

    ” For many years I have been bothered by people who gave mono-syllabus reply on email and would assume the other person as being inpersonal and very blunt. Men usually write short replies while women tend to explain themselves unnecessarily. ”

    Same here!!!! But lately I tend to be as simple and short as I can (in an effort to display decisiveness and preciseness LOL). Also, I noticed women tend to overanalyze the texts/ emails they receive from guys. If the guys happen to use an exclamation mark or emoticon, they will wonder why and dwell on it (although in most cases the guys mean nothing more than the message sent) :P

    Posted by Ting Ting | March 18, 2012, 3:36 am
  4. Hahaha you beat me to it. My reserved copy is available. I am collecting it today at the library near my office!

    Posted by Wilfrid | March 22, 2012, 12:19 am
  5. Hmm I keep seeing this author’s books everywhere but I’m not a huge chicklit fan and can never bring myself to pick up one of her books. I’m also not a everyday life reader, like a bit of escapism, so maybe best I skip these.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | March 22, 2012, 12:36 pm
  6. I enjoyed this one too, and I’m with you – she really manages to capture contemporary culture well.

    Posted by Aths | March 31, 2012, 5:11 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: March 2012 : Wrap-up! « JoV's Book Pyramid - April 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

