//
you're reading...
Reflection

March 2012 : Wrap-up!

It took me rather long to write this wrap-up post due to catching a bug that made my head spun and close to black-out when I read or stay too long on the computer. Nevertheless, it’s been a good March with 9 books in the bag and DNF American Gods.

  1. Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
  2. Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville
  3. The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino
  4. I’ve got your number by Sophie Kinsella
  5. There but for the by Ali Smith
  6. The Remains of the Day Kazuo Ishiguro
  7. We Had it So Good by Linda Grant
  8. Our Man in Havana by Graham Greene
  9. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Note: I’m not sure why with this blog theme all my star rating as images had gone awry!

It’s been a good month and I count the 4.5 and 5 stars as my favourite books of the month. It’s better than the previous months, I’m glad that the first quarter of 2012 ends with a high.

The first quarter saw me reading 20 books.  20 doesn’t sound that much and if I go on at this rate (which I doubt I would), I’ll be finishing the year with 80. It is a pressure to think of those mounting TBR that never seems to scale down and I wish I could read faster. This is also the quarter that I pass 200,000 on my blog hits, so it marked another milestones in my short career of blogging. 😀

Purchase

I have got 8 new books into my TBR stack this March but I’d like to showcase the 3 I thought were my pride possession.

These are some beautiful hardbacks I got this month. The Night Circus is one of the most beautiful books I have owned, it’s a shame I didn’t like the story that much. I won Caleb’s Crossing from Orange prize giveaway hosts Magic Lasso. I found J.M. Coetzee’s Scenes from Provincial Life for a bargain. Scenes from Provincial Life is actually a compilation of 3 books, Childhood, Youth and Summertime, which are loosely based on J.M. Coetzee’s life and it is termed as “fictionalised autobiography”. 😉

Plans for April

I’m going to watch out for the April’s Orange Prize shortlists announcement and juggle my schedule to read some of those shortlists. I read very few books that contributes to any of my reading challenge last quarter so I hope the next quarter will see me focus more on reading books I had planned to read. It doesn’t help when I easily get distracted by what’s new and what’s on the Orange Prize shortlists, so focus is in short supply in this very exciting quarter of more Orange prize reading and more sunshine!

Here’s my plan, what about yours?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “March 2012 : Wrap-up!

  1. You had a good reading month, looking at the star ratings! I hope you’re feeling fine again soon, it sounds awful when you’re ill and you can’t even read. What can you do?

    The new books look great. I also have a wonderful copy of The Night Circus (different from yours). I have read most of Brooks’ books so I hope to read Caleb’s Crossing sometime. I’ll await your review!

    Posted by Leeswammes | April 10, 2012, 8:33 am
    • Judith
      I felt like the end of the world! 😦 It’s a pleasant surprise to hear you read most of Brooks’ novels! I have got 4 of them with me, maybe one day…
      Thanks for your comforting words. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | April 10, 2012, 8:44 am
  2. We must be the only people who don’t put The Night Circus and Buddha in the Attic at the top of our ratings chart. I’m going to try to get the new Grenville from the library – hopefully it will make the top of my April list 🙂

    Posted by Jackie Bailey (@farmlanebooks) | April 10, 2012, 11:07 am
    • Jackie,
      I know, and I’m afraid I get beaten up for not loving The Night Circus! 😀
      I hope you like Sarah Thornhill. It’s Grenville unique writing and probably Aussie lingo which makes the story very engaging. But I don’t want to set your sight too high and be disappointed later on… so ignore you ever hear it from me that it is good! lol 😀

      Posted by JoV | April 11, 2012, 8:12 am
  3. Looks like you had a good month! I have been thinking about my reading a lot lately and why I am reading what I am reading. I feel a little derailed. I haven’t enjoyed my book group books for the past few months and I think that’s what is throwing me off. I need to regroup and read what I want for a couple weeks, not worrying about challenges, etc

    Posted by smroyals | April 10, 2012, 1:09 pm
    • smroyals,
      Don’t worry too much. All of us get a little derailed (most of the time) because there are so many wonderful books out there. I haven’t been part of a book club before, I know I may have missed out but I can’t stick to a reading and also I hate being asked to read a book that I don’t want to read!
      Hope you find your mojo soon..

      Posted by JoV | April 11, 2012, 8:17 am
  4. I’ll be adjusting my reading based on the Orange shortlist announcement Tuesday, as well as the Pulitzer announcement Monday. I hope to finish a few other things before then too. Happy reading!

    Posted by nomadreader | April 10, 2012, 3:47 pm
    • nomadreader,
      Is it Tuesday? I thought it is 19 or 20 April. I’ll be watching for it. For some reason I can’t get into most Pulitzer prize winners, except Jhumpa Lahiri. I too would be adjusting according to the Orange Prize shortlist. Here’s wishing you a Happy Reading for April!

      Posted by JoV | April 11, 2012, 8:26 am
  5. my plans clear books been sent whilst reading IFFP longlist about ten so that is April gonE Jov ,I read one of your march books OUR MAN IN ,All the best for the next month ,stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | April 11, 2012, 6:05 pm
  6. As always well done for a great reading month 🙂

    No huge plans for me need to work harder on my review copy tbr pile, and also going on holiday so need to think of what would the best books to read by the pool 😛

    Posted by jessicabookworm | April 12, 2012, 7:36 am
  7. What a great month of reading! I have to say I agree with your ratings of The Buddha in the Attic and The Night Circus. You have me adding several more titles to my TBR list.

    Posted by Gavin | April 12, 2012, 2:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

