//
you're reading...
Book Business

The future is no longer Orange for fiction prize

The State of Wonder has finally come through from my reservation list after waiting for 5 weeks. I’m not sure if I have the will to read it and review it before the prize is announced.

These are my review for the following 5 books I have read so far.

  1. The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright 
  2. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller  
  3. Foreign Bodies by Cynthia Ozick 
  4. Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan 
  5. Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding 

Experience shows none of us could accurately predict who will win but if any of these three win, number 1, 2 and 4 on my list, it would make me a happy woman. I think they are entertaining and deeply affecting read and the Orange Prize is the best thing in the world of literature since slice bread.

Having said that I read a sad and disappointing news about Orange Prize yesterday. The Orange Prize for women’s fiction has suffered a major setback after the mobile phone giant announced yesterday it would end its 17-year sponsorship.

But author Kate Mosse, the prize’s honorary director, said she was confident a new backer would be found and the prize would seize the moment to “go global”.

“The home of the prize is in the UK. But we would like to be able to grow the prize and take it into different international markets. Technology has made the world smaller. The idea of starting to talk to writers and readers all over the world feels quite exciting.” Ms Mosse said. Hmm.. I don’t quite get this, I thought Orange prize is international?

There are hopes of a new name and sponsor by September.

What will the prize be called in the future? Mango? Apple? Or Pear prize? We will just have to wait and see!

 apple nutrition facts, apple fruit nutrition pear.jpg
About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “The future is no longer Orange for fiction prize

  1. I missed this news. I hope they get a sponsor and that they do not stop presenting these awards!

    On a side note, if it becomes Apple awards, we already know who the sponsor is, lol! I would prefer a name that doesn’t involve the sponsor’s name – that’s about the worst way to name an award, though I can see how it can be appealing financially. (Or maybe award is fine. Like Orange Women Writers’ awards or something).

    Posted by Athira | May 23, 2012, 11:55 am
    • Aths,
      This is what happens when you name an award on the sponsor’s company name. When the company stops sponsoring it, the legacy is lost! I got to know 2 years ago that Man Booker Prize was sponsored by a very wealthy investment banking group called MAN!! I think naming it after a dead writers / poets / literary figure would be more appropriate. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | May 23, 2012, 2:53 pm
  2. I do hope they find a new sponsor as I love the Orange prize. Over the years it has introduced me to so many wonderful books!

    Posted by Sam (Tiny Library) | May 23, 2012, 7:47 pm
    • Sam,
      I just follow the shortlist seriously 2 years ago and I’m with you in this that Orange prize has introduced me to many new female writers! Some of them are great!

      Posted by JoV | May 23, 2012, 7:59 pm
  3. I hope that Enright or Edugyan scoop the prize, but it could be anyone this year. I’m not sure how well it will work once the prize is renamed, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a smooth transition.

    Posted by Jackie Bailey (@farmlanebooks) | May 23, 2012, 9:00 pm
  4. I certainly hope this is not the end of the Orange prize. I’ve met so many awesome writers through it…

    Posted by Amritorupa Kanjilal | May 24, 2012, 5:13 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

