//
you're reading...
Book Business

These writers published quicker than I can read!

Every time I missed my connection train on my way back from work, I would stop at the Reading train station WH Smith bookstore and have a peep at the book chart. Every time without fail, I came out putting more books in my mental TBR and all I can do is shake my head and lament: “Geez…These writers are publishing quicker than I can read!”

So what books I have discovered today that I wanted to read?

I have read like 4 books from Tony Parsons and most of them I was thoroughly entertained. I am not the only one who think so as the shelf space bearing this book is almost empty out as readers are buying this for a holiday under the run read. The blurb:

“Just how badly do you want to find paradise? When taxi driver Tom Finn is almost jailed for confronting two burglars in his own home, he leaves broken Britain and takes his wife and children to live on the tropical island of Phuket, Thailand. Phuket is all the Finn family dreamed of — a tropical paradise where the children swim with elephants, the gibbons sing love songs in the jungle, the Andaman Sea is like turquoise glass and this young family is free to grow. But both man-made disaster and the unleashed forces of nature shatter this tropical idyll. CATCHING THE SUN is a gripping, moving story of a family who go in search of Paradise — and end up discovering themselves.”

I’d love to read something a fictional about Saudi Arabia, and this seems to be one that talks about a family holding by the thread:

“More than two decades after moving to Saudi Arabia and marrying powerful Abdullah Baylani, American-born Rosalie learns that her husband has taken a second wife. That discovery plunges their family into chaos as Rosalie grapples with leaving Saudi Arabia, her life, and her family behind. Meanwhile, Abdullah and Rosalie’s consuming personal entanglements blind them to the crisis approaching their sixteen-year-old son, Faisal, whose deepening resentment toward their lifestyle has led to his involvement with a controversial sheikh. When Faisal makes a choice that could destroy everything his embattled family holds dear, all must confront difficult truths as they fight to preserve what remains of their world.”

While growing up in the late 80′s, the name Imran Khan was making headlines in the news, both as a world famous cricket player and his marriage to Jemima. I don’t understand the game cricket but this man is definitely fascinating to watch. So now I heard he is an active politician. While flipping through this paperback with a few glossy photographs of his life, I am reminded that he has been active in politics for a long time and his philanthropy missions aplenty. Certainly worth reading his autobiography about his life and his country. The blurb:

“Born only five years after Pakistan was created in 1947, Imran Khan has lived his country’s history. Undermined by a ruling elite hungry for money and power, Pakistan now stands alone as the only Islamic country with a nuclear bomb, yet unable to protect its people from the carnage of regular bombings at home. How did it reach this flashpoint of instability and injustice with such potentially catastrophic results for the whole world?

Recounting his country’s history through the prism of his own memories, Imran Khan starts from its foundation, ripped out of the dying British Raj. He guides us through and comments on subsequent historical developments which shook the Muslim world — the wars with India in 1965 and 1971, the Iranian Revolution of 1979, the Societ invasion of Afghanistan, the 9/11 terrorist attacks — to the current controversial and intractable war in Afghanistan. Throughout we see these events viewed not only through the eyes of Westerners, but through those of ordinary Pakistanis.”

I do get a lot of ideas when I drop in at the book shop occasionally. I’m lucky enough today to have a few minutes to blog about it, most of the time I forget about it. How the h*ll did so many writers write and publish so many books nowadays?!! Slow down! I haven’t finish reading the books that I’ve got yet!

So what do you think about these three titles that caught my eyes? Would you be interested to read them?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “These writers published quicker than I can read!

  1. I ve read a tony parson but none of the others I ve read Jov ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | June 20, 2012, 9:38 pm
  2. All new authors to me, but you’ll keep up I’m sure. You read lightning fast!

    Posted by Ti | June 21, 2012, 2:48 pm
    • Ti,
      Not anymore Ti! I can’t visit yours and many other blogs these days because of work and study and two boys…

      I try to read, but it is getting harder and harder! I hope you are having fun and keeping well in the summer.

      Posted by JoV | June 23, 2012, 7:06 pm
  3. I used to get all of Tony Parsons’s books when I traveled to the UK for work – loved the LHR WH Smith! But I haven’t read him now in a while – thanks for the reminder!

    Posted by booksnyc | June 25, 2012, 12:23 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

