//
you're reading...
Reflection

Last holiday recalled (Chamonix-Geneva-Berlin)

Thank for your well wishes on the safe trip to Europe 3 weeks ago. I hope to share some lovely pictures from the Mont Blanc and Berlin with you.

Just one day before the trip I received my new Canon Powershot SX40, so absolutely over the moon that more vivid and fabulous pictures could be taken with my enhanced camera.

Chamonix-Mont Blanc is just one of those places on earth which offers a taste of paradise, everywhere I looked there is this picturesque view of the mighty Mont Blanc and its sister peaks.

I caught my version of the same picture posted in this post. The difference is I took it in early morning, while the other one is late afternoon.

My husband and two boys walking at the Merlet Animal Park in Les Houches, facing the Mont Blanc and Le Boissons glacier

Mont Blanc at 35 times zoom.

The following plaque commemorate the infamous Nazi book burning ceremony held in the evening of May 10, 1933 at Bebelplatz in front of the Humboldt University. It was instructed by members of the SA (“brownshirts”), SS, Nazi students and Hitler Youth groups, on the instigation of Propaganda Minister Joseph Goebbels. The Nazis under the leadership of Adolf Hitler burned around 20,000 books, including works by Thomas Mann, Erich Maria Remarque, Heinrich Heine, Karl Marx and many other authors.

A line of Heinrich Heine is engraved in the plaque, stating “Das war ein vorspiel nur wo man Bücher verbrennt, verbrennt man am Ende auch Menschen” (in English: “Where they burn books, they ultimately burn people“), which prove to be true in the atrocities committed in the Holocaust.

Sachsenhausen concentration camp in north of Berlin, a prototype of many to come around Europe during WWII.

Concrete blocks that remember “The Murdered Jews of Europe” is scattered at the corner of the Berlin Tiergarten “Central Park”.

This must have been what it feels like looking through the Berlin Wall……

During the cold war era, this amiable scene of the two is beyond imagination. These are just several mascots stationed in front of Brandenburg Tor to earn a few Euros from tourists who wish to take pictures with them!

The pictures above proved that all the more reason we should have the United Nation to keep peace. As I looked upon the Swiss and United Nations flags flapping against the wind in Geneva, a surge of emotion flood including conflicting feelings of pride and sadness. There is yet so much to do and wonder if we are any closer to achieve a peaceful world of united nations……

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

20 thoughts on “Last holiday recalled (Chamonix-Geneva-Berlin)

  1. Gorgeous travel photos! I’ve been to Berlin, but never to Switzerland, so I liked getting a peak through your eyes. Looks like your new camera takes really great pictures (which I always think are the very best souvenirs you can have from a trip!), so I’m glad it managed to arrive just in time for your trip.

    Posted by Steph | June 24, 2012, 2:20 am
    • Steph,
      Thanks for the kind words. That’s all the souvenirs I have got since we travel light. I hope your travel itinerary includes Switzerland because it is beautiful…(but expensive!).

      Posted by JoV | June 24, 2012, 1:20 pm
  2. Gorgeous pics, I love the one with the snowy mountains. That was great, getting your new camera just before leaving for a holiday! Looking forward to more pics.

    Posted by Delia (Postcards from Asia) | June 24, 2012, 10:30 am
  3. Beautiful pictures! I especially love the one with your family, nicely in red, white, and blue against the green/grey of the grass and the mountains.

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time!

    Posted by Judith | June 24, 2012, 11:57 am
  4. Graet photos! I’m the opposte to Steph – I’ve been to Switzerland, but not Berlin. I’ve never been to any concentration camps or WWII memorials in Germany. I’m sure I’ll go one day, but I imagine it is a very emtional thing to do.

    Posted by farmlanebooks | June 24, 2012, 12:21 pm
    • Jackie,
      It would be emotional but worth a look. Berlin is surprising in a good way. Very vibrant, alive and spoil for choice, albeit the dark history it’s a city that no one will ever be bored!

      Posted by JoV | June 24, 2012, 1:23 pm
  5. wonderful picture Jov ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | June 24, 2012, 1:10 pm
  6. Fantastic photos! I so want to travel to Switzerland and Berlin again, it’s been about 15 years since my last trip there.

    Posted by Helen | June 24, 2012, 7:41 pm
  7. I was in Berlin more than 10 years ago and I was struck by how little they acknowledged their history – I took a city tour and the Wall was never even mentioned! So I am glad to see they seemed to have moved forward in that regard.

    Posted by booksnyc | June 25, 2012, 12:19 am
    • Booksync,
      Thanks for dropping by. Mention or not, Berlin Wall is one thing in a tourist mind to take a look at it. It’s glaringly the landscape of the city, but yes things have changed since, there is a wall memorial and other on-site historical information, depending which part of the wall you are visiting. 🙂

      Posted by JoV | June 28, 2012, 6:11 am
  8. Thank you for sharing these photos and experiences JoV looks like you had a great and really interesting trip. A lot of these places I would like to visit myself.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | June 26, 2012, 9:24 am
  9. Oh wow! What a beautiful place! I love mountains – and your photos are breathtaking! Sigh…now I wish I can pack my bags and go somewhere, anyhere.

    Posted by Soulmuser | June 26, 2012, 2:11 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Berlin book | Innovbois - June 26, 2012

  2. Pingback: It’s a wrap! June 2012 « JoV's Book Pyramid - July 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

