//
you're reading...
Reflection

It’s a wrap! June 2012

The colourful array of book covers above are books read for May and June 2012.

May

  1. Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan 
  2. Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding 
  3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 
  4. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  5. Liquidation by Imre Kertesz 
  6. The Color Purple by Alice Walker 
  7. Please Look After Mother by Kyung Sook-Shin
  8. Pereira Maintains by Antonio Tabucchi 

June

  1. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe 
  2. State of Wonder by Ann Pratchett
  3. What Chinese don’t eat
  4. The House of Mosque by Kader Abdolah 
  5. Gold Boy Emerald Girl by Yiyun Li 

I am pleased that I have got 4 translated fiction in my list and have travelled 10 countries of which two I thought was exotic and entertaining read, Things Fall Apart and The House of Mosque. They are my favourite read of the month. Non-fiction wise, Into the Wild takes the crown. Since my post is published it has consistently stay on the top post for many weeks, I wonder why…

It is a very good two months, with many good reads rated at 4.5 stars. Most surprising books, besides Things Fall Apart and The House of Mosque, are The Color Purple and The Hunger Games. I didn’t expect these to be so readable and entertaining. Any turkey for the month? Not really but I can’t wait for Painter of Silence and Liquidation to finish. It was meh for me. in 29 May, congratulations to Madeline Miller who won the final Orange Prize 2012 for The Song of Achilles. It deserves to win and hope this will attract more readers to read the book and other stories in the Greek Mythologies.

Besides writing about reviews I shared a favourite quote on Booking through Thursday: pregnancy and being a foreigner and also shared some travel pictures on my last holiday at Last holiday recalled : Chamonix-Geneva-Berlin.

The British Summer hasn’t feel like it has taken off, with windy wet weather and spurts of sunshine the next. While I was abroad, the poor caravan holiday makers in Wales were awashed by flood water. I quite enjoy myself indoors and the weather doesn’t really get me down but hayfever is in the air and I probably caught it.

I haven’t had any reading plans for July except trying to scale down reading and work hard in returning my library pile. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer with lots of splashing and running about and may it be a memorable one. ;)

I’ll leave you with some more of my favourite travel shots.

The river Annecy flowing into Lake Annecy, France. An old town with water canals and quaint stores

A water fountain at the English Garden on the quay of Lake Geneva.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “It’s a wrap! June 2012

  1. As always JoV what wonderfully diverse reading you’ve been doing. And I love that picture of the river, that building in the middle is amazing.

    Posted by jessicabookworm | July 6, 2012, 6:41 pm
  2. Love the collage of book covers :-) You’v been pretty productive, despite (or because of?) your holidays! Your photos somehow remind me of Venice and Rome. I bet the weather was a lot nicer than it is at the moment in flooded UK and stormy Holland!
    Yours is the umpteenth positive review I’ve seen of the YA book The Hunger Games, I guess the time has come to give it a go…

    Posted by Chinoiseries | July 7, 2012, 12:01 pm
    • Chinoiseries,
      Give Hunger Games a go. I thought it was very clever and light read. I was chasing up on the Orange Prize in May but number of books read has halved then in June. I think it will be few in this Summer too. Thanks for dropping by!

      Posted by JoV | July 7, 2012, 1:18 pm
  3. I have seen Into The Wild and I like it. I have been wondering about the book ever since

    Posted by Novroz | July 7, 2012, 6:53 pm
  4. thats a great month or two Jov and some lovely place you’ve been ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | July 9, 2012, 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

