//
you're reading...
Reflection

Travel photos – Agadir beach scenes

I know, it’s autumn. We do not need to be reminded of the summer that’s gone.

But a promise is a promise, so I hope to show you a series of travel pictures in 2 (or 3) separate posts. This year I have an overbooked of holidays and I am feeling slightly guilty about it. Too much of a good things can be a bane! Travelling has been a passion and a strong calling of mine. At this present moment, I feel the urge to create a travel blog. Sigh, I can’t even do a good job on this one what makes me think I could keep a travel blog running?!

I hope I don’t sound like a broken record, but I’ll say this again “I am not a beach person.” but there are millions of Moroccans and tourists who are and my boys at home love the beach, so mommy has to give in. 😉

A.Tagazhout-B.Agadir-C.Aglou

Agadir

Agadir has a population of 678,596 (include the nearby cities of Inezgane and Aït Melloul). The population of the city proper is estimated at 200,000. The mild winter climate (January average midday temperature 20.5°C/69°F) and good beaches have made it a major “winter sun” destination for Northern Europeans. The city is located on the shore of the Atlantic Ocean, near the foot of the Atlas Mountains, just north of the point where the Souss River flows into the ocean.

Agadir is an important fishing and commercial port, the first sardine port in the world, (exporting cobalt, manganese, zinc and citrus). It is also a seaside resort with a long sandy beach. Because of its large buildings, wide roads, modern hotels, and European-style cafés, Agadir is not a typical city of traditional Morocco, but it is a modern, busy and dynamic town. Agadir is famous for its sea food and agriculture.

So here goes! (Click for on individual picture for a larger image if you wish).

Visitors to the Agadir beach will not miss the hill with the Arabic inscription of “God, the King and the Nation”.

This is my very first time in Morocco during the summer (other times I try to avoid it) so I was pleasantly surprised to find so many local sun worshippers, stretching as far as the eyes can see.

The locals

The tourists, but not always..!

There are some art works for those who would want to bring a feel of Morocco back to their homes…..

We made our way up to the hill, shown in the first picture above, by car and this is the view of Agadir bay I took from the peak. As the sun sets, a darker shade of night envelope the sky.

Up at the peak of the hill is the Agadir kasbah, in ruin. I came here in Autumn last year but this is my first time with super-duper camera (well, not exactly), so I got a better shot this time. At 15 minutes to midnight on February 29, 1960, Agadir was almost totally destroyed by an earthquake that lasted 15 seconds, burying the city and killing thousands. The death toll is estimated at 15,000. The earthquake destroyed the ancient Kasbah. On its front gate can still be read the following sentence in Arabic: “Fear God and honour thy King”. This is the picture of what is left of the kasbah.

In the night, the inscription on the hill lit up. The words luminate the hill and gives it a surreal sense of floating words in mid-air…

For those who thinks the sun during the day is too hot, there is the last opportunity before the day ends to come out and play. There is something for the children, for the adults, musics in the air, cafes and restaurants provide a vibrant and beautiful scenes of the beach. It was 10:30pm when I took the picture of children on their bouncing harness and little boats. Parents here sure are liberal with children’s bedtime during summer holidays! I can still see children walking and running about at midnight.

At the foot of the hill with inscription we saw there is a development of luxury apartments and the marina. The following is perhaps my favourite picture of the day.

Aglou

About 136km from Agadir, there is the Aglou beach resort. It was unfortunate that there was mists and strong winds on the Atlantic coasts that day we soon gave up the idea of swimming but we found men fishing by the cliffs in the poor weather condition.

Would you dare to perch yourself on the edge of the cliff? 🙂

Taghazout 

On a separate occasion we visited the Taghazout beach. Taghazout is a surfer paradise north of Agadir. The beach is right next to the Taghazout village with no fancy hotels or restaurants which is just what I want. 1000km+ long of Atlantic coasts in Morocco, especially the South serves as a good surfing spot for enthusiasts throughout the year.

Besides beach balls, boom boxes, musics, surfs, umbrellas, lazy chairs, what have we got here?….CAMELS!

and more camels…

and horses… can you see the Taghazout village in red?

I hope these pictures entice you to visit Agadir. The food is good, price is reasonable, people are friendly and (always warm my heart when I say this) very honest. My husband left his Rayban sunglasses with barber and I thought he is not going to get it back since it has past 4 days. We went back there after 4 days, we got it back and the barber said he has kept another 2 of his customer’s sunglasses with him. I too, felt very embarrassed to have my hair cut for £3 and three of my suits sew and repaired for £3, that I often tipped a little more to assuage my guilt. This is not the case in the north of Morocco, where prices are comparable to the European ones.

If that pique your appetite for more pictures, I’ll post up a few more pictures of Marakkech, the Jemal Efna square and the souk soon!

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

32 thoughts on “Travel photos – Agadir beach scenes

  1. Fantastic photos! I’ve never been to Morocco, but hear it isa great place to visit. I am sure it would be too hot for me in the summer. I love the camel photo; I remember riding a camel on the beach in Malindi, Kenya

    Posted by Helen Murdoch | September 22, 2012, 1:50 am
    • Helen,
      Yes it is too hot in summer helen! another season would be good.
      I haven’t feel the urge to ride a camel yet, being the grumpy animal that they are! One day, I will when camels is the only mode of transport, I will ride on one. Thanks for the kind words Helen.

      Posted by JoV | September 22, 2012, 1:19 pm
  2. Honestly, I had never heard or known anything about Agadir until you blogged about it. Those pictures you posted certainly are enticing! I am putting Morocco on my hoping-to-visit list! Anyway, I am not a beach person either. I wonder does this have to do with the fact that we are born in a tropical country, thus beach has somewhat lost its appeal on us. Lol.

    Awww please keep a travel blog. You have done a great job on this book blog, I am sure your travel blog will be amazing too. You can always start off slow and steady, then gradually pick it up. When your kids grow up, they can look at the pictures and read the texts to revisit their memories!! 😀

    Posted by Ting Ting | September 22, 2012, 1:58 am
    • Tingting,
      True. That’s why I have got a family blog which I couldn’t keep up as well with my multiple travels and commitment! 😀
      It is true being a tropical person we don’t like sun. Funny thing is the weather in Morocco is very hot, but not humid, as soon as you step under the shade, you are cooled down.
      It is great now that you know about Morocco, make sure you pin it firm in the map of your mind to visit it one day. My friend from Malaysia/Singapore was with me last year, they said “This is not Africa!” – whatever that means. 😉

      Posted by JoV | September 22, 2012, 1:22 pm
  3. Thanks for sharing! It looks really wonderful – great pictures too.

    Posted by Leeswammes | September 22, 2012, 7:53 am
  4. Looks like a wonderful trip JoV, and you’ve taken some beautiful photographs. I would love to see more!

    Posted by jessicabookworm | September 22, 2012, 4:15 pm
  5. Sounds as though you had a great trip! I love those photos of the camels on the beach – such fantastic colours and not something I’m used to seeing. I look forward to seeing your next set of photos.

    Posted by farmlanebooks | September 22, 2012, 5:37 pm
    • Thanks Jackie, I hope you have a chance to visit Morocco. You see the two boys on the camel back? I would imagine my boys to be there but they are too afraid.. 😦 and it could be your two boys too!

      Posted by JoV | September 22, 2012, 7:52 pm
  6. What lovely photos, Jo 🙂 Hah, don’t feel guilty about taking holidays, you work hard enough to deserve them, right? A travel blog would be fun, but only if you feel you’re up for it. Meexia does it as well? Agadir seems like a perfect destination to relax, and it looks so modern too! I wonder why the prices have lagged behind the more expensive cities in the north. You’ve made me want to pack my bag this instant and run off somewhere nice and warm 🙂 Too bad I don’t have any opportunities to leave before November. Perhaps southern Spain then, yes…

    And yes, please, more photos! I’d love to read about your visit to the Jemaa el Fnaa 😀

    Posted by Chinoiseries | September 23, 2012, 11:06 am
    • Chinoiseries,
      Thanks for the kind words. I think the prices are down to the people who priced it, sometimes it has nothing to do with inflation. I think the Southern Moroccan are Berber race (hard to imagine but there are diverse races in Morocco), they are down-to-earth and very honest as I said. It is still a wise idea to getaway during winter months and go somewhere warm, so after November is good choice too! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | September 23, 2012, 7:17 pm
  7. Your photos make me very very jealous! We’ve not had a holiday for about 18 months (I know that’s not the longest time in the world) as we are saving to buy a house. I have the travel bug, so it’s been a hard sacrifice to make. I love the photo of the kasbah the best.

    Posted by Sam (Tiny Library) | September 23, 2012, 2:12 pm
  8. Great pictures, Jo! I’m not a beach person, either, honestly I’m not even a summer person. Somehow I function best on cold and rainy days 😀 Love the photo of the pictures!

    Posted by Bina | September 23, 2012, 5:45 pm
  9. Now, that’s what a I call a beach. Love the photos with camels in them. Looks like you had a great holiday

    Posted by Tom Cunliffe | September 23, 2012, 9:45 pm
  10. By the way, you’ve got a great design for your blog there – I like the way it previews the first few lines of your post. I’m having a look through WooThemes (who I’ve never heard of before) to see what else they have.

    Posted by acommonreaderuk | September 24, 2012, 7:03 am
    • acommonreaderuk,
      I thought the magazine layout was good but I do lament on the small font size though. I don’t think many readers would increase the font size to read certain blocks. I’m thinking of changing my blog theme again really… a bit of a hassle.

      Posted by JoV | September 24, 2012, 8:05 pm
  11. What wonderful pictures! Looks like you had a lot of fun on the beach!

    Posted by Athira | September 24, 2012, 3:47 pm
  12. Wow, that is gorgeous! I love the colors. I am sure you had a wonderful time, even not being a beach person! This is unlike any place I have ever visited. Thank you for sharing these with us!

    Posted by kay | September 25, 2012, 2:07 am
  13. Well I don’t think I have ever seen a camel on a beach. That must have been a sight. I love that you included facts along with the pictures. Especially the bits about the earthquake, seeing that I live in earthquake country and can totally relate.

    Posted by Ti | September 26, 2012, 6:11 pm
  14. That Arabic script on the hill looks really cool! I’m going to cross to Morocco from Spain with ferry at the end of this year (I think I mentioned this to you before?) and will visit Tangier and Tetouan. Would love to see other parts to Morocco but we won’t have time this trip. I’ll have to plan another visit to Morocco 🙂

    Posted by mee | October 1, 2012, 10:42 pm
    • Mee,
      It’s cool isn’t it? Yes you did. I vaguely recalled, although there is another friend who said the same thing to me last winter! lol 😀 Tangier and Tetoun is good but not entirely the heart of Morocco yet. 😉 Why not go further down and hit Casablanca?

      Posted by JoV | October 1, 2012, 11:33 pm
      • Yes, self is willing but time doesn’t allow :P. We’re gonna stay for only 2 nights in Tangier. Casablanca is a bit far for a day trip from Tangier. I will fly to the “heart of Morocco” next time! 😉

         

        ________________________________

        Posted by mee | October 2, 2012, 3:01 pm
  15. Hi Jo, I love your travel posts , especially the pictures ! I would so love to go there one day 🙂 Thank you for sharing !!

    Posted by Joanna | October 15, 2012, 7:06 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: August – Sept 2012 : Wrap-up « JoV's Book Pyramid - October 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

