//
you're reading...
Book Business

A stroll to the bookstore on a day off (is bad news for a book junkie)

I wouldn’t believe what I did when I decided to take a day off today, Wednesday, instead of the usual Fridays. I walked out the house with the aim of returning 2 library books, and it didn’t quite happen that way.

At the library, I came across White Tiger, Man booker prize winner 2008 at the short loan section. I got to have this, I got to have this! Haruki Murakami would have to wait. On the way back to my son’s nursery, I walked into the Christian Community Action charity shop again. I thought I should have a look at what’s in there… and then that was it, I saw an entire collection of Dilbert’s books and comics staring at me, drawing me near, seducing me to pick them up now, now, now, here I am, come get me ….. take me…

And that was it. I did what I have to do. I came home with one library book (acceptable) and 6 Dilbert comic books. How could I resist?!! each book is priced at £1, and Dogbert at 50p. I paid a total of £5.50 for 6 books. I think it is a great bargain! I am going to find a way to hide them. My hubby will not be pleased when he sees this, I am adding 5kgs worth of book and he is against me accummulating more books at home. It is just not practical, because we live like Nomads, moving from place to place almost every year… oh well, I’ll fnd a way to hide it!

dogbert-management-handbook7-years-of-highly-effective-people1treasury-of-sunday-strips

gives-you-businessjourney-to-cubevillesociopath

To make myself feel better, I told myself I could give them back to the charity shop if I decide not to keep them, give the books away to friends or list some of these books to be sold in Amazon.co.uk, honestly, it’s worth nothing in Amazon. I know people back home in Malaysia would love to have the Dilbert collection! There are six more Dilbert’s book sitting in the charity shop. :p

So what do you call a Sociopath in a cubicle? I told my friend it is probably called a Cubipath. Pronouced kwiubi or choobi, up to you. 🙂

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “A stroll to the bookstore on a day off (is bad news for a book junkie)

  1. well if you do decide to chuck them….I’ll be more than please to have them, just send them over 😛

    Posted by the 11th commandment | February 26, 2009, 6:13 am
  2. haha I just wrote a blog entry about this… not being able to control myself in bookstores 😉 glad I am not the only one. Have you thought of trying out the website, bookmooch? you can swap books with people. All you have to be willing to do is post them! It’s a great way to get new books to read, then you can pass them on when you are done!

    Posted by Rachie X | February 26, 2010, 6:32 am
    • Wow, that’s quite a list, your 101 projects in 1001 days. Very inspiring.

      Thanks for dropping by my blog. What I heard about bookmooching is that you might end up sending more off than you’ll ever received.

      I’m very happy with my local libraries and 2nd hand books at the charity shops. It’s only 50p (Sterling pence) each and in good conditions. 🙂

      Pls do drop in my bookblog again, I’ll certainly check in to yours!

      Posted by JoV | February 26, 2010, 11:38 pm
  3. Well, you can’t receive more books than you send, which is only fair. I guess the point isn’t just to “get” books but to share them with others. It’s really nice knowing you have helped someone by sending them a book that they really want.

    Posted by Rachie X | February 27, 2010, 1:58 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

