//
you're reading...
Reflection

2012 in review

I have been thinking if I should publish my wordpress 2012 annual report or not.

After much contemplation, I will… if only just for an excuse for me to say a big “Thank You” for everyone out there who drop by here often, not too often, lurk, one-off visit or stumbled upon my blog. Whoever you are, massive thanks!! Because of you, this space is viewed 200,000 times last year.

Here’s an excerpt:

About 55,000 tourists visit Liechtenstein every year. This blog was viewed about 200,000 times in 2012. If it were Liechtenstein, it would take about 4 years for that many people to see it. Your blog had more visits than a small country in Europe!

Click here to see the complete report.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

22 thoughts on “2012 in review

  1. Nice to see that some older posts are still popular. I have that too. It means we’re more than just our last post. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I see I got a honourable mention. Nice!!

    Posted by Judith | January 7, 2013, 10:01 pm
  2. Woohoo! That’s a big number!

    Posted by olduvai | January 8, 2013, 2:02 am
  3. That’s a very nice report !! A lot of visitors too ! Woohoo ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by Joanna | January 8, 2013, 3:08 am
    • Joanna,
      I do like the way wordpress put an encouraging spin on the blog hit. Even some of my personal blogs who got such miserable attention with so little hit rate, wordpress has managed to sing praises to it! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Why don’t you come over wordpress?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ (It will make it easier for me to comment too!)

      Posted by JoV | January 8, 2013, 8:33 pm
  4. Well done JoV ๐Ÿ˜€

    Posted by jessicabookworm | January 8, 2013, 8:47 am
  5. It is always interesting to see which posts are most popular on blogs. I am surprised that Lord of the Flies is so popular – perhaps it is from people looking for answers for their English literature essays? It is nice to see I am one of your top referring sites. I’ll try to make it onto your top commenter list next year ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by farmlanebooks | January 8, 2013, 9:41 am
    • Thanks Jackie. Would be so happy if you make it up the top commenter list. ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope the students don’t quote my review word for word on Lord of the Flies, because I hate it!

      Posted by JoV | January 8, 2013, 8:30 pm
  6. That’s a great report, well done you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I always have to laugh at my reports because the Fadiman post is still most popular and the search terms make me think that students are writing papers from my reviews ๐Ÿ˜€

    Posted by Bina | January 8, 2013, 1:07 pm
  7. great stats ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | January 8, 2013, 4:05 pm
  8. Us WP users are so lucky to get reports like this one.I don’t remember last year’s report being this awesome.
    Glad to see my name as one of the top commenters too!

    Posted by Ti | January 8, 2013, 6:07 pm
  9. That is so fun! I love the sense of humor behind it and the impressive credentials

    Posted by Helen Murdoch | January 9, 2013, 2:40 am
  10. This is wonderful Jo! Congratulations!

    Posted by Vishy | January 9, 2013, 5:08 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other followers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books ยป
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

